We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baia Azul(Funchal)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alto Lido(Funchal)
US$117
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,130)
Filter reviews
2,130 results
Traveller rating
1,388
566
137
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,388
566
137
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal canoasea viewlovely hotelcourtesy busindoor poolfree bus into funchalglass of madeira wineforum shopping centrehappy hourlocal restaurantsfive star hotelhotel restaurantstea and coffeerelaxing holidaypool towelssalt watertime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,142 - 1,147 of 2,130 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned home from our week at the Pestana Grand at Madeira.
I just wanted to let you know that the stay was perfect. The apartment was stunning. The Hotel was beautiful and the staff were excellent. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to help from the maid who cleaned the room to the Restaurant staff.
The staff are a credit to the organisation.
The grounds give a feeling of plenty of space. a good thing is that sunbeds cannot be reserved by placing a towel over it and going out for the day. there are plenty for everyone.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment as we are members of the vacation club so are unsure what the hotel rooms are like but would suggest a sea view if you can as the views are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrTeeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us.
We are more than happy to read that we have met your expectations overall at Pestana Grand.
Our aim is to provide a second home to all our guests, we are glad when we are pretty close to that. We hope to see you soon with us and send our kindest regards to you and your family.

Yours sincerely

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with lovely gardens in good location. Close to a variety of excellent restaurants and shopping mall. Staff very friendly and efficient. Overall a very relaxing holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for ratting us.
We are happy once again, to receive such a positive feedback from another guest of ours.
We sincerely hope you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back one day.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I am always a little tense when doing an exchange, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself, as shown in the pictures, is exactly what it looks like. It's very beautiful. I chose this one from the others because I thought it provided beach access. There really aren't any beaches on Madeira, at least not in Funchal. So the site itself is a little misleading. Had I known, I most likely would have picked one within walking distance of Funchal itself. You can walk but it's 30-35 minutes. Before arriving I had contacted the hotel to request ocean view as it was our 25th anniversary and I wanted to make it special. We had a large, 2 bathroom, one bedroom suite. Our room didn't have direct access. By that I mean it wasn't situated at the back of the hotel with direct view of the water. Our suite overlooked the parking lot, which didn't make me happy, but we did have a beautiful view of both the water and the city with mountains. They made an effort to change our room but had nothing for our first week and the second week only had a studio. However, after our first night and a good sleep, we decided to stay where we were. We were on the 5th floor and because the hotel guests are mainly senior citizens, noise was not an issue. Our suite really was nice. We never ate at the hotel. It was pricey. We did partake in happy hour every night, sometimes twice as they offered it between 6 and 7 and then again after 10. Our bartender, Ricardo, was fantastic and one of the reasons we went down every night. The maid comes everyday to change towels and make the bed. Pretty much that was it. We ran out of dish soap 2 days before we left and it was never refilled but we never asked her either. The front desk was hit or miss. So if you don't like the answer, try again with another person. We had to prebook a taxi back to the airport for a 7:15 flight. One told us to leave at 5:15, another at 6. 5:15 was wrong and I could tell by how she answered that she had no real clue so I asked again later with a different person. The bus service in to town is good but not late, so be prepared to cab if you want to eat dinner in town later. But a 15-20 walk will take you to great restaurants. I really can't say anything bad about the hotel. Yes it's farther down the line then most of the hotels but it's quieter. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WISHIWERERICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us.
We were happy to read that, you found the hotel and the facilities up to your expectations.
We would like to inform you that, on our website, does not mention that we have access to the sea so, we think you may have seen this in any other site.
We were glad that, despite the efforts from our colleagues to try to move you, you still enjoyed your room and stay with us. We will share your impressions with our bartender, which will be very happy to hear such nice and positives comments from you.
I can only apologise for the missunderstanding at the front desk with your departure/sugestion from the hotel.
All in all, we enjoyed having you with us, we are happy to know that you really had a nice time with us and hope to have the priviledge to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in Dezember and we liked it a lot. Our room was aesthetic, very clean and we felt like at home. The sea view was awesome! Breakfest was great, stuff very nice and the shuttle bus gives good acces to Funchal. There are plenty of shops nearby and some good restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schoenbrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us.
December is a special season in Madeira and, we were happy to know that, we were part of this nice holiday of yours. We shall share all yopur impressions with our members and look forward for a future visit.
With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
ltiConcierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for the week preceding the flower festival and was reluctant to leave! The hotel is spotlessly clean, masses of cupboard & drawer space in the bedrooms with plenty of hangers. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The staff are friendly, welcoming and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast selection is the best we have ever come across - from bacon and egg, fresh fruit, choice of breads, cheeses, meats etc etc. The selection is endless. The pool and spa areas are spacious (pool towels supplied) surrounded by the beautifully maintained manicured gardens. The hotel provides the guests with a regular complimentary coach service into town (and back) which is very useful. . It is an an excellent hotel in which to chill out and enjoy Madeira.

Room Tip: Has to be a sea view...... to see the sunrise .....and which overlooks the gardens
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us.
I can only reccomend you next time, to book 2 weeks instead of one.
We are proud of all your compliments about our facilities and staff, this is what drive us to be better and search each day for the best costumer service.
We hope to have the priviledge to see you again one day.
With kind regards from all of us.
Yours sincerely

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews