We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with excellent outdoor area”
Review of The Horns

The Horns
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Wargrave
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Country pub & dining in the beautiful surroundings of Crazies Hill, Berkshire.
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We love visiting this pub. Current owners have created a very friendly and relaxing environment Food and beer is very good and our 6 year old daughter enjoys playing in the garden.....well worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Dropped in for lunch and I'm glad we did, baguette lovely and fresh with delicious fillings served with salad garnish and the best fries I've tasted in ages, lovely relaxed atmosphere and super friendly service, and excellent value too.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This bank holiday was special because not only did we have the weather we had Horns Fest. A well organised festival of Beer which came also with great food and top class entertainment. Our hosts made everyone feel welcome in a way that we were like extended family. As we worked our way through some tasty beers and fantastic Burgers the atmosphere was always one of inclusion meaning that of the hundreds passing through during the two days everyone left knowing they had ,had a most pleasant trip to an excellent venue. Thanks to our hosts Sandra and Adam and your staff.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rockie8114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The Horns was the pub with always a good Sunday lunch but based on our experience today the standards have seriously slipped, although the prices have not.

Vegetables bland with rock hard overdone roast potatoes and average meat, the pub was quiet for a Bank holiday Sunday so maybe people are voting with their feet.
The prices have always been higher here for both beer and food, a pint is now £4+ But if the food is good we don't mind paying their prices.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank inclineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at The Horns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Sorry to read you were dissatisfied with your recent Sunday lunch, I can reassure you our chefs haven't changed. We have recently changed the potatoes we use for roasting potatoes and reading from your comment some tweaks may be required on our new choice. Had we'd know this at the time we would of been more than happy to rectify the situation for you and ensured you left The Horns as happy customers. Unfortunately the day of your visit was the start of our beer festival which does cause Sunday lunch to be much quieter than normal. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

A few months ago we decided to have our wedding reception at The Horns. This was the best decision we ever made (apart from getting married of course). Sandra and her team made the day so special for us, nothing was too much trouble and the food was delicious. The advice Sandra gave us running up to the big day was invaluable, and she so many great ideas. The Horn's gave us our perfect wedding day, a relaxed and personal experience which was just what we hoped for.

We would strongly recommend looking at The Horns as a venue for any celebration (big or small) as they made it such a great occasion. We would also recommend popping in for lunch, dinner or just a drink as its a wonderful place with excellent food.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Conway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Owner at The Horns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words. It was a great honour for The Horns to host your wedding reception, we take great pride ensuring every detail is to your personal preference. Hope to see you both for many more celebrations to come in the future, lovely to see you both at our Hornsfest beer festival over the bank holiday weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horns also viewed

Wargrave, Berkshire
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Horns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing