We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time's a charm? Everytime is a charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fourth time's a charm? Everytime is a charm!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As you can probably tell from the title of this review, this is the fourth time that I go to Grand Bahia Principe el Portillo and just like that first time, I only have great things to say.

First off, because I have been there 4 times, I have obviously made friends with the employees at El Portillo. Yearly, I advise them the week that I will be there to ensure I get the room (villa) that I always stay in. This time around, my usual Villa was not available due to construction (Carlos Rosario, the hotel manager, advised me of this before arriving to the hotel). I was a little dissapointed knowing that I was not going to be staying in the villa that I liked so much, however, Carlos Rosario definitely made up for it, the room I stayed in was bigger and better than the one I am used to. In the room they welcomed us with a fruit platter along with t-shirts and bottle of rum (which is very nice on their part).

It's so great to return to El Portillo, the employees remember their guests and they welcome you with arms wide open. It really feels like home away from home!

The staff is great. The reception staff, the animation staff, the buffet staff, the bar staff, etc. they are all great. They make sure you feel at home and if you have any problem, they definitely go out of their way to help you. I had some issues with the AC the first night I arrived and within the hour it was fixed and it worked great.

The food is very good. I am a very picky eater, and if I am able to fill up my plate and enjoy my food, anybody can.

All in all this hotel is a great place to stay at. It is more of a family place and not a party place. If you need a week (or 2) of relaxation, Portillo is the place to go. I'd like to give a special thank you to everyone who works at Portillo for making our fourth stay a great one. A very special thank you to: Carols Rosario (Boss), Johnny, Daniel, Angelo, Eli and Marco in animation, Nidia at the bar (our mommy away from home who knew exactly how I like my coffee) and Pedro at reception. See you all next year! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk department and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Yours respectfully,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,288
    1,967
    494
    142
    93
See reviews for
1,870
2,809
84
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

my favorite hotel i have stayed in and so cheap for what you get! I went here last summer and have just come back from a hotel in egypt. i paid 890 to come to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and paid 1100 to go to Baron Resort in Egypt. Grand Bahia was so much better, the beach is AMAZING you cant find a better one, the food is GREAT and the rooms are an excellent size and very comfy! I recommend everyone to go here so amazing and cheap

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katewalker575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.
.

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a great time at this resort. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and attentive. The beach was amazing, pristine, and not at all crowded (since there are no other resorts around)! The coral is close to the shore and makes for great snorkelling, no need to book an excursion. Food was good, no complaints. Even though we were a large group of 20+ people, the staff was very accommodating when we were making reservations at the a la carte restaurants.

The only negative about this resort is the entertainment/shows available, but other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are located farther from the beach, if you don't mind the (short) walk it's def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLOCK04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just stayed at El Portillo in mid July for 5 days with my family. It was 7 of us in total and had a really great time. The hotel is very nice and the staff is superb. Everything was as promised and some areas exceeded our expectations like the food, despite it being at the main buffet area - you can get anything you want and it is all good. The staff is really friendly and try to help in every way possible.

Con: The one big downside was the room key and the cards, They did not work well and had to get the re-issued several times. And one night the lock system actually was broken and we waited outside of our room for over 1 hour to get it repaired after walking back to the front desk 4 times to get the key re-issued. This caused us to miss our dinner plans with our family so while it got fixed it did mess our plans somewhat. I heard other while in the front desk having problems with this so obviously it is a problem with the hotel and they need to fix and not inconvenience their guest.

Otherwise, great time, great food, good entertainment and a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Some of the buildings are close to the disco so it could get loud if you are close that that area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vcast169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!

We are really happy that you have enjoy your holiday in El Portillo and at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs.

We apologize for the inconvenient that you had, we are working currently to make it better.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana


Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I am going to buck a trend and write a review whilst still on resort!
This is the first time to resort for my daughter and my self and it is fantastic!
Having been to a few islands myself this is the best beach I have been to and the fish on the coral are amazing whilst the water is shallow and my daughter felt very safe.... And I was relaxed as a parent knowing she was having fun and safe!
The staff really go out of their way to help even when it's busy in the buffet, they are always smiling and trying their best.
Special praise to Elias the omelette chef, he is the king of omelettes and a really nice guy!
A great place and brilliant holiday.....right off to enjoy last few days!
To sum up great value for money, brilliant family resort (even though water park is in a strange location) best kept secret in Dominican Republic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coxy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

this was our 4th time coming to this resort and i would come back again next year, it was amazing as always, Carlos Rosario and the rest of the staff at reception were very helpful with everything. Daniel and the animation team were very entertaining, and i cant wait to go back for a 5th time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side a re quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sabrina,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk department and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Yours respectfully,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked this hotel primarily because of the great reviews it has. We were expecting the best of the best, but that was very far from what we got.

Let me start with the positive, food was OK, not great but just fine. Service was also OK, but I cant say it was bad either. Premises were always kept clean (except the one time we saw a cockroach in the italian restaurant, needless to say, we stuck to the buffet after that). Scenery was beautiful. Pools and beach were very nice, lots of shade in the beach and always plenty of lounge chairs. Kid's water park was one of my fav things about the resort. Drinks were also good.

OK, now for the fun part, and I am being brief only because it was way too much to write it all down. Biggest negative for me was the unbearable HEAT, everywhere you went, there's no AC in the lobby, no AC in the buffet, no AC in the restrooms (imagine eating a plate of hot pasta and having to go to the restroom in the middle of your meal because your 5 year old has to go number 2 and you have to walk into a fricking sauna, sweating your butt off as you hold your 5 year old so that HER butt doesnt touch the toilet) if you are sensing a bit of anger is because its already been a month since we came back and I still havent gotten over it. The entertainment sucked, you have to walk a mile to get there first of all, and when you do, you sit in plastic chairs outside and watch whatever lame show they are doing that night while being eaten alive by mosquitoes. LIGHTING was horrible, lobby at night was super dark and the rooms are worse, thanksfully we traveled with my in laws and had connecting rooms and they shared one of their floor lamps with us. We only did was tour and it was Los Haitises and Cayo Levantado, to make a long story short, they sold us a CD with all the pictures that they had taken during the tour and when we got here that we put it in the computer it was empty, the catamaran ran out of gas in the middle of the ocean at 1:00pm and we were stranded there for more than one hr waiting for the "rescue", if you've seen the movie Captain Phillips, thats exactly what the boat that came to rescue us looked like, bottom line, horrible.

This place is not tourist ready yet, they are working on it, but just not there yet. You can book a much nicer hotel in Cancun for the same price and you will get a lot more for your money. Needless to say, we will not be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yailen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them

Sorry for the inconveniences that you have experienced; your disappointment is ours to rectify, and to ensure that our guests do not leave with letdown feelings but rather those of satisfaction. As our goals are to fulfill those and meet our guests’ expectations, to turn the negative into the positive with finding solutions to our problems, we wish to welcome you back at our best and effective treatment.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, hoteles todo incluído para sus vacaciones en República Dominicana.

Best wishes,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
452 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 34 in Las Terrenas
560 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 53 in Samana Province
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
17.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 53 in Samana Province
864 reviews
5.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 34 in Las Terrenas
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Property: Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing