We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spa weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a spa break at the hotel during March. As there are three of us, this usually presents a problem as spa breaks appear to only be bookable for two people. This wasn't the case here and we had a great time. The spa was lovely: very clean and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool looked inviting although perhaps could have been more sun loungers. Hotel was great, staff friendly, rooms clean and well appointed. The restaurant provided breakfast and evening meal which were both very good. Lunch didn't look to appealing so went into Ascot and found a really nice cafe.
Overall very impressed.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Avon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and spa experience. Our team work very hard to please and the points you have made will be shared with all.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,675 - 1,681 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for one night as a surprise! (Organised by my husband)
The room was clean, comfortable and was quite large considering it was one of the classic doubles!
Check in was smooth and efficient and reception team were very friendly!

We decided to have a light lunch in the bar area just off from reception, which was of good quality and the service was relaxed and friendly.

In the afternoon we ventured down to the spa which was GREAT normal heated pool indoors but outside there is the thermal pool with jacuzzi action and water jet which was so warm and relaxing especially when it was getting dark outside! We managed to drag ourselves out of the thermal pool to try the sauna area which included a salt mist room and a ice Igloo!!!

The restaurant was the best part!! The staff were friendly and easy to talk to. Our waiter Henry was a student from France, he was fantastic. Really attentive and offered a great all round service!

The menu choice was great considering we were on a inclusive dinner package (other hotels inclusive menus can be a bit lacking!).

Breakfast buffet was something to behold so much choice and variety!
Hot breakfast is ordered from the kitchen and you help yourselves to the continental!

Checked out the next morning by Halina. Check out was a little busy but it was the weekend after all! Reception team were quick but still remarkably helpful and efficient Halina especially!

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be returning!

Room Tip: Depending on how long you are staying for ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoatesBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

A wonderful review! So pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the hospitality the hotel offers. I do hope to welcome you all back to the hotel to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my family of 7 adults. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The spa area was great and we loved the outdoor whirpool. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Our waiter Henri was great with us, top class service! Food was really good. All in all one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

A wonderful review! So pleased to read that you enjoyed your special occasion with your family. I hope to look forward to welcoming you all back to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in March, booked through secret escapes. I was really worried about our stay having seen a lot of negative reviews on here, but we had a great time!

Room was clean, large and comfortable - bed could have been a bit softer if I was being picky. Really good shower! Dinner was lovely, we had to wait a little bit for our drinks to arrive but it didn't bother us. Huge selection for breakfast.

All staff were so friendly throughout the hotel as well. Didn't use the spa though, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shards22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Reviews left on social media sites are very important to our business and we use all formats of feedback to constantly review our services and facilities. I am really pleased you chose to read between the lines and give the hotel a try rather than be put off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend. The hotel itself is in a good location - easy to find and in a quiet area. The reception staff were helpful and efficient with any requests made of them.

The food was of an overall good quality. There was a good selection of items for breakfast and these were of a reasonable quality. They even had a vegetarian cooked breakfast on offer, along with some more unusual items which you could pay a supplement for. Dinner was again very good quality but with a limited menu so if you dine there twice you might get bored. The desserts were however fantastic, beautifully presented and extremely tasty! The staff at dinner were very helpful and could recommend wine for you based on what you were eating. When the restaurant is busy however the number of staff struggled to cope with bringing courses in a timely manner. One night we waited half an hour for our mains - I think however this night they had a very large charity dinner on elsewhere in the hotel to be fair to them. We also ate lunch twice, which was reasonable if a bit pricey for what was on offer. The bar area was a nice place to go for an after dinner drink with good sofas and places to sit and drinks prices are what you expect at this type of hotel.

Now to the room. Ours was room 216. The size was fine and everything you need was there. But the cleanliness really let it down. There was water marks on the desk, mirror wasnt clean at all, the shower was pretty disgusting with black mould around the seals and the cushions on the bed were ripped and tatty looking. Not what you expect from this type of hotel. The only bedside light was also had a broken shade and was in dire need of replacement. Such a shame. I would also suggest as an idea that reception should have a little map of the rooms to give to guests so they can mark out where they are on the plan. Its a little warren of corridors and would be much easier for guests if this was provided.

There are some other areas of the hotel that give you the feeling that they try and cut corners with things. My lunch sandwiches were served with the cheapest white bread - and margerine - fine of you buy from Tescos but at over a tenner - not good! The amount of butter they gave you at breakfast meant you had to ask for more (a 10p sized piece just isnt enough for two people even if it is served under a miniature cloche)....and the broken things in the room just should have been spotted and replaced. We were also informed that we would have to hire a robe for £5 after mine went missing from the pool side - even though we were hotel guests and these are included with the room.

The spa area and leisure facilities were good with a nice pool and changing rooms with plenty of lockers for valuables. They also had good hairdryers and some toiletries on hand for after your swim. The showers in this area were actually cleaner than our rooms! Likewise all leisure staff were helpful and friendly. We also had a spa treatment while we stayed which was good, with the therapists being knowledgable and helpful in their attitude. There is a little chill out room to go to after treatments but bring your own magazine unless you want to be reading things about field sports! The heat and Ice experiences were also enjoyable - although one room wasnt working while we were there. The outside Jacuzzi could be a massive bonus but in places could do with a good scrub and it does get very busy at peak times.

All in all - I didnt hate this hotel - had an ok time, but some areas of it let it down. I wouldnt come back, for the money we paid I just didnt think some of the failings were acceptable. Hopefully management will look into them and put it right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsb0jangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay here at the Macodnald Berystede Hotel & Spa. Ensuring that our guests have a truley memorable stay is paramount to us, therefore all your comments have been reviewed and investigated. With regard to your bedroom these items are being addressed by my Head Housekeeper and we will be starting a shower refurbishment programme in the block of bedrooms your room was located in in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We visited this hotel on the weekend for a 1 night spa break which included 3 course meal, breakfast and a 30min treatment. There were 13 of us celebrating a 30th birthday, ages ranging from 16-50. We were able to check into our rooms on arrival at 11am even though check in was meant to be 3pm. Only issues were the lunch menu was a bit limited and expensive also the layout meant there was quite a lengthy walk along 3 different corridors and down a flight of stairs. Other than that the rooms were all very clean and well presented. The spa facility's we're amazing with several variations of steam/sauna rooms, pool was good size and temperature, therma pool was fabulous. Beauty therapist were very welcoming and friendly as were the staff in the restaurant. Food at dinner in the restaurant was delicious. We all thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will be returning.
Thank you to all at The Berystede.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

A fantastic review, thank you! So pleased that you all enjoyed your spa break. We host many spa parties throughout the year and I look forward to welcoming you all back to stay again in the future.

Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed for one night and wouldn't return problem after problem.

So unorganised dirty spa, workmen everywhere (including in the steam room where I was sitting)
Lunch was terrible, dinner wasn't much better service was slow and wrong majority of the time!
We had to change rooms as the door wouldn't close.

Overall disappointing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baw_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I believe that you have communicated directly with us at the hotel in addition to your review and trust that you are now satisfied following our response. Apologies again that we did not meet your expectations at all during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
735 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.4 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range: £100 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa Berkshire/Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing