We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay / great management”
Review of Hotel Albachiara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albachiara
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay / great management”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I recently led a group of college students on a tour of the Domincan Republic (2 weeks all over the country) and we stayed 4 nights in Las Terrenas in 9 rooms of different sizes at AlbaChiara. The location is great, the rooms are HUGE, the breakfast was just what we needed, and we had a great stay. However, without question, the best part was the personal attention we received from the hotel staff and management. Everyone was kind, efficient, personable, and more than willing to help us experience the best of Las Terrenas. I have traveled all over the world and I have never received better service from a hotel manager/owner as we did during our 4 nights AlbaChiara. Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    93
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
151
161
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I am still surprised by all of the AMAZING reviews I am reading on TA. I just don't get it.

I stayed with my brother's family for a week over New Year's. Upon arrival we were rather disappointed by the proximity to the road. The mopeds, four wheelers and dirt bikes speed past with little regard for pedestrians. They are noisy and the smell of gas is ever present. Our first walk into town was really nerve-wracking with all of the traffic chaos. I did become more comfortable walking on the narrow sidewalks as the week went on but I never felt safe.

The beach directly across from the hotel is not at all relaxing. It is noisy and rocky but the hotel does put chairs there for guests to use. Just a few hundred metres up the beach is a beautiful, quiet, sandy spot that is never busy. It is like a piece of paradise.

Along the beach are several restaurants from Japanese to Italian to French all serving fresh seafood. There is also a lot of pizza to be had. In toown there is a nice little coffee shop with lattes, quiche and pastries.

The hotel room was huge. The furniture was comfortable and the kitchen had basic cooking utensils. Cooking wasn't easy though as we had to buy our own oil, spices and condiments.

My bed was large and comfortable. My sheets were new and fresh. My shower was awful. It did eventually get pressure but was never really warm. I had a jacuzzi tub but had now way of switching the jets on and the water was never hot enough to enjoy a bath. My room was very poorly lit. Reading at night was cumbersome.

The pool was fine. A good size for the number of guests. Towel service was always frustrating because it seems they were always in the laundry and needed to be be delivered to us poolside.

The drinks at the bar were limited but tasty and the bartenders were friend.y. Pina coladas with generous shots of rum cost about $4.

Breakfast was basic and the same each day but I never left feeling hungry.

The biggest issue I have with this hotel is the constant noise from the street and from the loud parties at businesses nearby. The noise lasts well into the night and comes at you from all sides.

I enjoyed our stay mostly for the restaurants and the quiet beach area. Our terrace was really nice too but just not relaxing because of the noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdmalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wow! We got to the hotel a bit early for check-in on our first day but the staff was extremely welcoming. The room wasn't ready but they took all of our bags while we set out for lunch. When we got back they let us use the bathroom so we could change into our swimsuits and enjoy the beach or the pool. We went across the street to the private beach where they had chairs set up for guests. The water was so clear! When we came back they said our room was ready. One of the staff took our bags and led the way. Our "room" is beautiful! We have 2 beds/ 2 baths and 2 full living areas, one inside and one outside. There are fresh flowers in all the rooms and the beds are scattered with tiny little flowers! So cute! We are so happy to be here and the staff has been incredibly nice. We might even try to stay an extra night!

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a fitness room or spa but I can't unclick it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel looked like a postcard with its beautiful porches and gorgeous pool. Delta lost our luggage so we were frantic the first two days of our week's vacation. Different staff went out of their way spending hours trying to find our bag. Because we had spent so long at the airport in Santa Domingo looking for this bag, when we arrived to check in, our room had been given away. Instead, my husband and I were given a 2-story, 2 bedroom suite at the same cost. Very nice and appreciated. The breakfast was unbelievable and all employees were friendly and delightful to talk with. This property reflects great pride in its family ownership. We loved the comfortable, charming decor and the great location, but if you are high maintenance this hotel is not for you. The only negative for us was the noise. Each night there was loud music until 2:00. We never did figure out the source. Maybe one of the nearby bars. but this was not the fault of the hotel. One tip: you'd better know some Spanish if you stay here and Spanish or French if you visit Las Terranes. Most locals know little or no English. We definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here over New Years and enjoyed our time. The rooms are spacious and reasonably equipped with basic kitchen utensils and appliances. The beds had basic foam mattress and old sheets and spreads, ours had holes from wear. We had water pressure in 2 and hot water in 1 of the 3 showers.

The pool area was nice and not too crowded. towel service had clean towels for
Us 3 out of 5 times.

The location is a trade off. It was close to town, walking distance to grocery, coffee, ice cream and many restaurants, but it is very loud. I jumped out of bed at one point or another every one of our 7 night stay. The music from local businesses went well into the wee hours. Combined with the foam mattress, I just didnt sleep well. The road was also very near the hotel so the constant roar of rusty old scooters and smell of the blue smoke of burning two stoke engine oil is something you will need to adapt to... as you sleep.

The beach directly across the street from the hotel is ok, but the traffic noise and sharp rocks in the water drove us up beach a couple hundred meters to a quiet spot near a cute playground and clear water.

The only excursion we took was to the waterfall with a Spanish Expat named Samdi. He was great and the hotel arranged. Do not let the cabbies take you to the waterfall. Go with a tour unless you are up for a 2 hour each way hike.

Breakfast was basic with a simple hotplate egg station, fruit, cereal, yogurt, breads and juice. No frills.

In the end, we like the room but wish the bed and kitchen facilities were updated. We like the beach, but its a bit of a walk to a good spot. The noise and the bed made for restless nights.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gendoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nobel, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Clean, well maintained, top notch staff, sometimes difficulty in the language barrier but Luise and Junoir were most helpfull. One issue we had was the loud music during the day and from midnight to four am. Depending on the location of your room depends on how quiet your vacation will be. Location is close to everything, great shopping for food or clothes or gifts. We had some issues with the initial pricing it changed a week before we arrived, causing us concern prior to our arrival. When we travel we like to leave behind items and some money for the workers as the pay grade in the DR is minimal, I just hope that it gets to the workers, at this hotel I don't believe that it does. The manager seems to have her hands in everthing. The bathrooms need better lighting to put on makeup etc.. but overall a very comfortable and clean hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away fro #27 it gets loud music during the afternoon and from midnight to four am on certain ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just spent two nights here with our young kids and it was just brilliant. The apartments are big and amazing - I loved the indoor/outdoor living spaces, I have never had a balcony so big. They were spotless and I loved the thorough servicing. The mattresses and linen are great. There was a walk in wardrobe for the main room which was big enough for us to set up our travel cot for our baby in there!!
The pool is fantastic especially with little ones. Very big with a huge area for little kids. There's a little toddler playground as well. The breakfast is fantastic and it's opposite the beach and very close to the center of Las Terrenas. The location could not be better. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or East wings. There was a bit of noise in the west wing where we were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheressharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 34 in Las Terrenas
554 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 34 in Las Terrenas
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#7 of 34 in Las Terrenas
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#11 of 34 in Las Terrenas
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#16 of 34 in Las Terrenas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albachiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albachiara

Property: Hotel Albachiara
Address: Calle 27 De Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albachiara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front, Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality. The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen, comfortable mattresses, Jacuzzi, air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea. Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minute drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albachiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albachiara Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing