We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This very spacious house was a treat!”
other travellers have booked this property
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property
Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Amazing  sunrises
Friendly  neighbors
Entrance
Front gate
Private entry road
Hostess Paloma
Paloma showing  off
Amazing Blue and Green contrasts
Pasture
Front of house
Front of house
View from side
Back of house facing ocean
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Night sky
Sunrise
View from terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Living room
View from dining room
View from living room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Twin bed bedroom
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Laundry
Barbecue
Barbecue
Garden. Pick your own vegetables
Chickens
Organic eggs
Hen with chicks
View from the house
Greeting Basket of Local Products
Welcome basket and cake
Hosts
Beach of Vila da Povoação (15min)
Beach of Lombo Gordo (15min)
Fajã do Calhau (10 min)
Parque Terra Nostra (30 min)
Hot Springs (30 min)
Salto do Prego Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sunrise Point (10min)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Agua Retorta, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Carolien...
1 review
“This very spacious house was a treat!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This very spacious house was a treat. Situated all by itself on a beautiful mountain slope, 260 m above sea level, it gives a breathtaking panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean. A sheltered veranda, some 20 m long, provides a great vista. In fact, it would be wonderful not to leave the veranda at all for days on end, if it wouldn't be for the beautiful surroundings, both immediately around the house (there's a narrow, winding footpath going down to the ocean which is a real challenge) and in the wider Agua Retorte area, which is still unspoiled, with splendid green nature, great walks, many birds and so on. And hardly any tourists. Luis and Rita, who take care of the house (the owner Helena Alvez is their daughter) live nearby and have excellent suggestions for what is worth seeing in that area. They really are very hospitable and sympathetic people. There's a vegetable garden next to the house, from which you can take you lettuce and other greens, and a chicken shack which provides fresh eggs if you fraternize with the chickens and give them some corn regularly. We had a very nice and relaxed time there and we can recommended the house without any hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emalie U
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with exceptional views in the countryside”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September. We were very warmly welcomed by Luis and Rita who explained everything we needed to know about the house and some very interesting tips and history about the island. The house was very clean and was well stocked with everything you could need. We requested and crib and highchair and they were ready when we arrived. It was so nice having access to the fresh eggs and produce everyday. The views from the terrace were absolutely incredible. The house in is Agua Retorta which is about an hour from the airport but an easy drive on the highway. There are 2 little supermarkets and a cafe within walking distance of the house. The area is very lush with lots of hiking and beaches nearby. We visited Furnas, an area with hot springs where you can cook a whole meal in the ground. Rita helped us shop for what we needed and then came over to assemble our pot. It was a very unique experience and so delicious. While we waited for our food to cook, we visited the town of Furnas and went to the thermal baths called Poca da Beija. The water is very warm, clean and clear. For 4 euros, you can't go wrong! We also explored the garden at Terra Nostra. It was worth the visit. Salto do Prego is a nearby hike which was challenging but so scenic and takes to you a waterfall where you can swim. There's so much to see and do near the house and it was great being a little more remote. When booking, we were warned that the hill to get up to the house was really steep but we didn't have any trouble getting up in our big van. We would book it again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrSaturni...
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I thought it was a Dream”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The villa is clean, the view expansive and very much as the photos describe it. The kitchen, stat of the art, in some cases better that what we experienced when traveling in the states. We cooked 4 to 5 times, not wanting for any utensil or pan. The driveway does have grade and was not a problem in our 4 door subcompact 5 speed (save your money by not renting a 4X4). I must say you have to be proficient with a standard when leaving the driveway, it does have a slope. The village is what a village should be humble, kind and welcoming, the markets are small and have all you need to make a great meal.
My wife and I used the market several times (blue market) for eggs, meet, vegetables butter and bread. Other than that we picked from the villa garden fresh garlic, onions, kale, potatoes and tomatoes from the garden to augment our market purchase.
The nights are impressive with views of the Milkyway and other Azorean islands. When you arrive in San Miguel be aware that driving in the Azores is very different than in the US. After a short time you realize you are either going up or down there is little flat land. I’m not joking when I say I never left 3rd gear once out of Ponta Delgada (it is all good). The Azorian drivers are some the best in the world; you’ll know what I mean when you get there. Luis and Rita are gracious, very active in the community and work nearby. The villa is in a working community 20 minutes from other areas, it is peaceful, safe and secure. You will have no regrets and the toughest part of your trip will be leaving the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, veranda, garden, privacy and garage
Liked least: mosquitoes at night in the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Romantic Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I spent the first part of our honeymoon at the house, and it was absolutely the best way to start off our 2 week European trip. The house was spacious, clean with great amenities. We were greeted by Luis and Rita was fresh muffins and a basket of vegetables and fruit from their garden. They were the perfect hosts. We had free reign of the garden and chicken coop on the property and enjoyed daily fresh eggs and vegetables. The views are breathtaking and the best on the island. Renting a car is a must since the house is about 90 minutes from the airport and a 20 minute drive to the closest grocery store and restaurants. It was the most beautiful place we have visited and look forward to another trip in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and garden
Liked least: There were no screens on the windows and doors so it was warm at night since there were flies and mosquitos we attempted to keep out of the home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sazrahrn
Peoria IL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing week on Sao Miguel”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My spouse and I traveled with a couple we are good friends with. We stayed for 6 days at Quinto do Sanguinhal and enjoyed every minute of it! The house is spacious, clean, and well equipped. The location is breathtaking! Gorgeous views with no one else around. We bought groceries and used the enormous kitchen to make our own breakfast and dinner. Spent most days out touring the beautiful island. Luis and Rita were amazing hosts! Many thanks to Luis for all of the wonderful information about local agricultural customs. We all agreed we would certainly stay here again. This house felt like our home while we were there and we wouldn't have had such a lovely time had we stayed anywhere else.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyinghig...
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a magnificent place!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wow, what a great few days we have had in Quinta do Sanguinhal! The house is very complete and has one of the best views of the whole island I dare to say. We received a warm welcome upon arrival which made us feel at home right away. Definitely a place to recommend to others, the house is on our 'we-might-return-here-once'-list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Completeness of the house
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Tieners
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas J
1 review
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

All of the great accolades written in previous reviews are true and well warranted!!!

Thank you Helena for the effortless booking process and great communication, to Luis and Rita for your generosity and warm hospitality as hosts, and to your aunt and other citizens of Fagundas and Agua Retorta for inviting us to join you in your Holy Ghost Festival celebrations. Truly one of our most memorable vacations ever! My wife and son are all the more proud to be of Azorean descent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Azorean people, views and landscape
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing