We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alisei(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atlantis(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort Costa Las Ballenas(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punta Bonita Beach Resort(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casas del Mar Neptunia(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences(Las Terrenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Albachiara(Las Terrenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,537)
Filter reviews
6,537 results
Traveller rating
3,583
2,140
548
160
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,583
2,140
548
160
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitelobby barfisha la carte restaurantsquiet poolprivilege clubmain buffetgourmet restaurantmain poollots of varietygrand bahiadifferent themeair transatcoral reefride from the airportanimation teamother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
1,821 - 1,826 of 6,537 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The moment I got to the resort, there was music playing and people welcoming us. The service was great everyone is very friendly, and helpful . The food was delicious, there was a large selection of food to choose from, and I especially enjoyed the snack bar by the beach. The beach was beautiful, clean water and lots of palm trees for shade. The rooms were very comfortable and big. I plan on coming back again with friends and family sometime soon !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Once again a fabulous week at this hotel, amazing staff, especially Felix in the dining Room, also Maraya, and to be honest, you will not find a better staff anywhere in the Caribbean. We have been to most of the Islands, and quite a few Bahia's, in particular, but this particular hotel, is definitely the best for friendly obliging staff. Rooms are excellent, beach fabulous with beautiful warm water, where the lots of tropical fish can be found , no snorkelling trips required here. I unfortunately had a medical issue, nothing to do with the hotel, and the prompt service from Dr. Vanessa was amazing, she called me a few times just to see how I was doing. Thank you so much for your concern. If you fly into Samana airport it is only a 40 minute drive to the hotel, you will not be disappointed. Will see you all again next year. Feliz Navidad.....

Room Tip: The Royal Golden rooms are the closest to the beach, however it is not a large hotel, so a five minute walk is all it takes, to go anywhere in the hotel...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosemary400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We would like to think we are not a smaller hotel, we are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great food, spotless hotel beach and grounds very friendly and helpful staff especially Manuel in the disco bar. Entertainment not great but was ok. Only complaint was Thomas Cook rep was a bit lazy, when I went to ask something first reply was always "ask the reception" when he was sitting in the reception.

Room Tip: Don't waste money paying for suites very little difference
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenglish1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really blissful with the product of our effort to do everything to make your wedding dream reality. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second visit to the GBP El Portillo and it seemed even better than the first time. The place is impeccably clean everywhere. The service is excellent. The buffet has a large selection to chose from at every meal. The beach is beautiful. There are numerous palm trees on the beach so you don't even need a palapa if you want shade. The rooms are large and confortable and everything is close by. Our only disappointment was that the ocean did not have the beautiful turquoise colour that we expect in the Carribean but was rather Brown. But this has nothing to do with the hotel. If you like peace and quiet, this is a very good place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmonyandserenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach we hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from Grand Bahia El Portillo. The front desk is beyond horrible,. They are rude and not helpful at all!! Upon arriving at 4pm our rooms were not available. We reserved 3 standards....Finally at 5:30pm our rooms were ready after being rude back to the gentleman at the front desk! They treat you like you are a bother by being there . Once our rooms were ready, we were challenged with dead cockaroaches and filth! When we complained they laughed at us at the front desk and refused to get the manager for us. We were even ready to upgrade to Jr. suites and pay the difference, they said none available. Meanwhile at that time, the resort was empty!
After much screaming and pounding on desk, at 130 in the morning, were we heard!!! One room was inspected and the person himself could not believe the dirt or the bloody sheets left on the bed by the maid upon our arrival!!! Disgusting........
They found one Jr suite by then.....so one couple moved. They then offered us to move to their sister hotel which is 2.5 hours away. Then we heard from a concierge that was because El Portillo overbooked and the sister hotel was doing poorly!!
We went forward and made the best of our vacation. Beach is beautiful, however, the vendors were annoying.
I would probably go back but NOT to a standard room......Good luck to the front desk people, you should be happy to have a job and tourists that visit and learn to treat them with respect!!

Room Tip: Never go to ground floor rooms!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comment and value your opinion for the overall betterment of our hospitality.

We are sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services. Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future as I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality and promptness of our services.

For any enquiry please contact us.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews