We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely first class”
Review of Haselbury Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haselbury Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Eastrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“absolutely first class”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed here end of march to visit family in somerset,, lovely setting and buildings, beautiful room at the top of the main house , and very clean ,after a long drive from east Yorkshire I just wanted a nice meal ,couple of pints of thatchers gold and bed , the young man behind the bar was a credit to this hotel ,service with a smile ! the meal itself was gorgeous ,rib-eye steak cooked to perfection ,the only blemish (and this is nit-picking ) it was served with French fries of the Mc d's type would have been nicer to have seen proper chips, but hey ho ,just my opinion ,still lovely. breakfast was first class and again staff where lovely and polite ,a wonderful 2 nght break ,many thanks to you all, and sorry I took so long to write this review .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilberdyke1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    119
    35
    17
    6
See reviews for
85
266
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was chosen for me, and I'm glad it was. Staff were brilliant very helpful. Dinner was great the Windy Miller Pie a speciality. Breakfast was freshly cooked which is always nice when you eat something hot. Rooms were great too plenty of space, and in the charming old Mill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived on 21/7/14 for a 2 night stay we had booked the Haselbury suite which is the second bridal suite as the first one was already booked. It was a lovely room in the main mill building had a four poster bed windows on 3 sides and the bathroom was as large as the bedroom with a lovely free standing bath and a huge double walk in shower. The grounds are lovely the tithe barn looked amazing.
Staff were very helpful and friendly we booked for our evening meal which was delicious on both nights service was exceptional they couldn't do enough for us. We slept very well both nights very quiet, bed very comfy and very big!! Breakfast was lovely had full English both days.
It was a very special honeymoon at a very special place we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJBGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really delighted to find the Haselbury Mill. We were looked after very well even though there was a wedding going on in their Tithe Hall. Arrived late on a Saturday and were still offered a table for dinner. Excellent meal..... very good value.

Very nice room with a good sized en-suite bathroom.

One of the best breakfasts for this level of hotel we have had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaselburyMill, Owner at Haselbury Mill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Richard B,

Many thanks for your kind words. Our staff work extremely hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us and i will pass on your comments.

Kind Regards,

Minnie Askey
Resident Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked a 2 night break advertised as Quiet & Relaxing with Secret Escapes (Thank Goodness) Arrived Pm 14/07/14'Reception Good.Room No 1. Dated,Clean, No Bath but adequate.Dinner @ 18-30. Starter ok,Main Dreadful,Pudding ok. Steak Worst Ever,Gristle & Sinew. Not Edible.Told it would be deducted from A/ C ( meal included in deal?) Woken @ 0630 by outside staff arriving at high speed by car. Noise continued on & off until 0800. Fed up, so got ready & went to Reception to complain. Tash apologised & offered Bridal suite, We refused.Told to have breakfast(not good). We decided to leave early so Tash stated she would E mail us before we arrived home. Nothing heard, so contacted Secret Escapes who investigated & sought full refund. Finally Hotel contacted us 16/07/14 To Late,,,

Room Tip: Never Room 1. Next to Mower Shed,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Churchfield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaselburyMill, Owner at Haselbury Mill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Churchfield2014,

We are bitterly disappointed to receive this isolated letter of complaint. We pride ourselves on our high levels of food and service at Haselbury Mill as endorsed by numerous guests. We would like to invite you back to the hotel to experience our high levels of hospitality.

Amanda Askey
Resident Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had been invited to a wedding over the week end .A very impressive drive entrance,good start!.Our room in the "Old coach house" was tastefully decorated and possibly a recent addition,Squeaky clean ,lots of soft white towels and complimentary toiletries,. T.V and beverage tray. A quick walk around the gardens,and into the" Great Tithe Barn" for the wedding Every thing was first class ,food, service,friendly staff,nothing to much trouble.A top hotel all round.

Room Tip: We had room No. 5 in the Coach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orbslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came here for one night on a travelzoo deal and as soon as we turned into the gate we relaxed. We had a complimentary upgrade to the Oak tree suite in the old mill house, we checked in, the young man offered to carry my luggage and escorted us to the room. Quite a period room with a modern bathroom. We had a drink in the garden and a wander round. The tythe barn is used for functions and at the moment is used for prom nights. They have a disco but it finishes about 11pm so there is no late night noise. In fact there is no noise of any kind. We had dinner in the main restaurant, 3 courses from an a la carte menu. Some people were complaining about the slow service but we were happy and in no rush. The meal was very good and we only just finished a cheese board between us for dessert as it was huge.
The breakfast was just as good and the usual continental and cooked to order selection. This was upstairs in the breakfast room.
Plenty in the grounds to muse over, vintage vehicles, vintage army vehicles, a small lake to wander round and plenty of photo opportunities.
Decent bar and meal selection with reasonable prices. There is a specialist pie bar that opens certain times and days. Unfortunately we couldn't stay for lunch!.
Overall a very comfortable room and bed etc. Very happy with the choices, grounds and welcome. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. Only wish we had booked the 2 night break. The weather did make it, as locally apart from Crewkerne, there isn't much to do, but if you want a quiet break, this is the place. They also have picnic nights where they provide everything and you pay for the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrandDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haselbury Plucknett
1.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
11.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 10 in Crewkerne
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haselbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haselbury Mill

Property: Haselbury Mill
Address: | Haselbury Plucknett, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne TA18 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne > Haselbury Plucknett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haselbury Plucknett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haselbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often described as “Probably the most beautiful setting in the South West of England” The original buildings date back many centuries and are of great local interest with a history stretching back to the times of William the Conqueror and are reportedly mentioned in the Doomsday Book. Haselbury Mill is truly the ultimate somerset venue to commemorate and celebrate the special days in your life. The three magnificent listed buildings & newly built Tithe Barn provide the focus of this superb conference, restaurant, hotel & wedding facility. The Georgian Mill owner’s house & adjacent cottages have been transformed into a luxuriously appointed 21-bedroom hotel all with High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. All rooms are en-suite and are exquisitely appointed to add that little touch of luxury to the beautiful surroundings. The original Mill buildings have been sympathetically converted to a stylish restaurant and underneath can be found a traditional local's bar with flag stone floors and oak panelled walls. The Four storey Granary building nearby encompasses a lakeside bar and restaurant and further function and conference rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Haselbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haselbury Mill Hotel Crewkerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing