We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great Grounds and facilities.
The staff on reception,the ladies in the spa and the night manager were extremely friendly and accomodating.Olga the waitress in the restaurant was especially nice.
We will definitely be returning to the mcdonald berystede hotel and spa. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissACL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for commenting on our team - I will ensure they see your review. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel & spa in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    687
    463
    207
    125
See reviews for
468
901
41
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband had booked the Berystede as a surprise for our wedding anniversary. Having arrive later in the day due to work commitments we missed the spa opening times and therefore could not book for the following day. Dinner was nice although seated next to a grubby looking plasterboard wall was not a great sight- however with renovations happening, this is understandable (although a touch of paint was needed).
The following morning, we went to breakfast around 9, let's just say we did not finish breakfast until 10.45 and that was not because we are slow eaters! Not enough seating for the amount of customers as well as a slow service was disappointing, as well as the ridiculously HOT plate our breakfast was served on. This plate was unbearably hot, with the bacon still sizzling and the egg as hard as a rock.
This is a very short version of the amount of issues we faced on this visit. Having visited the Berystede on several occasions, we had always been very satisfied however this time has made us feel like we do not want to return.

Having contacted the Macdonald customer service department by email- I am still awaiting a reply from the general manager at the Berystede- over a week waiting- clearly they like to keep their customers waiting.

I am not normally one to complain and be negative however I am hugely disappointed with my recent experience and hope that changes are made to ensure a lovely customer get away, something that It once was!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleaa0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunninghill hotels

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My 3rd Macdonald. Other 2 excellent but this just hasn't got it. Staff ok but nothing special. Room tired. Bar service poor. Breakfast warm not hot. Sells itself as an alternative to Windsor Macdonald but it's miles away!
Signage from main road confusing once you find it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review sorry you did not feel that our hotel was to your liking comparably to other hotels in the Macdonald Hotels brand. We are located 15 minutes drive from Windsor town centre in the Ascot countryside and whilst we are close by we do not advertise as being located in Windsor. If you are looking for a central Windsor base our sister hotel Macdonald Windsor is the perfect location.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went to The Berystede for Afternoon Tea to celebrate the completion of my little boy's adoption the staff were very kind to us and really made it a lovely celebration and made a fuss of my son. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were all delicious in lovely surroundings. A throughly enjoyable visit.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helstar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed afternoon tea with us so much. Our head pastry chef Eli was delighted to read your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

. We have just got back from our wonderful and
relaxing spa break at the Berystede Hotel in Ascot! The hotel was really lovely, the staff very accommodating and
friendly! Nothing was too much trouble! Unfortunately another of my
guests had to drop out due to a poorly husband at the very last minute
and all they charged us for was a dinner which l was very happy to pay
under the circumstances! They changed rooms with no fuss! Treated us
like royalty and made us feel very welcome! I couldn't have asked for a
better hotel or package for my guests.


Thank you for helping me celebrate my birthday in style and with NO
STRESS !!

Kind regards

Theresa Gale

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for a great review delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has a few minor issues that do begin to stack up, but the Spa helps to put things right.

The Hotel staff are actually really good and not the problem here, they all seemed quite young so I assumed if they are being managed then the managers must be hidden behind the scenes. We arrived in our room, which was warm, clean and with all the amenities you would expect to a good standard for the price paid, but I could see the foot of the bed was in the air and the head had no feet so more of a see-saw than a bed. The staff apologised and moved us to a different 'better' room immediately without fuss. The new room was a little larger and still to a good standard but let down by a half used bottle of water from the rooms previous occupant still in the mini-bar putting the cleanliness a little into question. The restaurant is nice with good service from friendly staff but the main courses arrived stone cold. Again, the staff replaced this without fuss immediately when told. When the bill came at the end of the night we had enough booze included on there for a whole stag party to have fun on but they admitted the mistake when I pointed out that the two of us alone would not be coherently having this conversation if we had consumed this amount. Unfortunately, this was a conversation I needed to have again the following morning when checking out with the hotel bill. So it seemed like a lot of work, but most of them were minor errors that may be a manager or two could prevent if they were there. I'm guessing there are one or two other hotel guests that had a very good night very cheaply without having to pay for a single drink!!!

We used the spa on the day we left and it was very good allowing us to overlook the facilities that were out-of-order. But, an this cannot be helped, it does seem to be very popular with Hen-parties so if you are looking for quiet relaxation, may be try somewhere else as I think a flock of actual hens would be considerably quieter.

Room Tip: Check the bed isn't broken before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. My father was given a fantastic room close to reception (room 104). We were allocated 137 which is in the new block, above the conference rooms and a long walk from reception. Room 137 was incredibly noisy permanently and I got no sleep on the first night. I assume it's aircon units or the like. When I complained to reception they immediately offered to move rooms, and suggested the noise couldn't be fixed.

For this reason I'm scoring the hotel 2. They clearly know there to be an issue with this room (*or rooms in the vicinity) but still allocated to us. On the day of checkout, I suggested there should be some compensation (perhaps reduced room rate or complimentary drinks) for the inconvenience caused. The receptionist wasn't able to offer any arrangement, there were no duty-managers available, and despite the promise of a phone call from a manager, I've not received one.

Room 137 aside, this is a lovely hotel in beautiful grounds, with attentive staff, beauitiful restaurant and a fab spa with little outdoor pool. I would come back again, but would be more fussy when first checking into the room.

Room Tip: Not 137. Ask for a room closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you had a poor nights sleep. We do have a plant room in the block of accommodation you were resident in however the equipment should not disturb you. I have asked our contractor to visit to check over the equipment to ensure it is running correctly, I am a little unsure why there was not a manager available to speak to you in person during your stay and that you did not receive a call as promised as we strive to ensure all guests are contacted in a prompt manner when required.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
691 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,022 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa Berkshire/Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing