We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend. Beautiful location - old fashioned - rooms large and many fireplaces. Service in bar very slow - ok if you are not in a hurry - and they do not serve Bacardi!! Food lovely - prices high - but quality good. Bathroom could do with modernising and extra pillows would have been welcome. All in all an expensive weekend due to fact we ate in hotel both nights - but would stay again.

Room Tip: Some bedrooms only have double beds - not king size so be sure to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    223
    104
    25
    12
See reviews for
204
213
7
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband (and a belated one for me) The room we had was nice it was large and had a seating area, a large bay window with views over the gardens. The bathroom was big with a really powerful shower. The bed was two singles pushed together (it gave the appearance of a king size bed) but this was not a problem it was comfortable with big soft pillows. The room was clean I had no problem with the room at all.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. The only reason I gave this hotel four and not five stars is because we booked on a half board basis but found out (only when we asked) that we only had £25.00 per person towards our evening meal the balance we paid ourselves (which was another £72.92 so we in fact paid £122.92 in total. We had 3 courses plus water, wine and a beer). The food was pricey but really good, I suppose if you only had one course and a soft drink it probably wouldn't cost you anymore, but if you want 2 or more courses plus wine etc be prepared to pay more. We have stayed at hotels on a half board basis before and half board meant just that and we didn't have to pay any more. Maybe if the hotel asked for more on a half board booking you would know where you were. The cost of meals was not explained when I first booked this hotel. Still we had a nice weekend.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which over looked the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for two nights at the Royal Berkshire and from the moment we arrived in the pouring rain we were warmly greeted by the multi national staff on reception. Having booked in efficiently we were swiftly shown to our well appointed room. All the staff proved to be ever helpful advising on local alternative places to eat when we wanted a change. The in-house Fork Dining room proved to be an excellent venue for our family reunion. Congratulations to all concerned.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SidKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Myself, wife & toddler stayed here for 1 night on Mother's Day after going to Ascot Races. We headed over to Legoland the day after. The service was great & extremely friendly & welcoming, food really good, grounds beautiful & room was clean & comfortable. Overall we were very happy & felt the price was more than fair for the quality of service we received throughout.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuhubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Birthday surprise for a girlfriend. Tea was very good and I must say the scones were excellent. Service also very good excellent value for money. Would recommend this hotel for afternoon tea.
Just being a little picky but as it was a glorious day for March and the sun was shining the windows just need to be checked after all the bad weather.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGlashon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a lovely, old-fashioned hotel, with a country house type feel - lots of leather and open fires. Service in the bar can be a little slow, but you forgive that as the staff are incredibly friendly and remember you from visit to visit. The food in Fork restaurant was pretty good - a little expensive perhaps, but on a par with other hotels in the area, and as mine was a business stay not an issue.

I have stayed here twice - the first time, in one of the new rooms - nice room, a bit corporate, but very comfortable. Second time, I boasted to colleagues about having a wonderful old room right at the front of the hotel in the original building. I went to bed around 10.30, wonderful comfy bed, thinking I would get a great night sleep. Unfortunately though, this room (239) was right above the bar area - not so good when a large party arrived back from an event around 11 pm and stayed in the bar until around 2am - it genuinely felt as though I had a group of 30 people partying in my bathroom. I called reception - "sorry Madam, the bar is 24 hour so we can't advise when this might end, and we are full so can't move you. And no, we have no earplugs!" I went to sleep with my iPod on so the music cancelled out the hubbub in the bar - not a great solution.

So I would definitely recommend this hotel, but avoid any room over the main bar area if you want a good night sleep. Oh, and if you are able to use the conference lounge, the morning flapjacks are to die for!!

Room Tip: Avoid any room over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmelldee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel has a relaxing & warm atmosphere, get for a relaxing weekend away. Thoughout our stay we found all the staff were very friendly, effcient and accommodating.
Our room was fantastic, very clean, comfortable and spacious and had everything you could need.
We had dinner in the Fork restaurant and both service and food was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_GrahamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.7 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
163 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Property: Royal Berkshire Hotel
Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada
Royal Berkshire Hotel Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing