We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Ascot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Old fashioned hotel like a french chateau... Single rooms are very small but double rooms are comfortable... Excellent SPA and small fitness room are the privileges of the hotel.
Breakfast is serves as open buffet but with low variety... Same as restaurant menu, only few choices are applicable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Alieacelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay during February on Tripadvisor. We are currently completing a phased refurbishment of our restaurant, bar and lobby and with that we will be reviewing our dining offerings taking into account feedback from our guests such as yours. I hope you choose to return to stay with us again should you be staying in the local area.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I booked with secret escapes. I booked the deal which came with a 2 course meal, B&B and a £10.00 per room reduction on pre booked treatments. I was contacted by the hotel offering an upgrade to a four course dinner for a small supplement, I am glad they called as neither their site or great escapes had notified me that I needed to book a precise time to eat, we were offered either 1900hrs or 2100hrs.
The room was very nice with standard 4 star amenities, the bathroom had been recently refurbished and was lovely That said it was dusty and the floor did not appear very clean. The meal was excellent and the service was efficient and not intrusive, we were impressed and tipped the waiter directly. Only comment to make was the cheeseboard came with only a couple of biscuits which resulted in cheese not being eaten, I suspect we could have asked for a couple more but did not.
We did not make use of the Spa or any other facilities.
The staff in general were great, friendly and helpful. My wife left her purse at reception and the lady walked all the way to the room to return it, she could have just called the room but didn't, which was a nice touch, she also set the heating in the room while she was there.
Breakfast service was slow from the start, we had to wait to be seated and there was quite a queue, we could have had a cooked meal but by the time someone came to take our order I had eaten the toast and some of the items from the continental buffet so did not want anything cooked, the staff were very friendly though.
The bill had a service charge for the restaurant and a supplement for the cheeseboard neither had been advised, the hotel did remove the items from the bill but the receptionist then asked if we wanted the £1.00 charity donation removed as well. We didn’t but the comment made us feel mean.
The setting was lovely and the room warm it was incredibly busy so feel this might explain why things were slow, criticism aside we would probably go again but not on valentine's night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quartermaster243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for your fair review of your stay over the Valentine weekend. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay, however I do aknowledge that in particular breakfast was very busy with the majority of the hotel choosing to eat within a one hour window which is not the norm causing delays which were too long and not acceptable. I would note that all supplements and service charges are printed on our dining menus and on any final receipts; however if you felt that this was not highlighted sufficiently I do apologise.

Thank you once again for you review and I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel itself is stunning and the spa facilities were lovely but the thermo pool is in need of a good deep clean. We had booked decor aroma envelopment treatment as advertised on the website (£72 pp) in advance of our stay. We arrived half an hour early at the spa which was lucky because we were advised declor treatments had been replaced with elmis. After explaining to the beautician we were wanting a body wrap we were informed the treatments were very similar just different products. Treatments were lovely however when checking out was shocked to be charged £85 each!! Very disappointed not to be informed that not only had the products changed but the price had also.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, just a shame we had to wait 45 minutes before we even got our starter!!
Breakfast was also delicious but again a shame we had to wait over 40 minutes for a poached egg. Although we were happy to wait and appreciated how busy it was to see others come in eat a full English then leave before ours had arrived, I was disappointed with the rude response from the waitress when politely checking on our order. Unfortunately because of our experience we won't be returning but also won't be recommending. Shame because the hotel itself is lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat_tuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the hotel. My sincere apologies that your expectations were not met and please be assured that the circumstances you describe have been shared with the wider team and utilised to enhance our processes and communication within the hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stay in the hotel for a long relaxing weekend in February. The place is beautiful, a typical old-style English building, sorrounded by the green; the room is comfortable and clean, whit a great bed, a supplied mini-bar and the tv; also the bathroom is functional and clean.
The staff is great, polite and helpful.
The breakfast is typical English; the buffet is restrained but with valued products (butter and jam for example), and the English breakfast served directly from the kitchen is very good arranged.
The restaurant is high-grade, the dishes are refined, good presented, but almost tasty; the wine chart is inetrnational and good assorted.
The SPA is big and good mantained, the swimming pool is big enough to swim comfortably and the staff is polite and helpful
The place is convenient to visit Windsor, but in 50 minutes you can arrive at London with train. In the hall there is also some suggestions to visit neighbouring places.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matteomenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for a great review of your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed youselves so much. Do visit and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband booked the restaurant for Valentines night last night. Although the food was good the staff were a joke! We arrived, gave our names and were led straight to the table, when we ask about our coats he pointed at a coat stand & were told to put them there, he plonked 2 menus down & asked if we would like a drink, we ordered 2 glasses of pink champagne, some 15 minuted later a waitress appeared with 2 glasses of "sparkling wine" we explained that was not what we ordered to then be told they didn't do pink champagne by the glass, so we ordered a bottle, she reappeared to tell us they didn't have what we wanted but only the house was champagne available, we then changed to a bottle of Sancerre rose which when it arrived was corked and so was the replacement bottle, so we had to chose something else again. The smoked salmon arrived but there was no bread to accompany it, just two tiny crouton sized bits as decoration on the plate, we then waited over forty minutes for what should have been a sorbet which never materialised, as we watched everyone else get theirs and began to giggle at the incompetence of the waiting staff as they gave the wrong meals to the wrong tables and stood like dummies in the middle of the room with plates in hand waiting for direction to tables or walked back and forth asking tables if what they were holding was their dinners! Our main course then arrived having watched it walk around the dining hall, when I explained we hadn't had our sorbet I was asked if I wanted it at the same time as my dinner! When I said no, I was then told we would get it with our desert, need less to say, we didn't. We paid our bill and left and when driving out we needed a gate code, we stood in the gales and rain ringing the buzzer to ask for the code and when no one bothered to answer we had to go back into the hotel to find someone for the code, when asked why no one responds to the buzzer we were told it didn't ring in the hotel!! They also have four cameras on the gate!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

My sincere apologies for the experience you describe in our restaurant and our apparant lack of attention to detail on this occasion. Please do contact the hotel directly and I will be pleased to speak to you and deal with this situation personally.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We just had a lovely spa break which was great as there are many different rooms in the spa. However it did seem like they had gone overboard in fitting as many people in as they could. The food was ok not the best meal in an area that has fabulous resturaunts it was a bit bland. The service was a bit chaotic also as again it was so busy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I really appreciate reviews from Tripadvisor senior reviewers. Thank you for your honest comments and apologies if we did not quite meet your expectations of the hotel & spa on this occasion. It was a busy weekend however this should not have affected your stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This place is a little gem! Having stayed in The Macdonald Bath Spa hotel twice, I had an idea of what to expect and it lived up to those expectations. The service throughout the hotel was fantastic, everyone helpful and friendly from start to finish. Although only there for one night with my mum and sisters, we could have stayed for much longer. The hotel has a smart but relaxed feel about it, with a comfy lounge and bar area to sit and chat in. We came home from dinner to find a lovely open fire in the lobby, which was very cosy! The hotel was impeccably clean throughout and the rooms smelt lovely and fresh. We stayed in standard twin rooms, which were more than suitable and looked as though they had been refurbished fairly recently. The breakfast was beautifully cooked with a wide selection and the cold buffet was more than ample, with everything you would expect. The only very minor criticisms would be the price of the drinks and snacks in the bar and the fact that the spa area could do with a bit of a tidy up and some restrictions on children... Understandably Saturday is a peak time, but it felt more like a public swimming pool then a relaxed spa! There were children dive bombing in the pool and it was really, generally quite noisy. We had to leave after half hour... Having said that, during the week it is probably far more relaxing. The thermal suite was great and the outdoor hydrotherapy pool was a nice addition too. The hotel is set in some lovely grounds and you can see out on to these from the pool and spa. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobeans90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities we have to offer at the hotel. Last weekend was particularly busy with both Valentines Day and the start of the school half term, which meant the leisure club and spa was well used by all - apologies if it was not as calm as it usually is in the pool area and I do hope you made good use of the thermal suite and other facilities we offer. I hope you choose to return to stay again in the near future.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
705 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,063 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
6.7 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range: £101 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa Berkshire/Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing