We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excels in all aspects!”
Review of Amanbagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanbagh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ajabgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This was our final hotel after a hectic dash around the Golden Triangle - a haven of peace.

The Manager was excellent - informed and attentive, and instilled excellence in service in all his staff.

Though a place to relax - pool, gym, spa, etc - there was still plenty to do. In particular, we would recommend a morning walk to the lake for bird watching, a trip to Bhanghar, and a cow dust trip.

The other aspect to enthuse about is the food!! The Head Chef was great - we would recommend one of his cooking lessons, and also never feel restricted by the menu - he will always tweak to suit your tastes and never disappointed.

We stayed in one of the pool terrace havelis - excellent though the pool pavillions and garden havelis looked good too.

Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were there for exactly 24 hours. From 1pm on 6th October 2013 onwards. Weather was pleasant.

What I liked:

The location is lovely. I didn't expect to find myself in a green valley between hills. Sounds of nature - lots of birds, trees, forrest. Getting there takes time and there are patches of really bad roads, was still fun. Rural adventure.

The property itself is very nice. The common areas elegant and understated. Nice huge pool. Lovely lawns all over. Library was very nice - works of Raghu Rai, books about central asia, indian home cooking, and pakistani art kept us busy for an hour atleast and would have been more if we had the time. A "daybed" to lounge in while reading in the library was also a great idea.

Pool pavilion: beautifully designed. Must be 600 sqyards. Very private. Front and back lawns. Excellent pool with a very nice curved floor and steps. A "sala" next to the pool is also well designed. Excellent bathroom. Nice daybed in the room. Loved the use of local materials and styles, particularly the udaipur green stone for the sinks, and the entire pool Food was great. Flexible menu. Had a very nice rajasthani thali, off the menu. The welcome drink of watermellon juice with rose flavor was really nice. Nice grilled sandwiches - roasted vegetables and chicken. Linguini with grilled praws was excellent. (Lunch)

Service was excellent without being overbearing. I think this is an aman thing. The staff were mainly locals which gave a certain authenticity to the experience.

Spa was nice - again simple and Spartan - but good massage

What I didn't like:

Getting back to delhi was a chore - 7.5 hours in traffic. Not pleasant. Leave early to avoid traffic getting into Delhi.

Out of 40 rooms, only 2 or 3 including ours were occupied. So a bit desolate. Although I didn't mind it personally, my wife felt the "quiet" a bit too much.

Would I recommend it?

Absolutely - a great place to visit from Delhi for a day or two. This is my second stay at an Aman property and they are growing on me. Prefer them to the Vilases.

Room Tip: Definitely a pool pavilion. Or if you want a Havelli choose one that has a garden as the ones that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RishiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wonderful experience, great staff, delicious food, great rooms.

Event though hotel was completed in 2004, beautiful and doesn't seem dated in any way, done in timeless fashion. Great service in restaurant and by pool. They even offer to print you the recipes of anything you eat there to take home. Both western and Indian dishes were of equally good quality (a rarity at most Indian 5 star hotels). GM very engaged (as most aman gm's are) and ensures you have a great experience.

We were able to see all the rooms (they offered us whatever we wanted) and as we love natural sunlight we went for terrace haveli suite. If brightness is important to you then you definitely want to be in these as the ones underneath had a big wall around them and seemed dark. The ones overlooking the pool were our favourite. Pool suites were also nice and bigger. I'd definitely take one around the pool rather than one by the entrance as less nice atmosphere. However we liked having a view of the property and all the sunlight and don't care about a private pool hence we stayed with our terrace suite.

I also liked fact that excursions at this property were reasonable between 35-60 pounds each for most. What I sometimes hate about amans is excursions can be so eyewateringly expensive it can put one off doing. Not the case at amanbagh. Definite must do's are the cow dusk tour (where you will see the families of a lot of the staff) and the bhangarh tour (haunted city and really interesting and untouched by western tourists).

NB afterwards we went to the Oberoi in ranthambore. Had dinner at aman-I-khas and realised what a mistake we made staying at vanyavilas. The aman properties are far superior.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms or pool suites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here on a work trip and it was the highlight of our week! After a 16 hour journey from Shimla by road, plane and more road past camels, dust carts and into rural Rajasthan we were greeted by an army of smiles, singing and welcomes. The pool villas are simply stunning, the spa treatments awesome and the food and wine gorgeous. Our day out to the nearby medieval ruins, yoga and camel ride into the evening with a village visit was the best day of the week. I would love to go back and spend much longer at Amanbagh. Thank you to Harish and his team for superb hosting.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank safarigirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

- Very peacefully
- finest luxury holiday resort .
- perfect for nature lovers .like wildlife photographer .
- It's near to Sariska tiger reserve .
- perfect place for shooting films .
- it's addicted too n expensive also .
- i have no negative points for amanbagh resort .

I have seen many heritage resort in rajasthan , but this one is totally different experience for me and my family . Being a photographer i love to visit it again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikon_3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Amanbagh is one of the finest holiday resorts I can think of.
Sitaram, the naturalist at Amanbagh actually opened my eyes to the gorgeous world of nature.
Its near Amanbagh that i first saw Spotted owlets nestled in the hollow of a tree.

I also recall our loyal escort, TItlii, the dog.

Was there several years ago, unfortunately am unable to put the precise date.

Gorgeous property.
Wonderful memories.

Room Tip: we had a room with a pool to ourselves. strongly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mukulchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here in late October 2012 for 4 nights....wonderful hospitality from the staff and manager.
This was the third Aman we have stayed in and Amanbagh follows the methodology and themes from the others we have stayed in....understated luxury, wonderful service and embracing the local area and people.

Thoroughly recommended and although set away from Jaipur itself, it is a great little hideaway and place to unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle of the main town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajbabyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajabgarh
14.4 mi away
Sterling Sariska
Sterling Sariska
#4 of 24 in Alwar
264 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
21.6 mi away
Achrol Niwas A Treehouse Resort Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Shiv Vilas
The Shiv Vilas
#57 of 411 in Jaipur
389 reviews
20.6 mi away
Umaid Lake Palace - An Organic Retreat
19.5 mi away
The Tree House Resort
The Tree House Resort
#5 of 459 in Jaipur
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanbagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanbagh

Address: Ajabgarh 301027, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Ajabgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ajabgarh
Price Range: £572 - £872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanbagh 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanbagh is a verdant oasis of mature palm, fruit and eucalyptus trees lying within a walled compound, once the staging area for royal hunts. Evoking the palatial elegance of the Moghul era, Amanbagh's Haveli suites and pool pavilions provide a tranquil base from which to explore the rich heritage of Rajasthan, India's dramatic frontier region. Amanbagh's award-winning design features domed cupolas and private courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanbagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanbagh Hotel Ajabgarh
Amanbagh Hotel Alwar
Amanbagh Resort Alwar
Amanbagh India/Ajabgarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing