We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“travel guru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
202 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“travel guru”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a very nice all inclusive resort, the beach is incredible with palapas and nice chairs, perfect sand, reef protected so no waves, great snorkeling and you can walk for miles either side on the beach, the rooms are ok, beds ok linen ok, similar to palace resorts in Mexico, its not total luxury but I would match with a hilton type hotel. Specialy restaurants are ok and have good meal selections, the buffets are well appointed and of decent quality, the fruit beverages are a bit sweet but ok. Plenty to eat and great fruits. The poolmis clean and of decent size, the tenis court needs repaired and of poor quality, the beach activities are ok but cost extra, wifi is additional cost. Reception is very nice amd staff multi lingual and offer good service. Not thatngood of resort design as rooms are a bit spread from beach, so walking everywhere. You are a god 10 kins from anything here by car and no cabs around other than motorbikes so you are stuck at resort unless younhave a car. Clean and friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank DIDIERGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo a wonderful hotel and that the assigned rooms were suitable for you and your family.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is specially valuable for us, as you can give us feed back along the time.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,147
    1,880
    475
    137
    92
See reviews for
1,762
2,708
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We travelled from the UK, a family of 4 with a 10 and 16 yr old. Cannot fault anything about our stay. Perfect location. The beach is breathtaking - white sand, clear blue calm shallow water. The children made lots of friends and they all hung out together all day/night and we felt relaxed leaving them to it as the resort is very safe and they were fine being left to it.

I emailed in advance before our arrival to ask the hotel to give 2 rooms next door to each other and to inform them we would be celebrating our anniversary in the second week. On arrival we were given gold bands and room upgrades. The rooms were spacious and had whirlpool bath and a separate shower, iron and board, and room service. The beds were huge and comfortable. The resort is spotlessly clean and the gardens are well looked after.

Food here is fantastic in both the buffet, snack bar and in all 3 gourmet restaurants, especially the Italian. We loved it.

The staff are all so welcoming and cannot do enough to help you. Special thanks to Eddy in the buffet restaurant, what a lovely guy! In fact, all the staff work so hard, the maids especially. Many thanks to the Gran Bahia Principe for such an enjoyable stay.

The only downside is the long trip from the airport but you soon forget that when you arrive at the hotel, it really is worth it!

I'd like to mention the lovely beach dogs that loved to walk with us along the beach. They are so friendly and appreciate some water and a little to eat! Don't be frightened of them, they are gorgeous. My daughter was smitten!

Overall, an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank funkyfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and write this comment about our hotel!

We really appreciate your nice comments regarding our hotel, rooms and services and even more the ones regarding our staff! they will be so happy to hear the nice words that you have for her!

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This resort was by far the best I have ever stayed at. The service, food, drinks, price and most importantly the animation team were superb. I am and will continue to recommend to friends and family. This vacation was more than worth the price. Thank you to the animation team for mAking is feel like family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phillipsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about of our facilities and our beautiful beach. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at El Portillo for just one week last October as a last minute decision to go away with a week's leave we had. Reviews were positive and prices looked quite good. We were so pleased we chose this resort - we had an excellent stay.

The beach at this resort is beautiful. At this time of year the resort was quite quiet and in the evenings in particular the beach is pretty much deserted and very peaceful. The sunsets are worth watching! Sand is soft and clean and the water very clear - fabulous snorkelling here, we spent hours underwater. The usul watersports are available as part of the all-inclusive package. There is a beach restaurant (informal buffet style) and a drinks bar where you can help yourself or be served by staff. Plenty of loungers and sun parasols were available.

The resort is also lovely - this is very clean and has been kept up-to-date with fresh, modern looking minimal decor. The main pool (nearest beach/lobby) is refreshing and has some shade and plenty of loungers. There is a pool-side bar and showers. Rooms are somewhat basic but clean and comfortable. Fridge and safe in all rooms and effective aircon units.

There are daily zumba and aqua-fit classes and volleyball games if you're looking to stay active. Evening entertainment shows are hilarious - the staff do not take themselves seriously and laugh along with guests.

Food at the buffet is delicious - served hot and fresh with lots of variety. Plenty of tables available, the buffet is airconditioned and staff seating/serving guests are efficient. Could have happily eaten here for months, we felt spoiled for choice. (We did not try any of the other restaurants as we were there for so short a time.) Similarly the drinks being served were cold and refreshing - soft drinks were fizzy (when supposed to be!) and cocktails were tasty (some resorts seem to water down alcohol to save on costs).

Staff at this resort are friendly, helpful and approachable. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble and if they did not know the answer to something they found out for us.

We did not have a bad word to say about this resort and were sorry not to be staying longer. Would definitely return and have earmarked Bahia Principe as a possibility for future trips to other countries (as they are a chain).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the buildings near to the lobby as this is closest to the beach, buffet/res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ginster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk department and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Yours respectfully,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

They have nice souveneir shops that can be seen right after entering the main gate of the resort. A good ambiance. Nice and clean rooms with enough supplies daily.With wide and clean washrooms in eavh room of the hotel that has a standing shower and bath tub. The staffs are very friendly and fun to be with. They have a lot of activities in the swimming area and has different shows everynight. The food was good and organized into sections. The buffet have themes everyday. Either its italian, dominican, oriental and so on. They have a lot of drinking section and bars located at every pools and near the beach. The snack bar is nice and the location is very good. Overlooking the blue and greenish part of the sea. They provide some free renting of scuba materials and kayak for an hour a day. Very nice people who smiles at you wherever you go which provides us satisfaction althroughout your stay. All in all, almost next to perfection.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sushisushimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We are a family of 10, consisting of many different ages, ranging from 16-60. We all enjoyed our selves greatly. We loved El Portillo and are hoping to return soon. The staff is amazing! They provide great service and at the end of the day they feel like long life friends. The enthusiasts do a great job of interacting with the guests and always grab you to dance, they won't take no as an answer. The buffet was okay, they had a lot of variety but some things weren't as good as they looked. The cleaning staff always did a great job. The resort was always well maintained and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the hotel room. We had bartenders we preferred so if you ever have a chance to go to El Portillo I recommend Jesse and Julio! Best bartenders at the resort! The beach is absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The sand is beautiful and white and the water is clear blue, as expected. I recommend going for a walk along side of the beach, outside of the resort area. It is more quiet and relaxing. We also went on an excursion to Playa Rincon. It was a nice experience but I am not sure that it was worth what we paid but oh well. Over all if you are looking for somewhere safe, friendly, and relaxing to stay then we recommend you go to El Portillo. Hopefully you have just as good of a time as we had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsayyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear lindsay,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us this detailed comment about your stay in Bahia Principe.
We are glad to listen that you enjoy your time with us. I will transmit your opinion to our staff encouraging them to follow that behavior.

We would be very happy welcoming you back once again in El Portillo.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just got back from a 7 days stay and was amazed on how friendly all the staff were ...everyone had a smile and willing to help in any way possible. Great animation team that gets you going all day @ the beach, pool, theatre, bachata or Disco !! We had a blast!!! Will definitely go again.
Big shout out to Miguel and the front desk crew! AND THE ANIMATION CREW... LOVE YOU ALL

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts


Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
438 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
3,816 reviews
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Property: Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing