We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My family just returned from a wonderful vacation at Balcones. It is a very low keyed place and very relaxing. The rooms are spacious and nice and the beach is beautiful. Most importantly, the people who work there are super nice and willing to do anything to make your experience great. Eunice, Eliana, Desmys, yan, and many others will make your stay there great. Las Terranas has many great restaurants. If you just want a relaxing experience, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of friends. The condo style rooms were top notch... Viking appliances, felt very safe, beautiful beaches. But know this is a quieter side of the island... Go with idea of relaxing and exploring. The staff was very helpful but there is only one restaurant on property.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you want a quiet getaway to an island paradise, this is the place for you. The rooms are surprisingly huge, and most have walls of windows that open to huge decks for entertaining or dining. Full kitchens with Viking appliances, well appointed living and dining rooms, large bedrooms with king size beds (or two queens), most units with washers and dryers, surrounded by lush grounds and several beautiful swimming pools throughout the property. The private restaurant on the beach is a great place for a meal or cocktails. The staff are very attentive and by request are happy to whip something up that isn't even typically on the menu. It's located about 1.5 miles from Las Terranas. Walkable, but I'd recommend renting an ATV (which the front desk staff can easily arrange for you).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The resort is beautifully designed with Vikings appliances. The ground is beautifully landscaped. The private beach is gorgeous. Taxi to town is about $10. Bottles of water are provided. We bought some wine in town and brought back to the room, because the room is stocked with glasses. Porto, the restaurant is great (I will write a separate review). We would definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Yayit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was in Balcones del Atlantico for a few days last week with my fiancée and a couple of friends and I had such a nice time there. I really enjoyed Restaurant Porto, in front of the beach, the beautiful decoration, beach, rooms are huge and clean, staff is amazing, they are adorable.

Travelling from NYC to Samana with Jetblue, get to the hotel was no more than 25 minutes, I stayed in room 2211 you can ask for that room, it has a hot tub, wonderful décor and well maintained, I made my reservation using their web page and could get a promotion of Buy 3 Get 4th free.

I will definitely come back to Balcones next season, and I highly recommend to visit this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2211. hottub first floor, three bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosario630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked 10 "beachside" villas because their website at the time portrayed the property to be a charming boutique resort with 35 rental units (the website has since updated that information along with the misleading photo of what appeared to be a beach villa but is really their restaurant). So you can imagine our shock when we drove up to this monstrosity of a complex with hundreds of condos! And you guessed it, they are not on the beach. The first night, 3 "villas" were without AC, one didn't have electricity, one didn't have hot water. Now having said all of this, the condos are huge and lovely, all ailments were repaired the same day, the beach is spectacular, the restaurant isn't bad (although it was closed to the public one night for a private party so all 20 of us had to taxi into town), the 2 pools are big and very nice, the spa is expensive but worth the splurge and everyone had a great time. November is off season so we had the place pretty much to ourselves. It would have been a different experience if all units had been full.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

NO AIR CONDITIONER / NO ICE / BAD SERVICE / BAD CATV SYSTEM / the security when to my aptt noise, with a gum , no restaurant open at 8pm , no glass water at the apt , no towers , is terrible servicesss

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SANTIAGO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
459 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
148 reviews
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £177 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlántico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samaná Peninsula, Balcones del Atlántico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing