We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had New Year's eve there, the food was excellent, albeit too much but lovely. Ambiance is pleasant and although the room was very full the food was served hot and quickly. We would go again but maybe do the family party next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencarvosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay celebrating New Years Eve with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the party later this year - if not before!

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I got married at The Berystede on the 10th August of this year. I chose the Berystede because it is local to me and I am a regular visitor. Our complimentary Honeymoon Suite was beautiful. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Our wedding for 80 guests was in The Windsor Suite which was decorated beautifully! I cried tears of joy when I seen it. We chose the Buffet option which was absolutely out of this world. All my guests commented on how delicious and plentiful it was. Raf and Cas and the other staff did everything possible to make the evening go smoothly. Breakfast the next day was in The Windsor suite again as upstairs was very busy. Martin the restaurant manager was really attentive and friendly. All in all a wonderful experience. Thank you to Amy my Wedding planner, all the restaurant staff, Steve at the bar. If you are looking for a beautiful venue with attentive staff then look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post such a fantastic review of your Wedding day at the Berystede. Delighted the team here provided such a wonderful experience for you.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for one night to see the New year in at the "Hollywood Ball". Hotel is nicely located in a nice part of Berkshire. Reception check-in was fast, friendly and efficient, although we were booked under a party booking name, which they found a little confusing. We had a standard room overlooking another block of rooms and the car park, the room was was clean, tidy and reasonably well appointed, albeit it poorly lit and was fairly small and the bathroom was even smaller! The pool and spa are very nice, especially the choice of steam and sauna rooms. The bar was comfortable with a good choice of beers, wines and spirits, albeit like most hotels too expensive, and slow service due to just one bar person on duty. We attended the black tie Hollywood Ball New Year party as a group of 8 people, unfortunately the hotel organisers completely messed up the seating arrangements and tried to sit 12 people on a table that was laid out for 10. They then tried to add two more places (like trying to pour a pint into a quart pot!), which clearly wouldn't resolve the problem, by this time it was becoming embarrassing and awkward for our group of 8, who were standing waiting and waiting and waiting for the management to address the problem, every other table was seated by this time! Anyway after a lot of unnecessary huffing and puffing, and very little direct action by the management, another couple who were on their own and already sitting on our table volunteered to relocate to a table for two, which again made our group feel very uncomfortable. Unfortunately the poor planning, coordination on the part of the hotel spoilt the beginning of our evening, and although the seating problem had been resolved there was little or no customer service follow up by the general management - Very disappointing management performance. However, we 'stayed calm and carried on' and I must say the food was good and the rest of the evening went off without a hitch and a Happy New Year was had by all. Breakfast although very busy was good and there was a good buffet selection, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast. Overall the hotel and customer experience was at best average, and management attitude and customer service recovery needs looking at!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay and function at the Berystede Hotel. We are in absoloute agreement that this was not the start to your evening that we had planned and I apologise for the frustration and dissapointment this caused. As discussed at the time and during your stay we will be in contact with you shortly to discuss further. Thanks for your comments and review of our accommodation and wider facilities within the hotel - all feedback recieved is greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As a birthday treat on New Years Day my fiancé surprised me with a night at this hotel along with a bit of spa pampering! Here are our thoughts....

Arrived to this glorious looking hotel, greeted by such elegant decor and an open fire! I absolutely loved the feel of the place! We arrived a bit too early so didn't expect to be checked in ...but the lovely reception gentleman found us an available room, so we didn't have to wait. Our room was superb. It was stylishly decorated and nice and big, we had champagne on arrival and a card wishing us a happy new year, which was lovely. We got changed and went to the spa! We couldn't have been treated better! All of the spa staff were 110% accommodating and so so friendly!

I had a facial which was AMAZING, although did feel like there was too much of a hard sell of the products afterwards which was a bit much.

The outside spa pool was fantastic! The various spa rooms (especially the aroma room) were extremely nice!

Where it starts to go a bit downhill is at dinner. We generally felt it was a bit too stuffy and slightly pretentious with the limited menu and the less than generous portions! I still felt hungry after my starter, main and cheeseboard! However, the quality of the food was spot on the duck was cooked perfectly and my partners steak and chips were amazing....Could just do with a bit more! It felt like the waiters were somewhat in the weeds! We were not asked if food was ok, we sat with empty glasses and no one was around to offer us more drinks! The waiter initially got my order wrong....but they also corrected their mistake pretty quickly so not a massive problem.

With regards to sleep, I was out for the count in the comfy bed but my other half was woken early in the morning by noise in the corridor.

Breakfast was really good and there was so much choice! I was full up after breakfast which is always a good sign!

On the whole we were very happy with our stay and came back feeling relaxed and ready to take on the new year!

My fiancé informed me of what great customer service that Jackie Bagnall provided when planning our stay! He was very impressed with her customer service and we both feel very valued as customers! Thanks very much!

Also.... Just to say that every single member of staff we passed in the corridors etc, always greeted us with a friendly hello! They were lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen86jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I am really pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. Apologies if your expectations of dinner were not quite met. I have passed your feedback to my food & beverage team to review and action points raised where necessary. We pride ourselves on our friendly team here at the Berystede and I am really pleased they all made a difference to you stay.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The good stuff, our classic room was lovely, nicely styled and perfectly acceptable. The common areas are very attractive and quintessential English country house, roaring fire etc etc.

The pool is the real jewel here the outdoor bit is fantastic and it's a proper pool where more than five people can be accommodated. Sauna etc great too and a fab gym.

Starts to go down hill though once you hit the restaurant. The service is chaotic - we waited 45 minutes for our dessert this wasn't a one off as in the bar we had long since drank our coffees before our pastries arrived. There was something going awry with the timing of food out of the kitchen it seemed - other couples were also waiting for sides etc. Food quality was patchy mine was great, hubby's was ' like a Toby car very' - desserts when we got them were only adequate.

Now the bad bit - I want to sleep in my bed in reasonable quiet, not possible in our room as the radiator clanked and tapped all night whether it was on or off. We slept terrible and were then woken by the cleaner at eight o clock. Sort it out ! And the bed was floaty and creaky too - not good. Room 118 btw.

So what should have been great and started well ended up with us pooped , breakfast was very good but we were grouchy so didn't really care !

Room Tip: Sick with the classic rooms in the new annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeordieJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Happy New Year & thank you for reviewing your stay at the Berystede with us. Apologies if we did not get all aspects of your stay right for you - which we set out to achieve for every guest. Your comments are greatfully received and I will address the points you have highlighted.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Only stayed for one night with my two children and my husband as we were visiting Lapland Uk. We stayed in an executive family room which was plenty for our needs with all the little extra toiletries you'd expect in a hotel like this. The hotel has a very warm cosy feel from the moment you arrive and nothing was to much trouble.
We made good use of the spa facilities/pool which were lovely especially the thasotherapy pool. The hotel itself was decorated lovely for Xmas and we enjoyed lovely food by the fire place in the lounge, the bar area and in the restaurant, the breakfast was great and most of all, all the staff were extremely polite and very attentive. I would love to stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for a great review, it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay so much. Wishing you and your family a happy new year and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Berystede in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Just had a fantastic meal in the bar with some close friends. The Barman looked after us the whole time. He was very polite and had a very professional manner that made us feel comfortable and special. The food was top quality and good portion sizes.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing your dining experience in our bar & lounge. Delighted you enjoyed the food & service you received. Both Jon our Head Chef & Dan our Bars manager have shared your review with their teams who were equally pleased to read how much you enjoyed yourself. Have a wonderful Christmas break.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
712 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
6.7 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range: £97 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa Berkshire/Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing