We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so much more than we ever expected!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When we first booked this resort, it was because we were travelling with friends that were going here. The pictures on line looked ok, but we had been to some pretty nice places before so they didn't look spectacular. All I have to say is the pictures on line do not do this beautiful resort any justice. The resort is far more modern and does it while keeping the Donincan feeling in the design. The gardens are very lush and plentyfull. The buildings are spead out but nothing is really too long of a walk. We were very close to everything in Building 5. The pool, beach, buffets, and lobby are all within 20-30 steps of each other.

Hi-lites of our favorite things

Beach-Very clean! Never had an issue getting a chair under some shade. There is a lot of Coral, but is in patches. So there some of the most amazing snorkelling we have ever experienced!! In between the coral patches the ocean floor is very smooth and sandy, with plenty of room to swim around. This was great for our 7 yr old daughter. It keep her very entertained. Bring snorkel gear and maybe water shoes for the kids if they plan on exploring around the Coral as it can scratch.
There are vendors on the beach, but they dont bother you. If tou say no they just move on and they don't repeatedly bug. You can get a 1hr massage on the beach for $20 and it was well worth it!!

Pool - the main pool is quite large and never seemed crowded. There is a second pool at the top end of the resort and it was cometely empty!! Lots of chairs, but a bit harder to find shade unless you get there first thing.

Rooms- very spacious. The bathrooms are very modern. The decor is traditional to that area. Beds were a bit hard for our liking.

A la cartes - all very good

Buffetts - I am a very picky eater!!! I had no issues at all finding food that I loved. I have never been to a resort that i have eatef so well. No one in our family got sick at all while we were there.

Lobby - Big and nicely decorated. Wi-fi is free for one hour a day in the lobby. The furniture is grouped in conversation set ups and is very cozy feeling. The bar located just off the lobby served premium drinks and had a pool table and fooze ball table for the kids.

Gardens - Very lush!! Lots to look at. There a a feature pond that has some turtles in it. The Kids really enjoyed checking them out when we walked by.

Enertainment- The Circus show was amazing!!! The Beach Party was so much fun! The Annimation team was incredible!! Adrianna and Ruddy as well as the others were fantastic with the kids!!

Little Scouts - they were always around to see if the kids wanted to join in the activity of the hour or you could bring the kids to the club house for a break. There was entertainment every night for the kids if you wanted. They had movies playing, a variety show and a mini beach party for them.

Water Slide Park - again there are no good picture on line to show this feature! We were pleasently surprised by this little park. Are first thoughs were this was for little kids age 1-5. However our 7-9 yr old children played there for 4 hrs one day. There is a bar right there and plenty of chairs with shade huts available. Because it is further away for the main pool and the beach, there was no one else there but us. So we had a blast!

Service-Carlos and Kiera were amazing and helped us get settled. Everytime we saw them they asked how things were and if there was anything we needed to let them know.

Excursions - we went with a local Jonathan (vendor #40 also sells jewelry) we were introduced to by another guest. We did Walk the Plank ziplining and Bacardi Beach with him. He was terrific!! He picked us up in an airconditioned van as promised and took us to the GOOD zip lines for an amazing price. The travel agents people who try to get tou to book through them were going to charge $110 for zip lining and $95 for bacardi island. We got both for $120 per person and $60 per child. I promise you this was the Good zipline. 12 lines 13 tables they do the breaking for you!

All in all, we will go back for sure!! I would recommend this place for sure!

I hope your experience will be as great as ours!

Thank you to Bahia Principe El Portillo! You have really out done yourself! Keep up the amazing work.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sklimtschuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Custmer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Yours respectfully,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,518 - 1,524 of 6,355 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

First off, I never usually write reviews, but I had to mention that this resort is absolutely wonderful. It was my husbands and I first trip down south and we picked this place solemnly on comments and photos. I was looking for a clean beautiful place to go to and we nailed it on the head!
The beach is breathtaking, the food at the buffet and restaurants were delicious, the rooms were clean and had everything we needed in them. ( safe, fridge, coffee maker, fresh towels, but no face cloths! so bring your own!) I am a light sleeper so I was nervous of not getting any rest but we were in a quiet building, building 21, and with the air conditioner going, it blocked out a lot of noise. You would also have to be a very picky eater if you couldn't find anything to eat there.
I have nothing but great comments about the entire place, the workers work very hard at trying to make your stay memorable. Brush up on your spanish, they do not speak much english.
We definitely be back to this resort! I want to thank them profusely for their kindness.
:)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank butterflytrish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

At the Grand Bahia Principe Resort we take pride in offering our guests excellent accommodations. Your review is motivating as it reflects that we continuously exceed our guest’s high expectations.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Greetings from El Portillo.

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Travelled April 5th to the 15th. This resort bends over backwards for you and takes care of your requests right away. Travelled with my wife and 7 year old daughter and another couple and we all had a blast,from the snorkling right out fronto of resort to the great food and drink and the amazing beach and pools and kids club. We met alot of great people from all over the world and had a great time with all of them. All the servers from bartenders waiters etc were awesome from Adrian at the seafood restaraunt and santos from french were all good.

I must say this vacation was forsure one of my best.

Room Tip: as long as rooms are clean doesnt really matter as your never in them anyway out the door at 700am a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoogy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very quiet place, excellent to be with children, excellent service and beach!! By the second day even the staff knows you by the name, very familliar! Great places to visit near by, like "el limon" waterfalls etc.. the beach is very calm, no motor boats making noise all day, very relaxing, and the sunset... wow!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jorge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Jorge,

It is a great pleasure to read your wonderful review, for which the entire team at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo would like to thank you. Guests sharing with us and our TripAdvisor community their experiences in our hotel helps us to stay focused on what we do best, while working harder on our strengths to ultimately exceed expectations.

We have passed on your compliments onto our various departments for the staff to keep up with their hard-working in the pursuit of satisfying each and every one of our guests. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the setting here where one can find both relaxation and entertainment.

It would be an immense pleasure to welcome you back for an even more relaxing and fun stay with us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Yours respectfully,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We just returned from GBP El Portillo. This was our third vacation at a Grand Bahia resort and our second vacation at a GBP resort in Samana. The beach is beautiful for walking and there were always loungers available. We did find that we had to be on the beach by 6:00 in order to have a cabana. It was amazing to be able to see tropical fish while standing in water 10 feet from shore. The resort is very nice and kept very clean. The food selection and quality is quite good. We went to all of the a la cartes but our favourites were the gourmet and Italian. The staff at this resort are wonderful. They make you feel very welcome and provide excellent service. We would definitely return and recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: All rooms have easy access to the beach, pool and main lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekersnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We just returned from the GBP (Apr 24-May 1, 2014). Checking in was expedited as we received our packages at the airport including bracelets. Make sure if you are a returning Bahia customer you let them know. No sooner had arrived at our room when the phone rang. The front desk were checking to see if there was anything we needed and if the room was ok. The beach is excellent and they take great care in ensuring that any sea grass is raked up several times as day. The sea grass is very minimal to begin with. There is a lot of coral which provides for excellent snorkelling. Even without snorkel equipment fish are still very visible. You can walk the beach but will have to check out with the security who will also check you back in when you return. The walk is lovely and there is always a nice breeze at the beach. We chose to have lunch at the beach snack bar instead of the buffet (we don't like missing our beach time!). While the selection was basically the same each day there was always plenty. The buffet at night provided an excellent selection of food and the pasta bar was a favorite. You have the choice of sitting inside or outside. We often chose outside and there is a barbeque each night as part of the buffet. Make sure you try the crepe bar! We tried the Gourmet and Italian as our restaurants and both were superb. Wine in the restaurants is very good and your glass is constantly refilled. The only thing we would prefer is for a better drink selection. Aside from beer the frozen drinks were from the slushy machines and usually melted before they made it into the glass. The lobby bar does have frozen daiquiris. Bartenders only know how to make a very limited number of drinks. Our room was always cleaned and fridge stocked daily. We purchased internet for our room and were shocked that we were able to receive reception on the beach. The grounds are very well kept. The staff at this resort are fantastic. We travel a lot (usually two or more trips a year) and would rate the staff five out of five. Management as well are very visible and interact well with the visitors. On the day of our departure the staff did a great farewell song which everyone enjoyed. The hotel manager even joined the group to sing and dance. Thanks for an excellent seven days and we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We were in building #19. This was a quick walk to the lobby, pool, beach and restaurants. Great area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miller2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay in our hotel Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. Your kind and sincere words make us very proud of our achievements, and are truly motivating for our relentless pursuit in exceeding our guests’ expectations.

As much as the importance that we give to our customer service and hospitality, we do our best to preserve the environment in optimal conditions. In the same manner, we have great respect for the nature in which we are fortunate to be located. Following your descriptions, I can assure furthermore that our hotel is eco-friendly. After all, our sandy beach undergoes annually a strict criterion from the internationally known The Blue Flag Programme, and the organization has just recently awarded our hotel with its third consecutive eco-labeled certification.

We have taken note of your final suggestions which are much appreciated and we hope that in a near future you may witness in person the improvements, through a wishful return amongst us as we would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Kindest regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We just returned from GBP El Portillo and loved this resort. We flew Air Canada and had a few luggage damage issues on both flights. The bus ride to the resort from the airport was very scenic. The Samana area is very lush with millions of palm trees. We arrived at the resort midday. Check in was quick. Our room was in block 23 which was close to the Italian a la carte and Puablo Principle for evening entertainment. The room was spacious however the bathroom in our standard room was small. There are no face clothes so if you must have one, bring one. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The maid did a good job of keeping the room clean. The fridge was restocked as needed.

The grounds were very well maintained by the hard working gardeners and grounds keepers. There was an abundance of trees and shrubs throughout the resort and near the beach. The shady areas close to the beach seemed to deter the need to play the towel game early in the morning. There were lots of lounge chairs. The main lobby, buffet, a la cartes and pool were located near the beach. The light beige sandy beach was very nice. It was great for long strolls. There was a great combination of clear sandy areas for excellent swimming and coral reef close to the shore for snorkeling. The variety of fish was impressive for so close to shore.

There was a good balance of organized activities and quiet time. The animation team was very friendly and made us feel at ease. Nadiuska was fantastic! The staff in general were friendly and helpful. The bartenders were entertaining, especially Euclides at the beach bar. . The pool near the beach was very warm and busier than the quiet pool.

The food was a definite strength of this resort with lots of variety and taste. The buffet was great! The Italian a la carte was our favorite. The Gourmet a la carte was excellent for variety, quality and presentation of food. The staff were very helpful and assisted two of our group members with allergies. They asked again and again if everything was OK with our meal.

We did the horseback excursion to El Limon Falls and the boat trip to Los Haitos Park which were both excellent experiences.

We had issues at the airport when were checking in to go home. There was total lack of consistency. The girl on the desk told us no liquids or gels at all and made us put our small containers in the proper zip bag in our checked baggage. She also told us we couldn't have any food in carry-ons. Some of our group have allergies and were not able to find suitable foods for purchase on the plane so had food in their bags which she made them put in checked baggage. Once we put all food and liquids in our baggage and proceeded to customs, we saw a sign that indicated liquids and gels less than 100mls in a clear bag are allowed. Some folks also took food through and were ok, even some that were randomly searched by agents.

We were a group of 10 ranging in age from 21-55. Everyone had a good time and we will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NovaScotiaSeaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment about your stay at the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo.
You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really blissful with the product of our effort.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regard

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
574 reviews
4.8 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#5 of 54 in Samana Province
4,111 reviews
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
17.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £101 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing