We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Berkshire Royal Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Berkshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Royal Berkshire Royal Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay in this hotel and found the service and facilities to be top notch. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and had our room ready even though we arrived before midday. We were given a marvellous suite which had recently been tastefully renovated. The suite had a spacious bathroom including a window that looked out into the bedroom as well as a nicely decorated sitting room, so plenty of space to do some in room entertainment. The purpose of our visit was a family reunion and we had a total of five rooms booked in the hotel. After we had settled into our lovely suite we then went on a walk around the hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with giant trees and blight yellow daffodils all around the garden. We saw a deer, rabbits and numerous birds in the garden which gave it a very natural country feel. We also spent a lot of time in their lounge bar having drinks and snacks and on one evening we had a family gathering in Fork restaurant which was amazing. The staff couldn't do enough to help us and the quality of the food was fantastic. I must say that the staff at the Royal Berkshire treated us like Royalty and we will definitely return when we next visit the UK.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    214
    96
    25
    12
See reviews for
186
202
6
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I recently spent one night and an afternoon at this hotel for a special family reunion. We found the staff in the Library bar excellent and very accommodating - they saw to our every need during pre-dinner drinks. We then had a delicious meal in the Fork restaurant also in the hotel. We had a late sitting as we were a party of 10 and the staff were yet again excellent, the wine flowed and we enjoyed a scrumptious 3 course meal. We even adjourned to my brother's room as he was staying in a suite with a separate sitting area to have after dinner drinks with cheese. The next day we managed to make the breakfast buffet which was extensive. I stayed in a twin room in the newly decorated part of the hotel which was very comfortable and I heard no outside noise at all. The bathrooms were thoroughly modern with a lovely large walk in shower. We spent the rest of the morning and early afternoon in the hotel grounds which are very picturesque, especially as the daffodils were in full bloom and the hotel sun umbrellas and hammock chairs were also in the same bright yellow colour. The main house is very attractive and I can see the appeal to people holding their weddings there - great for photos. We also explored the grounds and wandered through the woodland walk area and the herb walled garden. I can imagine what it will look like in the summer when the weather is warmer and the flowers are all out. I will definitely return for a weekend break and look forward to having afernoon tea on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Arranged a last minute booking at £69 for B & B in a Delux room. I was slightly disappointed with the decor in the bedroom and bathroom - in my opinion very dated. Who has plastic shower curtains these days? The flush on the toilet was poor and there was nowhere to hang clothes whilst using the shower/bath. The bedroom was very spacious. Good night's sleep as there was no outside noise, apart from a dripping gutter. The breakfast buffet kept running out of everything, so there were always people hanging around waiting. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The public rooms very comfy. The gardens extensive. For a four star hotel I would have expected more, but at the very reasonable price - can't complain too much and I would be happy to stay again as it is in a good position.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Great two night weekend stay. Room was very spacious and nicely appointed with great garden views. Hotel offers adequate parking and ease of access to Ascot, Windsor and Heathrow. Breakfast fine although little greasy! All staff encountered were polite and attentive. Niggles? Breakfast room whilst pleasant rather spoilt by wedding group from previous day wandering around in swimming shorts and rather loud. Feel some dress conduct not unreasonable. Rooms susceptible to noise as walls seem thin and corridors carry sound. Also no lifts so third floor somewhat of a walk, irritated on second day when key card failed resulting in long walk back to reception. Look out for deep discount offers as really does offer a great deal!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tony2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business and personal visits. The main house has been refurbished over the last year or so and prices seem to have risen to reflect this, but the hotel is still very good value for the area. To me the best rooms are in the main house overlooking the lawn. In the morning you can watch squirrels and rabbits feeding on the lawn. The rooms in the wings are slightly more modern so might be more appealing to some people. The grounds make a relaxing morning or evening walk and there are wellington boots and umbrellas in the lobby for guests to use. The bar area and restaurant have a wonderful atmosphere and the staff is always very helpful and courteous. This is a unique and very welcoming hotel with an interesting history.

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the front lawn have the best views. Bathrooms are generally better in the wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend. Beautiful location - old fashioned - rooms large and many fireplaces. Service in bar very slow - ok if you are not in a hurry - and they do not serve Bacardi!! Food lovely - prices high - but quality good. Bathroom could do with modernising and extra pillows would have been welcome. All in all an expensive weekend due to fact we ate in hotel both nights - but would stay again.

Room Tip: Some bedrooms only have double beds - not king size so be sure to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband (and a belated one for me) The room we had was nice it was large and had a seating area, a large bay window with views over the gardens. The bathroom was big with a really powerful shower. The bed was two singles pushed together (it gave the appearance of a king size bed) but this was not a problem it was comfortable with big soft pillows. The room was clean I had no problem with the room at all.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. The only reason I gave this hotel four and not five stars is because we booked on a half board basis but found out (only when we asked) that we only had £25.00 per person towards our evening meal the balance we paid ourselves (which was another £72.92 so we in fact paid £122.92 in total. We had 3 courses plus water, wine and a beer). The food was pricey but really good, I suppose if you only had one course and a soft drink it probably wouldn't cost you anymore, but if you want 2 or more courses plus wine etc be prepared to pay more. We have stayed at hotels on a half board basis before and half board meant just that and we didn't have to pay any more. Maybe if the hotel asked for more on a half board booking you would know where you were. The cost of meals was not explained when I first booked this hotel. Still we had a nice weekend.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which over looked the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
4.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Property: Royal Berkshire Hotel
Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada
Royal Berkshire Hotel Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing