We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and accommodating staff”
Review of Hotel Albachiara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albachiara
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel looked like a postcard with its beautiful porches and gorgeous pool. Delta lost our luggage so we were frantic the first two days of our week's vacation. Different staff went out of their way spending hours trying to find our bag. Because we had spent so long at the airport in Santa Domingo looking for this bag, when we arrived to check in, our room had been given away. Instead, my husband and I were given a 2-story, 2 bedroom suite at the same cost. Very nice and appreciated. The breakfast was unbelievable and all employees were friendly and delightful to talk with. This property reflects great pride in its family ownership. We loved the comfortable, charming decor and the great location, but if you are high maintenance this hotel is not for you. The only negative for us was the noise. Each night there was loud music until 2:00. We never did figure out the source. Maybe one of the nearby bars. but this was not the fault of the hotel. One tip: you'd better know some Spanish if you stay here and Spanish or French if you visit Las Terranes. Most locals know little or no English. We definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here over New Years and enjoyed our time. The rooms are spacious and reasonably equipped with basic kitchen utensils and appliances. The beds had basic foam mattress and old sheets and spreads, ours had holes from wear. We had water pressure in 2 and hot water in 1 of the 3 showers.

The pool area was nice and not too crowded. towel service had clean towels for
Us 3 out of 5 times.

The location is a trade off. It was close to town, walking distance to grocery, coffee, ice cream and many restaurants, but it is very loud. I jumped out of bed at one point or another every one of our 7 night stay. The music from local businesses went well into the wee hours. Combined with the foam mattress, I just didnt sleep well. The road was also very near the hotel so the constant roar of rusty old scooters and smell of the blue smoke of burning two stoke engine oil is something you will need to adapt to... as you sleep.

The beach directly across the street from the hotel is ok, but the traffic noise and sharp rocks in the water drove us up beach a couple hundred meters to a quiet spot near a cute playground and clear water.

The only excursion we took was to the waterfall with a Spanish Expat named Samdi. He was great and the hotel arranged. Do not let the cabbies take you to the waterfall. Go with a tour unless you are up for a 2 hour each way hike.

Breakfast was basic with a simple hotplate egg station, fruit, cereal, yogurt, breads and juice. No frills.

In the end, we like the room but wish the bed and kitchen facilities were updated. We like the beach, but its a bit of a walk to a good spot. The noise and the bed made for restless nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gendoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Clean, well maintained, top notch staff, sometimes difficulty in the language barrier but Luise and Junoir were most helpfull. One issue we had was the loud music during the day and from midnight to four am. Depending on the location of your room depends on how quiet your vacation will be. Location is close to everything, great shopping for food or clothes or gifts. We had some issues with the initial pricing it changed a week before we arrived, causing us concern prior to our arrival. When we travel we like to leave behind items and some money for the workers as the pay grade in the DR is minimal, I just hope that it gets to the workers, at this hotel I don't believe that it does. The manager seems to have her hands in everthing. The bathrooms need better lighting to put on makeup etc.. but overall a very comfortable and clean hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away fro #27 it gets loud music during the afternoon and from midnight to four am on certain ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just spent two nights here with our young kids and it was just brilliant. The apartments are big and amazing - I loved the indoor/outdoor living spaces, I have never had a balcony so big. They were spotless and I loved the thorough servicing. The mattresses and linen are great. There was a walk in wardrobe for the main room which was big enough for us to set up our travel cot for our baby in there!!
The pool is fantastic especially with little ones. Very big with a huge area for little kids. There's a little toddler playground as well. The breakfast is fantastic and it's opposite the beach and very close to the center of Las Terrenas. The location could not be better. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or East wings. There was a bit of noise in the west wing where we were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheressharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We live in Santo Domingo and have taken 6 mini vacations to Las Terrenas in 2013. Albachiara Hotel is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Las Terrenas. The management team is hands on, attending to every detail. Location is fanastic as are the hotel amenities. The only negative are the TVs which are in dire need of
an upgrade. It is our understanding that new TVs are planned for all 53 rooms in early 2014. This is the only negative point we found at this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days and were so impressed with the cleanliness, guest service, safety and proximity to beaches and the town of Las Terrenas. The rooms have kitchenettes in them, a porch, family room and bedroom, perfect for relaxed stays. The owners take customer service very seriously. The morning breakfasts are delicious, served with kindness, and with great views of the ocean. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Even prior to arriving the crew was so helpful & friendly in our exchanges via email!!!! Upon our arrival the crew exhibited the same warmth! The apart-hotel is located in a super convenient location: within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and for every day needs: supermarkets! The beach is quiet, with not much traffic. We were lucky enough to visit other room sizes (ours was a 1BR) and they are all spacious and comfortable. This is definitely where we will be staying on future trips to Las Terrenas! :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NenaAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#19 of 35 in Las Terrenas
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albachiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albachiara

Address: Calle 27 De Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albachiara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front, Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality. The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen, comfortable mattresses, Jacuzzi, air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea. Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minute drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albachiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albachiara Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing