We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Times a Charm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albachiara

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Albachiara
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“3 Times a Charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you want to stay where you can relax and be in a great location off the beach this is the place for you. Cant say enough! Another great experience. Took friends now the time there, loved it as well. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. We will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulldog0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    90
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
150
155
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have previously stayed at the Oasis once and the the Alisei twice. Each time something was missing. After staying at Albachiara Hotel we knew we would continue to come back. They have everything you need It's like coming home! Rooms are clean and well presented. Grounds are small but well groomed and The White Bunny Rabbit lives there and it's fun to look for him. We love Las Terrenas and Enjoy our stay here So much we are going back next weekend! You can walk the beach (which is located across the street) or walk around town visiting shops, art and lots of cafes/restaurants. The pizza next door is delicious at Coco Pizza. We wanted to have a barbecue on the beach and they set it up for us. It was wonderful!!! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiMi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Overall would have been good, clean rooms, spacious more than enough for a family of 4 but the daily breakfast was sad and pathetic. Untrained staff plopped my eggs onto plate as if in a high school cafeteria! Stayed at Alisei year after year still better for us!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I recently led a group of college students on a tour of the Domincan Republic (2 weeks all over the country) and we stayed 4 nights in Las Terrenas in 9 rooms of different sizes at AlbaChiara. The location is great, the rooms are HUGE, the breakfast was just what we needed, and we had a great stay. However, without question, the best part was the personal attention we received from the hotel staff and management. Everyone was kind, efficient, personable, and more than willing to help us experience the best of Las Terrenas. I have traveled all over the world and I have never received better service from a hotel manager/owner as we did during our 4 nights AlbaChiara. Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I am still surprised by all of the AMAZING reviews I am reading on TA. I just don't get it.

I stayed with my brother's family for a week over New Year's. Upon arrival we were rather disappointed by the proximity to the road. The mopeds, four wheelers and dirt bikes speed past with little regard for pedestrians. They are noisy and the smell of gas is ever present. Our first walk into town was really nerve-wracking with all of the traffic chaos. I did become more comfortable walking on the narrow sidewalks as the week went on but I never felt safe.

The beach directly across from the hotel is not at all relaxing. It is noisy and rocky but the hotel does put chairs there for guests to use. Just a few hundred metres up the beach is a beautiful, quiet, sandy spot that is never busy. It is like a piece of paradise.

Along the beach are several restaurants from Japanese to Italian to French all serving fresh seafood. There is also a lot of pizza to be had. In toown there is a nice little coffee shop with lattes, quiche and pastries.

The hotel room was huge. The furniture was comfortable and the kitchen had basic cooking utensils. Cooking wasn't easy though as we had to buy our own oil, spices and condiments.

My bed was large and comfortable. My sheets were new and fresh. My shower was awful. It did eventually get pressure but was never really warm. I had a jacuzzi tub but had now way of switching the jets on and the water was never hot enough to enjoy a bath. My room was very poorly lit. Reading at night was cumbersome.

The pool was fine. A good size for the number of guests. Towel service was always frustrating because it seems they were always in the laundry and needed to be be delivered to us poolside.

The drinks at the bar were limited but tasty and the bartenders were friend.y. Pina coladas with generous shots of rum cost about $4.

Breakfast was basic and the same each day but I never left feeling hungry.

The biggest issue I have with this hotel is the constant noise from the street and from the loud parties at businesses nearby. The noise lasts well into the night and comes at you from all sides.

I enjoyed our stay mostly for the restaurants and the quiet beach area. Our terrace was really nice too but just not relaxing because of the noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdmalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wow! We got to the hotel a bit early for check-in on our first day but the staff was extremely welcoming. The room wasn't ready but they took all of our bags while we set out for lunch. When we got back they let us use the bathroom so we could change into our swimsuits and enjoy the beach or the pool. We went across the street to the private beach where they had chairs set up for guests. The water was so clear! When we came back they said our room was ready. One of the staff took our bags and led the way. Our "room" is beautiful! We have 2 beds/ 2 baths and 2 full living areas, one inside and one outside. There are fresh flowers in all the rooms and the beds are scattered with tiny little flowers! So cute! We are so happy to be here and the staff has been incredibly nice. We might even try to stay an extra night!

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a fitness room or spa but I can't unclick it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel looked like a postcard with its beautiful porches and gorgeous pool. Delta lost our luggage so we were frantic the first two days of our week's vacation. Different staff went out of their way spending hours trying to find our bag. Because we had spent so long at the airport in Santa Domingo looking for this bag, when we arrived to check in, our room had been given away. Instead, my husband and I were given a 2-story, 2 bedroom suite at the same cost. Very nice and appreciated. The breakfast was unbelievable and all employees were friendly and delightful to talk with. This property reflects great pride in its family ownership. We loved the comfortable, charming decor and the great location, but if you are high maintenance this hotel is not for you. The only negative for us was the noise. Each night there was loud music until 2:00. We never did figure out the source. Maybe one of the nearby bars. but this was not the fault of the hotel. One tip: you'd better know some Spanish if you stay here and Spanish or French if you visit Las Terranes. Most locals know little or no English. We definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#21 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#13 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albachiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albachiara

Property: Hotel Albachiara
Address: Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albachiara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front, Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality. The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen, comfortable mattresses, Jacuzzi, air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea. Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minute drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Albachiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albachiara Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing