We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss ! Two thumbs up !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanbagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanbagh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ajabgarh
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bliss ! Two thumbs up !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Far from the madding crowd, an enchanted castle magically springs up in a tiger & ghost-infested forest. This is Amanbagh. We stayed here during Diwali, the festival of lights, and it was very special. The standard Aman service details were faultless - and Robin, the manager was super friendly and helpful. We loved the way the hotel has included the locals in the development of the area. Great rooms, invisible service which the Aman is known for, mouth watering food and lots of do in & around, if you are in the mood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phineas_fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    20
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
108
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

12 hours after leaving home we found paradise in a beautiful valley 2 hours from Jaipur
What beautiful,stunning place with the most amazing service,food and nothing was to much
Breakfast was brilliant as was Lunch but dinner outside in December was just amazing
the Spa was fantastic this little lady threw me about during an incredible massage which goes down a one of the best ever
the only fault was having to leave this heavenly place

Room Tip: Poolside villa with its own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had the privilege to be invited by friends to stay at this resort for 4 days, but with so much crammed in to such a short time in India, I feel like having been away for 14 days. This was my first visit to India and I have to say the staff and attention to detail in this hotel is quite outstanding. Other reviewers have just about covered everything I would wish to say. But here are some additional comments.

Each lunch or dinner was held in a different part of the hotel grounds and despite the time of year and the fall in temperatures towards the end of the day, all our meals were outside. Heaters and fire pits being supplied as required.

My party placed certain dietary restrictions upon the hotel and they met those admirably.

Whenever we left the room with the odd clothing item tossed on the bed or chair, we would find them neatly refolded upon our return. I would have liked for the Bose CD player to have accommodated an IPOD or accessory port. The lack of TV was not missed since there was simply too much to do and the last thing one needed was a TV. I loved the door furnishings and padlock. Electronic key would have seemed out of place.

The pool was heated and a joy to swim in.

All the staff were exceptional, from the new General Manager, Head Chef, and army of attendants.

The open jeep ride around the nearby villages was an educational experience not to be missed. School kids loved to hitch around on the back of the jeep in the hope of not being detected.

Amanbagh ...its simply flawless. Its in the middle of nowhere but sometimes that is just the perfect setting.

Room Tip: There are four grades of room. You wont spend more than sleeping time in the room, so unless you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

After a fairly long bumpy ride from Jaipur we arrived at this oasis of peace in the hills - lots of parakeets and monkeys in the grounds. When we arrived there was only 1 other room occupied so we were upgraded to a terrace suite which as lovely with a view of the pool. The rooms were very spacious with lots of mirrors and marble ! Interesting feature is the monkey stick to see off any unwanted visitors (we didn't have any!). The staff are all very friendly, including many local people who have worked there since the hotel opened in 2004. There is a lovely pool but disappointingly it was too cold to swim in and the gym equipment was also a little tired. The food is outstanding and the chef very helpful and enthusiastic about the food, making dishes on request and he does an excellent cookery lesson. The trip to bhangargh was very enjoyable and so was the walk to the nearby lake. The cow dust tour is also a really interesting tour around local villages. Well worth doing these trips.

Room Tip: Pool terrace haveli has good views and nice and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This was our final hotel after a hectic dash around the Golden Triangle - a haven of peace.

The Manager was excellent - informed and attentive, and instilled excellence in service in all his staff.

Though a place to relax - pool, gym, spa, etc - there was still plenty to do. In particular, we would recommend a morning walk to the lake for bird watching, a trip to Bhanghar, and a cow dust trip.

The other aspect to enthuse about is the food!! The Head Chef was great - we would recommend one of his cooking lessons, and also never feel restricted by the menu - he will always tweak to suit your tastes and never disappointed.

We stayed in one of the pool terrace havelis - excellent though the pool pavillions and garden havelis looked good too.

Highly recommended!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were there for exactly 24 hours. From 1pm on 6th October 2013 onwards. Weather was pleasant.

What I liked:

The location is lovely. I didn't expect to find myself in a green valley between hills. Sounds of nature - lots of birds, trees, forrest. Getting there takes time and there are patches of really bad roads, was still fun. Rural adventure.

The property itself is very nice. The common areas elegant and understated. Nice huge pool. Lovely lawns all over. Library was very nice - works of Raghu Rai, books about central asia, indian home cooking, and pakistani art kept us busy for an hour atleast and would have been more if we had the time. A "daybed" to lounge in while reading in the library was also a great idea.

Pool pavilion: beautifully designed. Must be 600 sqyards. Very private. Front and back lawns. Excellent pool with a very nice curved floor and steps. A "sala" next to the pool is also well designed. Excellent bathroom. Nice daybed in the room. Loved the use of local materials and styles, particularly the udaipur green stone for the sinks, and the entire pool Food was great. Flexible menu. Had a very nice rajasthani thali, off the menu. The welcome drink of watermellon juice with rose flavor was really nice. Nice grilled sandwiches - roasted vegetables and chicken. Linguini with grilled praws was excellent. (Lunch)

Service was excellent without being overbearing. I think this is an aman thing. The staff were mainly locals which gave a certain authenticity to the experience.

Spa was nice - again simple and Spartan - but good massage

What I didn't like:

Getting back to delhi was a chore - 7.5 hours in traffic. Not pleasant. Leave early to avoid traffic getting into Delhi.

Out of 40 rooms, only 2 or 3 including ours were occupied. So a bit desolate. Although I didn't mind it personally, my wife felt the "quiet" a bit too much.

Would I recommend it?

Absolutely - a great place to visit from Delhi for a day or two. This is my second stay at an Aman property and they are growing on me. Prefer them to the Vilases.

Room Tip: Definitely a pool pavilion. Or if you want a Havelli choose one that has a garden as the ones that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RishiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wonderful experience, great staff, delicious food, great rooms.

Event though hotel was completed in 2004, beautiful and doesn't seem dated in any way, done in timeless fashion. Great service in restaurant and by pool. They even offer to print you the recipes of anything you eat there to take home. Both western and Indian dishes were of equally good quality (a rarity at most Indian 5 star hotels). GM very engaged (as most aman gm's are) and ensures you have a great experience.

We were able to see all the rooms (they offered us whatever we wanted) and as we love natural sunlight we went for terrace haveli suite. If brightness is important to you then you definitely want to be in these as the ones underneath had a big wall around them and seemed dark. The ones overlooking the pool were our favourite. Pool suites were also nice and bigger. I'd definitely take one around the pool rather than one by the entrance as less nice atmosphere. However we liked having a view of the property and all the sunlight and don't care about a private pool hence we stayed with our terrace suite.

I also liked fact that excursions at this property were reasonable between 35-60 pounds each for most. What I sometimes hate about amans is excursions can be so eyewateringly expensive it can put one off doing. Not the case at amanbagh. Definite must do's are the cow dusk tour (where you will see the families of a lot of the staff) and the bhangarh tour (haunted city and really interesting and untouched by western tourists).

NB afterwards we went to the Oberoi in ranthambore. Had dinner at aman-I-khas and realised what a mistake we made staying at vanyavilas. The aman properties are far superior.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms or pool suites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajabgarh
14.4 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
16.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
0.0 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 21 in Alwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Tree House Resort
The Tree House Resort
#5 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
20.6 mi away
Umaid Lake Palace - An Organic Retreat
24.8 mi away
The Shiv Vilas
The Shiv Vilas
#72 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanbagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanbagh

Property: Amanbagh
Address: Ajabgarh 301027, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajabgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ajabgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanbagh 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanbagh is a verdant oasis of mature palm, fruit and eucalyptus trees lying within a walled compound, once the staging area for royal hunts. Evoking the palatial elegance of the Moghul era, Amanbagh's Haveli suites and pool pavilions provide a tranquil base from which to explore the rich heritage of Rajasthan, India's dramatic frontier region. Amanbagh's award-winning design features domed cupolas and private courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Expedia so you can book your Amanbagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanbagh Hotel Ajabgarh
Amanbagh Hotel Alwar
Amanbagh Resort Alwar
Amanbagh India/Ajabgarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing