We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, stunning hotel, attentive staff and scrummy afternoon tea - all without the outrageous prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, stunning hotel, attentive staff and scrummy afternoon tea - all without the outrageous prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My friend and her 3 year old son thought we would meet for a catch up and spot of afternoon tea at the Royal Berkshire hotel and I couldn't rave about it more. From the amazing raspberry macaroons (my favourite) to the smoked salmon finger sandwiches nothing could be faulted, particularly the price all for £16.95 per person!

After speaking with the very attentive waitress we were astonished to find out that all of the pastries and cakes were made in-house by their pastry chef.

We were lucky enough to have sunshine all afternoon and proceeded to take our tea out to the terrace, looking over the well kept gardens where children were happily playing. The hotel is welcoming to all guests, both couples and families with enough room for all parties to have the privacy they require. I can't believe that I haven't stumbled across this ascot gem before and would highly recommend to all to come and visit.

The experience from start to finish has enticed me to book and Dinner Bed and breakfast stay with my partner, who I'm certain will love it as much as me.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_turner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    217
    97
    25
    12
See reviews for
191
205
6
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here the night before we flew out from Heathrow airport and chose this hotel as it is close by and was much cheaper than the other airport hotels where you had to pay extra to park your car for one night.

Very comfortable room.
Great Reception service.
Lovely breakfast.
Very good value -£89 for one night on a Monday

We'd definitely use this hotel again if flying out of Heathrow early the next day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked into this hotel for a special weekend. At the time of booking, this was mentioned to the front desk. One of our party did not get her allocated room as this room had not been cleaned by mid afternoon, so was re-scheduled to another room. Our room was ready and this was clean and tidy. The windows are fixed open by around 6 inches, so difficult to get any air in the room. It was very hot in the room although there was a fan. We had dinner in the hotel, the food was good but expensive. The waiting staff, although very friendly appear to be lacking in basic training on waiting on tables. This was also apparent at breakfast the following morning. Breakfast was excellent. Perhaps not the place to go for a special weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel 2 weeks ago. We were delighted with the hotel and the grounds and spent a couple of hours enjoying food and drinks outside in the late afternoon/evening. We found all of the staff to be really friendly, helpful and polite, and breakfast was lovely. We stayed via a groupon offer which was really good value for money and a nice treat for ourselves as we would not be able to consider staying at the hotel based on the regular price. We have already spoken highly of the hotel to anyone who will listen, and would definitely come again if we came upon a suitable offer!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed as a family for 2 nights booked as part of a Legoland package and what an excellent choice it was! We stayed in the Spencer Suite which was fab! A large lounge/diner doubled as the boys(ages 12 and 10) bedroom,there was a large bedroom with an enormous bed big enough for 4 people! plus the obvious bathroom. A tv in each room plus each room had a fan which we needed as it was pretty hot.The lounge also had tea making facilities and a fridge and everything was spotlessly clean. We had read some negative reviews about un-helpful staff but I have to say we didn't experience this at all. Our room was short of bedding for the children but 1 call to reception and someone was with us in less than 5 minutes. We also asked for extra tea and milk which was sent up to our room. The hotel boasts extensive and beautiful grounds and they also offer bikes for guests to use for free,we just asked at reception and the lady on the desk came straight out and unlocked them for us.We had great fun,especially playing hide and seek as so many places to hide! Also played giant chess and croquet and chilled in the oversized deck chairs.The location is perfect,less than 10 minutes from legoland.We also found a pub and a Harvester pretty close by to eat in as the restaurant in the hotel was very expensive. Also on our last night we had the small, but warm and lovely, hotel pool to ourselves for about an hour which was great! We stayed here as a birthday treat for my youngest sons 10th birthday and boy was it special! Would definitely recommend especially for Legoland but also for a special treat for anyone.Obviously can't comment on any other rooms but for a family I would recommend asking for the Spencer Suite and make good use of all the facilities on offer.

Room Tip: The Spencer Suite for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My friend, her 6 year old and I had afternoon tea. It can start at 12.30am which makes it an ideal lunch. The little girl had chips and lemonade, her mum and I had the £16.50 afternoon tea. The staff were not at all phased by the chips request. The 2 tea scones each were fresh baked, there were 4 different sandwich fillings and 4 petit fours-type sweets to top the cake stand. We both had a huge pot of tea each and a top up in the price. The staff we friendly, courteous, informative, obviously proud to be there. The grounds are available to walk round and add to the ambiance of the main, beautiful, house. We felt as though we had had excellent value and a real treat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights with the kids (aged 3 and 6) and they loved the big garden and the games they had to offer. A trip to the indoor swimmingpool was also very popular. Service in general very good, but food and more specifically the breakfast could have been a little bit better. Not complaining, but when everything else was up to standard, this should have been slightly better. Room was great. had the Lady Mary suit which was perferct for both parents and kids. Would love to come back and reccomend to other travellers. (we went to Legoland which is close by for one day. Can reccomed this as well!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Einar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.7 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
5.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Property: Royal Berkshire Hotel
Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada
Royal Berkshire Hotel Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing