We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lasting legacy”
Review of Haselbury Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haselbury Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our one-night stay was a present from my wife, an excellent choice! We stayed in the 'blue' room in the main house. A large room, a very comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. It was clean throughout with an excellent en-suite shower (no bath).

Minnie and Roger have had a tithe barn built, the first new build of its kind for 300 years, a lasting legacy for generations to come, it is a magnificent building and something they are justly proud of. Used for functions, especially weddings, a great choice of venue to befit any occasion.

Roger has a passion for transport of days gone by, dotted around the grounds a number of old vehicles from decades past.

There is a bar called Windy Miller that makes an excellent start for pre-dinner drinks, serving local ales and of course, ciders - well it is in Somerset!

Would we return - most definitely!!

Dinner was well prepared, tasted very good, my only minor criticism, the portions on the small side. Breakfast, a buffet affair, again extremely well cooked, using local produce.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend, care of a Travelzoo voucher, and were very impressed.

The room was a good size, the staff friendly and efficient, but the finishing touch was the sumptious food. I had the rib eye steak and later on, hubby had the chocolate fondant dessert (previously raved about on TA). We both agreed that these two items were the best we had ever tasted!

The views from the restaurant, with its very high windows, overlooking the lake were gorgeous ... and a walk or sit outside on a sunny day would be fantastic (we had drizzle). Conveniently placed tables and chairs enable you to do this.

The "medieval" tithe barn, while only built in 2007 was an impressive addition to the hotel gardens.

A very pleasant stay, closely competing with our recently reviewed "best hotel ever" Northcote Manor. We intend to return ....

Room Tip: We were in the Blue Room in the separate house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimM750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Slightly disappointed in as much some areas were showing signs of neglect and needed sprucing up. The shower room tray and drain needed attention in the room we stayed in. We were not asked if we had any comments on checking out. Food was good, if a bit over priced for what it was. Staff were courteous and helpful and well turned out.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had one night here, beautiful surroundings. We were in the river room which was very nice, good size and spotless bedding. The food was very good as was the breakfast. Staff were all helpful and happy, always a good sign. Would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasan2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Myself and my girlfriend spent a weekend at Haslebury Mill. The Mill is maintained really well and was set in some lovely grounds. The staff were all very friendly and always checked we had everything we needed. We also had food in the resturant, this was to a very high standard and would recommend eating there. Overall a excellent place to stay and have told friends about it since.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Haslebury Mill. One night was given to us as a gift via a wowcher voucher so we purchased an extra night direct with the hotel which cost £80 for two both nights included breakfast. The breakfast was substantial and had everything you could wish for and the staff were warm and friendly and went out of their way for the guests.
The Mill and the setting is charming and I can see why it is a popular wedding venue, although we did not see inside the Tithe Barn (where the weddings & receptions are held) it looked stunning from the outside and I am sure the outside scenery would look fantastic in any wedding photos.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was a Xmas treat from our daughter via a Wowcher deal. We were given a free upgrade to a super room with views of the stream, grounds and tithe barn. Very peaceful and clean room. Ate in main restaurant both nights - recommend the cheese and biscuits and chocolate fondant. Yummy! Staff very friend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank curlytop127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haselbury Plucknett
1.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
55 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
5 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
371 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bowes House
Bowes House
#1 of 2 in Mosterton
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haselbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haselbury Mill

Address: | Haselbury Plucknett, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne TA18 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne > Haselbury Plucknett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haselbury Plucknett
Price Range: £74 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haselbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often described as “Probably the most beautiful setting in the South West of England” The original buildings date back many centuries and are of great local interest with a history stretching back to the times of William the Conqueror and are reportedly mentioned in the Doomsday Book. Haselbury Mill is truly the ultimate somerset venue to commemorate and celebrate the special days in your life. The three magnificent listed buildings & newly built Tithe Barn provide the focus of this superb conference, restaurant, hotel & wedding facility. The Georgian Mill owner’s house & adjacent cottages have been transformed into a luxuriously appointed 21-bedroom hotel all with High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. All rooms are en-suite and are exquisitely appointed to add that little touch of luxury to the beautiful surroundings. The original Mill buildings have been sympathetically converted to a stylish restaurant and underneath can be found a traditional local's bar with flag stone floors and oak panelled walls. The Four storey Granary building nearby encompasses a lakeside bar and restaurant and further function and conference rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Haselbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haselbury Mill Hotel Crewkerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing