We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duas Torres(Funchal)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baia Azul(Funchal)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alto Lido(Funchal)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,101)
Filter reviews
2,101 results
Traveller rating
1,376
555
131
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,376
555
131
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal canoasea viewlovely hotelcourtesy busindoor poolfree bus into funchalglass of madeira wineforum shopping centrehappy hourlocal restaurantsfive star hotelhotel restaurantstea and coffeerelaxing holidaypool towelssalt watertime share
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,065 - 1,070 of 2,101 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Excellent hotel with great food. sea side location with sunrise view, friendly staff. Free bus service to Funchal centre. Not too far from airport. 2mins walk to nice restaurants and supermarket. Good for couples and families. They even gave us an expensive bottle of bubbly as a surprise gift for my birthday. Which I passed on to another guest as we do not drink.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us and leaving your feedback about your stay with us.
We were pleased to read that we corresponded to your expectations and you have had an enjoyable time with us.
With high hopes to welcome you in the future we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed with my wife at the good Pestana Grand on a last minute deal and this review is aimed for couples. Staff were friendly and efficient; location is picturesque on a craggy outcrop of São Martinho, about 3km from Central Funchal.

We liked:

The location (200m from Forum Madeira Shopping centre - has an excellent supermarket for lunches (takeaway sandwich €1.10) and fine local produce; room (comfortable, decent size, with decent enough fridge); the Spa, Gym and Massages (discount can be negotiated); plentiful and tasty choice at breakfast (managed to have a different breakfast every day of our week stay); half hourly courtesy bus to Funchal; 2-for-1 happy hour in the Coast Bar 6pm-7pm and 10pm-Midnight; free Wi-Fi in the communal part of the hotel which had consistently good speeds considering all the users.

Things we liked less so: Felt that a la carte evening meals in the restaurant were overpriced (IMHO) by about €15-€20 especially when comparing it to the local competition (3 course meal with wine for 2 in Morrocan Restaurant (although very nice) was €90 and expect to pay €28 pp (food only) for the buffet, if that's your preference). Would recommend staying B&B and eating out at Real Canoa and My Way restaurants which are 25m away and about €70 for a 3 course meal for two, with wine if you don't fancy heading into Funchal (we ate at both restaurants twice during our week stay). Would also say that gym could do with a fan (air con not the strongest) and whilst I realise that I might be about to annoy lots of the other reviewers, I would have liked the Spa to have had an adults only time slot, maybe just for an hour or two a day say from 10-11am and 6-7pm (remember only reviewing from a couple's point of view!!) as it could get quite crowded with children using it as an "indoor pool". Also sauna and steam room only open 10-11:30 and 16:30-20:00.

Would I recommend for couples? Yes.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mrhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked a weeks holiday through Atlantic holidays, originally on a bed and breakfast basis but when rang them direct they told us half board included. This is a lovely tranquil hotel set in beautiful well maintained grounds. There are two pools, both lovely even though a bit cool, one was allocated as a children's pool even though there was only a handful of children in the hotel. We could not fault this hotel, the food we found was delicious and a very good selection (definitely not like school dinners) there was always a good choice and there was never an occasion were we didn't like anything. From fresh fish to steaks and delicious cakes galore! The staff could not be anymore attentive and polite and on many occasions we had a laugh with them. The bedrooms were spacious and more than adequate for us and we had fresh towels every day. On the whole we had a very relaxing time, met some nice people and enjoyed the happy hour from 6 to 7 before our evening meal and again at 10pm. Nice relaxing entertainment. Madeira is a very hilly island and although hot the sun appears mostly in the morning and then late in the afternoon which suited me! Probably temperature did not rise above the high 70's.

Room Tip: We had room 1415 side sea view -perfect
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family and I have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Pestana Grand Hotel-booked via Jet2 Holidays. The hotel is in an area just outside of Funchal with a great view over the ocean and set in attractive gardens. We stayed in a suite which had two balconies and a marvellous view and was very quiet at night. It was well worth the small upgrade fee when booking and my two daughters had their own separate room in the suite. The bathroom was the largest we have ever had! The whole hotel is run to very high standards but is also relaxed for a 5 star hotel which makes for a more enjoyable holiday. All hotel staff were very helpful and apart from a few experiences of slow service at the bar, we found nothing to complain about. The food is buffet for breakfast and dinner and of very good quality. One thing that would have made our trip a little easier was more access to activities and excursion information in the hotel as Jet2 do not provide any rep or information except a brief leaflet on arrival. It can be difficult to explore the island easily without a car-there are buses but we found taxis and the courtesy bus to Funchal the best methods.
My daughters loved the swimming pools-the outside ones were warm enough as the weather was so hot and the indoor one was heated. There was a good Madeiran folk evening one night and other musicians on other evenings which were enjoyable. There were enough other children for my daughters to play with and the hotel seemed suitable for all ages. So I would not hesitate in booking this hotel-it is in a excellent position and has very high standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

great hotel..good location..shuttle to town. We had 2 large connecting rooms, spottlessly clean, madeira wine and cake in each room on arrival. Pools are great..i love the fact they are saltwater...feels much cleaner. Pretty gardens and pool area. Breakfast is great with loads of choice, we were b+b so ate out every night which we prefer. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kate3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us once again.
In small sentences you described almost all services at the Grand and, we are very happy to read that you were pleased with them.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews