We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good holidays French tourist.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AVIGNON
Reviewed 9 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo - Norway
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ottawa
Reviewed 7 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AZ, USA
Reviewed 30 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
snornorg
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty and comfortable house at good value.”
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Took wife and 3 kids (ages 9-13)) to DR for their Spring Break from school. Wanted to check out the beautiful beaches in DR but stay out of big hotel scene. Found this house on TA. Owner very pleasant to deal with in terms of making reservation. Only problem was his insistence that I wire the deposit, as opposed to send check or money order. I don't do this enough to know if that's standard for an international rental, but thought that part was a pain in the butt given that we were talking a couple of hundred dollars. Flew into SD, rented SUV, and drove to Samana Penninusla. Easy drive but for last hour or so, when off the highway and going over little mountain roads. But not nearly as bad as some reviewers would have you believe. (It's not I-95, but very doable; and I've never driven in Carribean before.)

Told by owner that he would not be present, but neighbors in same gated complex would have key ready for us. This was really only big disappointment of trip. Upon arrival, after long day of travelling from US, no neighbor to be found. (Accidentally set off their alarm knocking on their front door.) Had trouble reaching them on my US phone. Dropped my family at beach across the street and prowled the area looking for someone who spoke English or would understand my pidgeon-Spanish enough to call neighbors for me. After about 45 mins, finally got through to them and they let us in. They were apologetic, but it still sucked.

After that initial unpleasantness, it was all gravy. The small complex is very pretty and well maintained. Locked and gated with armed guards at night. Felt 100% safe and secure there. (Guards very nice, eager to practice their English, and even let my teenage son hold their shotgun, making his trip.) The grounds are very green with beautiful plants and flowers everywhere. Unexpectedly pretty. Just about everybody staying there was French or Italian, also unexpectedly pretty. I thought from the TA listing that the house had it's own pool, which it did not. But there was a servicible, if small, pool shared by complex's residents. Very nice for after beach, late afternoon dip. Had large water bottles for sale on site, which was convenient.

House itself was fantastic. Perfect for low-key family like ours, hoing to stay on our own without over-paying for luxury we didn't need. House very clean and tastefully furnished. Not really my area of expertise, but seemed almost Zen-like in decor. Had A/C but we didn't need to use, even in mid-April, as screened windows and cool evenings did the trick. Everything -- electric, water, fridge, oven, etc. - worked just fine. Not luxurious by American standards, but clean, pretty and calm. Could use an upgrade in their coffee maker, but that's probably a French thing.

For those of you from US, both the house and the town of Las Terrenas have a definite Euro feel, almost all of it good. Little cafes on the street, very little English being spoken (and even understood) anywhere, restaurants with more of a European menu. Kind of cool.

Biggest complaint had nothing to do with the house. House was very nice, in very pleasant complex. Situated close enough to local beach that it was easy 5 minute walk (though you have to cross busy road to get there), 15-20 minute walk into town, but set back enough that normal hustle and bustle of town does not penetrate. But, Las Terrenas itself was kind of a pit. Did not come off as "charming seaside village with lots of European tourists." It was dirty, depressingly poor, very loud, constant traffic. Not at all relaxing in town. Definitely felt Third-World there. Not so much a complaint as a fact of life to be prepared for. So happened that our vacation fell on biggest beach vacation week of year for the locals, so that no doubt contributed to the noise and crowding. But even at beginning of week, before local holidays, town was still unpleasant. Definitely were times, stepping over flattened rat on sidewalk while inhaling exhaust of upteenth passing motor-bike when I felt the downside to not going the big resort route, but overall, happy with our decision.

Because we did have great time. Area is small enough that it is easy to drive out of town to nearby, even nicer beaches fairly easily. Went to Playa Bonita, twice. As pretty a beach as I have ever seen. Weather was great the whole week. Occasional, brief shower but not one day of seven was a wash out. Every day was mostly sunny and warm to hot - perfect beach weather. Locals were very pleasant, seemed surprised and happy to meet Americans, even when trying to sell hair-braiding or trinkets. Great way to experience the island. Overall, great house, great vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Reviewed 4 April 2011 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
meow55555
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Location, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great rental for the price. It is only a 5 minute walk from the wonderful sandy beaches and 10 minutes from town. It was clean and comfortable. The caretakers met us even though it was late at night. They were nice and helpful.

Some details and caveats:
ad says TV and dvd player. It has those, but no antenna, cable or dish. So technically it has a TV, but you can only use it to watch dvd's.
It has air-conditioning, but only in two of the bedrooms, not central. You also pay extra for electrical usage "above the average rate of 40 kwh per week". So if you actually use the AC, you may pay extra. All rooms and outdoor terrace have ceiling fans which worked fine for us (stayed in March).
The pool is there, but no concrete patio around pool, and only 2 lounge chairs there (one was broken). We ended up spending all our free time at the beach (which was beautiful) and no time at the pool.
Some ants were in the kitchen - keep the counters and other areas clean and free from any food items. Bring earplugs for sleeping - lots of barking dogs in the area.
We were overall satisfied with the unit for the price. Be prepare to have $500 cash for the damage deposit which is returned at the end of your stay.
Las Terranes is beautiful and generally not "americanized" - no american brands (such as McDonalds or Starbucks). People are friendly and helpful. It was refreshing staying someplace where little English is spoken and the local food isn't dumbed down. Lots of French and Italian in the area. Local restaurants were great. Beaches were beautiful and lots of opportunity to do different activities such as whale watching, etc.
Caretakers were nice and accommodating and helpful. Relatively quiet area off the main drag (where lots of 4-wheelers and motorcycles go constantly all day and night).

Overall would stay there again. Is secure with gates and a guard at night. Units are new and spacious. Owner was also helpful and arranged transport for us from airport. Loved the country.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing