We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. From arrival to departure, all staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was big and the bathroom was a decent size with a good shower. We had drinks and food in the bar during the evening, plus breakfast. All the food was of a really good standard. Couldn't fault our stay here, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in 342, a large room on the first floor. We didn't experience any high noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again as it seems you really enjoyed your stay! Thank you for commenting on our staff's friendliness we are all keen to please. We also place a high emphasis on the quality of our food and beverage product and I am delighted you found it to be of a high standard.

Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    654
    449
    188
    115
See reviews for
447
856
40
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Toilet broken. Spa broken. Hydro pool broken. Phone in room broken. Keys continuously stopped working. Bath towel had poo on it. Very expensive for the quality of hotel. Staff were friendly but never knew answers to questions.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I would urge you to contact us directly at the hotel as your comments are most unusual and certainly not in keeping with the standards and quality of our Hotel. I look forward to having an opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail as we have no record of a complaint of this nature.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent three nights here with a little one in tow who was desperate to visit Windsor Castle and LEGOLAND. The hotel is very well located for all the surrounding attractions and you can get most places without having to get onto the motorways.

We had booked a family room which had a large clear space for the temporary bed, the bed itself being fairly large and of good quality. The bathroom was a but disappointing as it was really quite small but it was adequate. There is air con which was very welcome given the high temperatures and, overall, the room was fine.

My only real complaint was the sound proofing, both in terms of external noise and room to room. The windows are old metal frames and we could hear every movement outside, especially when someone had their car parked too close to their room and their mobile phone conversations were broadcast far and wide! Equally when the family next door burst into their room at 10pm every night, the noise was unbelievable. It's an old building and the communal areas look great but this would seriously make me think twice about returning.

There is a nice pool and the little one insisted on going every day. no matter how late me got back. Kid's swim times are 4pm-7pm and if you get in there bang on 4pm, you'll likely get it pretty empty. After 5pm the child quotient shoots up.

We ate in the bar and there is a reasonable child menu. The portions for the little ones were very generous although the adult portions were less so. Nevertheless, it suited us. If you fancy a night out, the Windmill pub is only a 2 minute drive away and the food there was very good indeed. The bar opens out onto a lovely terrace which is a really nice place for a quick drink.

The breakfasts were very good and staff always seemed to be filling up things as they emptied, even when it was very busy with a conference in progress.

The real piece de resistance is the staff. From the absolutely charming Canadian girl who checked us in right through to the excellent chap at breakfast time and everyone in between, they were cheerful, helpful and a joy to do business with.

I'm not sure if rooms in the main area of the hotel might be quieter (we were way at the back) but the noise issue was a biggie for us. I used to stay at McDonald Hotels when I worked and they all had one thing in common - fabulous old buildings but inadequate investment, particularly at individual room level. This was no different but the people helped to make up for the other shortcomings!!

Room Tip: I'd be tempted to go for a higher room to dampen down the noise. I actually found the A/C noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience whilst staying with us. I am so pleased that you found our team to be so cheerful - we all work in hospitality as we like to please! Your comments have been noted with regard to our guestrooms and please be assured that we are continually investing in the fabric and facilities of our property and have invested over £1 million pounds in the first half of the year.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for one night in this fantastic hotel, the room was wonderful, clean and maintained to a high standard. The pool and spa facilities were beyond excellent, with the outside hydropool a distinct favourite. The breakfasts are huge and you can have anything you want. Anything you want is not too much trouble for any of the staff. Very friendly and accommodating - I will definitely stay here again. Totally loved it.

Room Tip: Executive suites are lovely, the beds so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobdob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Delighted to read your review of your recent stay whilst visiting the area to attend the Red Bull Air Race at Ascot Racecourse. I hope that you have reason to visit the area in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just had a two day visit to the Berystede for my sons marriage at nearby Coworth Park.The hotel was therefore just for sleeping and Breakfast. So first the good things,the room was of a good size as we had booked a de luxe room and it had a very good bathroom with two sinks shower and bath and this was also a good size.The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice as well as th chef in the breakfast area cooking anything you couldn't find on the buffet which was fairly extensive.
The staff both at breakfast and check in were excellent and the parking was very good with ample spaces.

What let it down was that in the conference area was a generator which started at 6 am and went on to midnight so we were only able to get 6 hours sleep at the most. On the night of the wedding we got back to our hotel by 1am so by the time we got to bed we had less than 5 hours.
We had complained to the management about this soon after our arrival on the first afternoon and the manager assured us that it was switched off by 11pm but on the first night we rang down about 11.30 to be told that the earliest it went off was 12 and then they also didn't mention it started again at 6 am. As we were only there 2 nights we didn't ask to be moved on the second day as we had to get to the wedding but I wouldn't stay again and if we had been going the on a normal break I would have checked as we had asked for a quiet room away from lifts and air conditioner units.

Room Tip: You must make sure that you don't get a room close the conference centre part of the hotel altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for writing a review of your recent stay. Thank you for your balanced review and please accept my apologies that you were disturbed at night by plant equipment. Clearly this is not the experience I wish guests to have and I am working with our property management team who are re adjusting the operating times on the equipment you mention to the correct times and reviewing options for further sound proofing of the area it is situated in.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a superb stay in this FABULOUS hotel. Our usual choice of hotel is the DeVere chain, which meant we were aprehensive with new accomadation. We had an Executive room, which was well wort the money. The bathroom was first class. The room was eceptionally clean ( I am not easy to please). The bed was very comfortable, the llighting was perfect. I have to mention the staff at this Hotel were eager to please and very friendly without being to obvious. On arrival we were met by Antonella, who took our booking a few weeks before. She was absolutely lovely and remembered small details that made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was first class even when busy, the staff made it look easy, well done to them. As the hotel is near Legoland, there are some children, however, we were not disturbed by them at night and at breakfast the staff accomodated all to feel comfortable.
The hotel is beautiful and gated at night. It has beatiful grounds and is well situated to visit Ascot and Windsor. We would without doubt recomend this beautiful hotel. If you have a problem with walking maybe you should mention this when booking as the hotel has many corridors, not a problem unless walking is a problem, without doubt the staff would accomodate you as Antonella did for us. THANK YOU to all the staff for a very happy stay.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking mention this when booking as the hotel has long corridors (well kept a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for posting a great review of your stay with us. I am really pleased that the team looked after you so well and in particular Antonella who is a real star! I do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future if visiting the area again.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and visited Legoland & Windsor, the staff were very helpful, the room was lovely and the breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for recommending our hotel to future guests and reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and thank you for commenting on your experience.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.4 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
4.8 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.5 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa Berkshire/Sunninghill, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing