We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baia Azul(Funchal)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alto Lido(Funchal)
US$117
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Duas Torres(Funchal)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,130)
Filter reviews
2,130 results
Traveller rating
1,388
566
137
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,388
566
137
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal canoasea viewlovely hotelcourtesy busindoor poolfree bus into funchalglass of madeira wineforum shopping centrehappy hourlocal restaurantsfive star hotelhotel restaurantstea and coffeerelaxing holidaypool towelssalt watertime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,489 - 1,494 of 2,130 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I love this hotel and can't wait to go back there. Its setting is gorgeous with views over the sea and hills, with fantastic sunsets. Stunning spacious gardens, quite rare for the hotels along the cliff side. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Great Tagine restaurant. Best breakfast ever with flowing champagne and incredible choice. Every attention to detail throughout the hotel. Loved the sparkly wallpaper. A stay here will make you sparkle!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcgintysgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for all the compliments you made to us!
We do have really nice gardens and the morrocan restaurant is really beautiful but,
we are sure that the main thing that sparkles our hotel are our guests.
We hope to see you soon.
With kind regards from all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wifeand I stayed at the hotel for 1 week on half board. The overall standard was what I would expect from a five star hotel in the respect that there were excellent facilities and the cleanliness of the bedrooms and hotel in general could not be faulted. However unless you are a fish eater, which neither of us really are, you are limited in your choice for the evening meal. On most occasions the food, which should always be on the hotter side, was at best warm and at times only luke warm. On one occasion my wife had some roast potatoes which were not even luke warm. On pointing this out to the Head Waiter he checked the others which were the same and then took them back to the kitchen. Instead of bringing some hot potatoes to my wife, which I would expect a hotel of this standard to do, that appeared to be the end of his job. Five minutes later I went to see if the remainder had been replaced which in fact they had been and were now hot. We did get an apology when signing for our drinks. In fairness there was always a good choice of salad and cold meats. Again on three occasions out of six the soup was not very hot. The only other comment is that I have never experienced waiters clearing plates from a table when the other person is still eating.

Although the hotel is the most modern looking of the Pestana chain it is a fair distance from the centre of Funchal but a free bus service is supplied. However the walk to the Lido area is relatively easy along the promanade even if it is hilly in parts The Casino Park Hotel, especially, or Carlton Hotel would enable visitors to walk into Funchal with much greater ease.

Room Tip: Side sea views are very good value
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeJayBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
I hope that, you had a nice time with us and i sincerely regret the situation occured in our restaurant. We keep on fighting to see where we are failing to not keep the food warm enough.
Please note that we value all comments posted on trip advisor and all of them all forward to our management team. I hope to see you again in our hotel and please let us know in time anything you might dislike or desagree, we will do our best to fulfill it.
Most of the people only go on holidays once per year, it is very important to feel confortable, happy and speccialy realised with their choose.
Kind regards from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel is upmarket and luxurious from the comfy beds, to the immaculate grounds. The outdoor swimming pool is fabulous and there is a pleasant indoor pool with Jacuzzi and sauna plus seating area which we used one afternoon when it clouded over. The location of this hotel is just perfect; beautiful views and away from the bustle of central Funchal. However the delights and attractions of central Funchal are easily reached via the hotel courtesy and local buses. The local bus service is frequent and hotel staff can explain how to use it.
We did not eat or drink in the hotel at all. For our evening meal we frequented the Real Canoa just outside the hotel, which was outstanding for beautifully cooked meals, friendly service and value.
I was horrified to find I had left my holiday reading behind but happily the hotel has a cosy little library.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank anderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for joining us!
Were glad that, once again we meet someone's expectations.
We thank you also for leaving your feedback about our hotel and all the compliments
you made about the facilities.
We hope to see you again in our hotel and also our beautiful Madeira.
Best wishes and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

A well positioned hotel with beautiful gardens and swimming pools. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and looks very impressive.

However, the dining arrangements leave a lot to be desired. The evening meal is on a buffet-style arrangement and is a disaster.. Newly arrived guests are not greeted when entering the dining room and are left to their own devices to find a table, if indeed they can find one not containing dirty dishes. After queueing for food one is often confronted with dishes that have not been replenished, requiring a further wait. As previously stated dirty dishes are often left on your table for long periods and it is often the case who can catch the eye of a member of staff to clear them.

I do not believe that this hotel deserves a 5-star award because of the dining arrangements. I do not know whether all Pestana hotels have buffet-style arrangements for evening meal, but the last thing a guest wants is to be bobbing up and down following a day out. A 5-star hotel should ensure relaxation at meal times; this hotel does not meet that criteria

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommybrown53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and share your feedback about your recent holidays with us. Your sincere comment about the dinning arrangements, will certainly be part of some new improvements from our management. Unfortunaly, i'm only able to receive our guests on wednesdays at our madeiran buffet with a offer of the tradicional poncha but, i must say your comment is very valid and i will do all the efforts together with our management team and take the best measures to coorect this situation in the future.
I hope you had a nice and relaxing time with us beside this situation about the dinner.
I also hope this doesn´t stop you visiting us in the near future and we send you our best wishes to you and your family.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Situated on the most southerly point of Madeira this resort has to be one of the most attractive and beautifully kept places you will find. Enjoying a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Funchal over immaculately kept gardens, it is our favourite chioce of holiday destination. The accommodation is of a genuine 5 star quality and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LomondEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for ratting us at trip advisor and for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.
We will do our best to provide you the quality and service you are used to.
We hope you and your family are fine and we look forward to see you soon.
With our kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews