We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week at The Bahia Principe El Portillo Samana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Once again a fabulous week at this hotel, amazing staff, especially Felix in the dining Room, also Maraya, and to be honest, you will not find a better staff anywhere in the Caribbean. We have been to most of the Islands, and quite a few Bahia's, in particular, but this particular hotel, is definitely the best for friendly obliging staff. Rooms are excellent, beach fabulous with beautiful warm water, where the lots of tropical fish can be found , no snorkelling trips required here. I unfortunately had a medical issue, nothing to do with the hotel, and the prompt service from Dr. Vanessa was amazing, she called me a few times just to see how I was doing. Thank you so much for your concern. If you fly into Samana airport it is only a 40 minute drive to the hotel, you will not be disappointed. Will see you all again next year. Feliz Navidad.....

Room Tip: The Royal Golden rooms are the closest to the beach, however it is not a large hotel, so a five minu...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosemary400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We would like to think we are not a smaller hotel, we are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,053)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 6,053 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great food, spotless hotel beach and grounds very friendly and helpful staff especially Manuel in the disco bar. Entertainment not great but was ok. Only complaint was Thomas Cook rep was a bit lazy, when I went to ask something first reply was always "ask the reception" when he was sitting in the reception.

Room Tip: Don't waste money paying for suites very little difference
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenglish1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really blissful with the product of our effort to do everything to make your wedding dream reality. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second visit to the GBP El Portillo and it seemed even better than the first time. The place is impeccably clean everywhere. The service is excellent. The buffet has a large selection to chose from at every meal. The beach is beautiful. There are numerous palm trees on the beach so you don't even need a palapa if you want shade. The rooms are large and confortable and everything is close by. Our only disappointment was that the ocean did not have the beautiful turquoise colour that we expect in the Carribean but was rather Brown. But this has nothing to do with the hotel. If you like peace and quiet, this is a very good place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmonyandserenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach we hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from Grand Bahia El Portillo. The front desk is beyond horrible,. They are rude and not helpful at all!! Upon arriving at 4pm our rooms were not available. We reserved 3 standards....Finally at 5:30pm our rooms were ready after being rude back to the gentleman at the front desk! They treat you like you are a bother by being there . Once our rooms were ready, we were challenged with dead cockaroaches and filth! When we complained they laughed at us at the front desk and refused to get the manager for us. We were even ready to upgrade to Jr. suites and pay the difference, they said none available. Meanwhile at that time, the resort was empty!
After much screaming and pounding on desk, at 130 in the morning, were we heard!!! One room was inspected and the person himself could not believe the dirt or the bloody sheets left on the bed by the maid upon our arrival!!! Disgusting........
They found one Jr suite by then.....so one couple moved. They then offered us to move to their sister hotel which is 2.5 hours away. Then we heard from a concierge that was because El Portillo overbooked and the sister hotel was doing poorly!!
We went forward and made the best of our vacation. Beach is beautiful, however, the vendors were annoying.
I would probably go back but NOT to a standard room......Good luck to the front desk people, you should be happy to have a job and tourists that visit and learn to treat them with respect!!

Room Tip: Never go to ground floor rooms!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comment and value your opinion for the overall betterment of our hospitality.

We are sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services. Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future as I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality and promptness of our services.

For any enquiry please contact us.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at this place when it was under the name El Portillo Beach resort. At that time it was known only by the local people and the place was great to relax and away from everything. On those days they had no phone on the room and TV only in the reception area. You will never see people from the USA and mostly were Europeans with a stay of average 4 to 5 weeks. I could stay only 2 weeks the most and it was fantastic. I enjoyed the resort very much and we always booked the Cabana. My wife loved the place so much and she told me: if you take there again, I quit my job. I did and she really quit her job. She said that it would take her 6 weeks to go back to normal life after staying 2 there. I have not being since they changed but the place was fantastic. I am sure that you can not experience what my wife and I did when it was under El Portillo Beach resort. I can write 10 pages about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk department and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here at the beginning of October for 2weeks.
We are in our 20's and this hotel was perfect.

For the price we paid I was extremely happy with what we got for it.
we stayed in the junior suit which was very nice, big and bathroom was gorgeous.

The people there couldn't of been more helpful and brilliant customer service, they take there work seriously and do a brilliant job with everything they do.
The entertainment team were very funny and friendly especially Carlos ( david rodriguez ventura) some shows were a little boring but other shows made up for it, the circus show and Michael Jackson show was amazing out of the world.
also the Italian restaurant manager which I forgot his name :\ was very very helpful and a lovely man.

The food option was amazing especially me being a vegetarian, I have been to the Caribbean before and struggled with the food but this hotel was amazing for options and so clean.
also THE DESERTS ARE AMAZING !!!!!!!!!!

We also visited the main spa at the end of the resort which was lovely, a little pricey but completely worth the price. with purchase of treatment you get to use the spa facilities/ water showers/hot bath/sun loungers.

The beach was beautiful, could get a little crowded sometimes but was a beautiful view, also if you have a walk on the left side there is more beautiful scenery for photos. apparently the right side of the beach to walk down isn't most safe) so wouldn't recommend.

MY ONLY PROBLEM with the whole holiday is the locals what try to sell you things everyday at the beach at the resort,I understand they have to make a living and it isn't a private beach but every 5minutes every day gets rather frustrating during your holiday while your trying to relax and sleep.


LITTLE TIPS
-bring dollars ( we only got pesos when we got there but dollars as easier to use )
-go on the catering trip amazing !
& upgrade to junior suit CLUB was lovely and you get 10 or 20% off your spa treatments when being in the junior suit category ( different colour band).
- have some dollars ready for safe which you can pay when you get there.

Room Tip: junior suit club brilliant
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lornapx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The resort is absolutely gorgeous.. However! You do get harassed on the beach by the locals, and you have people in the reception area that like to try and convince you to buy things like local lottery tickets etc. I was approached by one guy who claimed he worked for the hotel, he offered me everything from excursions to drugs. Bring plenty of toiletries because the gift shop prices are stupidly high! The staff on the whole are amazing! Pleasant and will do anything to meet your needs, had. A very lovely time

Room Tip: If you can get one, get a junior superior suite.. Amazing
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakeyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at our Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We apologize for the inconvenience with the club privilege your comments have been tried with the up most diligence and have been referred to the General Hotel Manager as well as the Club Privilege Manager to take the appropriate measures in your case. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for everyday to improve the quality of our service which we provide.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
563 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 54 in Samana Province
3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
17.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
879 reviews
5.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £89 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing