We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless: Beyond our expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
FALCONA is our second floor apartment with a bird's eye view of the ocean. Our residence has a spacious pool area with lounge chairs and barbeque,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
FALCONA is our second floor apartment with a bird's eye view of the ocean.
Our residence has a spacious pool area with lounge chairs and barbeque,
Living room & dining area which seats six.
Ocean view from the dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Master with a King bed and mountain view.
Master bedroom opens to the bathroom.
Second bedroom has a Queen that can come apart for two singles.
Second room with beds apart. We can add a cot to sleep a total of three children.
Pool area by day.
Pool area at sunset.
The infinity pool virtually cascading into the ocean in the distance.
Monte Placido Central Savannah.
We have lovely gardens.
Let us reserve a relaxing massage for you.
Shiva's Cave Yoga Studio on site and open to guests.
Workout area with sea view.
Stairs leading to upper cave chamber.
Inner chamber, quiet and cool for meditation.
Amazing rock formations.
Monte Placido on a hill above the sea
Drive up to our hilltop residence
Rental vehicles on site or our guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PhilippeS...
1 review
“Flawless: Beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Travelling with a 3 year old can be a challenge at times...But at Don & Diana's breath taking villas, not a single thing you should worry about. On-site pool overlooking an outstanding panorama, welcoming & helpful staff//spotless villas with cleaning staff that will make you feel home, simply gorgeous. Location is prime! A medley circuit of Las Terrenas beaches that will suit the pickiest travellers. Put yourself on cruise control, you will adopt this incredible nest of Monte Placido, customized for a well deserved retreat getaway. Side note, the welcome meal is mandatory, very authentic & necessary after your flight, finger licking good! I forgot a whole lot to write, I'll pass you the experience! Cheers Don & Diana

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Nothing to add!!! Just and see for yourslves
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divya_N_1...
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views, awesome hosts and relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in December 2016 with our kids ages 11 and 5 in Villa Falcon at Monte Placido. To start with - villa Falcon has the best view ever. It was beautiful to sit in the balcony and watch the lush countryside, the blue ocean, circling turkey vultures and feel the cool breeze. It was especially great for us to watch our kids in the pool from home as they jumped into the pool at every chance they got. Now for the property - it is beautifully landscaped and it is clear that Don loves his plants. There is an incredible variety of plants from interesting cactuses to unique palms and Don has stitched these together to create a unique and special setting. We actually ended up spending 3 of our 8 day stay on the property swimming in the pool and enjoying the beautiful views. Shivas cave is a really special place for meditation and yoga - Don and Diana really have an eye for detail. There are plants in the crevices between the rocks, even a tiny bathroom tucked in the corner. Don and Diana were always available for any questions - whether making restaurant recommendations, ordering pizza, recommending the best person to go horse back riding for the falls etc. And now for all the staff. It was an absolutely pleasure seeing Jean Claude's smiling face everyday. He was working hard at meticulously maintaining the beautiful gardens and always greeted up with his big cherry smile. Jeannette cooked a dinner for us the evening we came in and the yucca fries were spectacular and my 11 year old raved about the tender, flavorful kitchen. The watch man actually came one night and told us that our car lights were on. The day we left, Jeannette came running to the gate because I had left my wallet with all my cards and money. We never stay in resorts - so having these extra services like house keeping, dinner, laundry etc. was quite a treat. Monte Placido is a truly special place to relax, unwind, slow down and spend quality time with your loved ones. Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Nothing to add. Our guests said it all. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie36
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic accommodations. Owners were delightful.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Rained prior to arrival so trip up hill was challenging but once you drove it one time it was not a problem. Owners could not do enough to make sure your stay went well, gave great advice on places to dine and sights to see. Will definitely be staying there again, This location was close to everything and so scenic.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Our guests appreciate our pastoral setting and only just minutes away from town center and close tot the beaches
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This was a very gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights. It was our honeymoon. We really enjoyed ourselves. Don and Diana were really great hosts. They made sure we had everything we needed. The views from Monte Placido are breath taking. Yes the driveway is intimidating when you first arrive, but we had a small compact car, that didn't have any issues going up and down. If you have the opportunity to get a massage, you should. The grounds keeper and his wife were really helpful, and boy can she cook. We had her prepare two meals and wish we would have had her do more of them.

The town of Las Terrenas is so great, we are coming back. We are looking to have a early retirement in this quaint little town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the friendliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Yes MONTE PLACIDO VACATION RENTALS is becoming a honeymoon destination.
Privacy, tranquility, special services, comfort of our homes, unique landscaping has attracted more and more new love birds but also older couples celebrating many anniversaries.
One of our 6 homes home preferred by honeymooners FLIPKEY reference 4975181 with its very private terrace with both ocean and mountain view, decorated with European antiques and it offers a/c.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visiting Las Terrenas and Samana!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights on a recent trip to the DR. I based my decision on the photos of Monte Placido and other reviews and was not disappointed. The views are simply spectacular, there is a continual breeze to keep you cool, hardly any mosquitos and a fantastic pool to cool off in. Don, Diana and their staff are great hosts and you feel right at home with plenty of privacy in your vila. It is a steep drive up to Monte Placido but I managed to do it no problem even in a compact Chevy in the middle of the night. It's a short drive to the beach in Las Terrenas, Playa Bonita, Playa Coson and El Salto de Limon. The beaches are great but staying up on Monte Placido gives you the best of both worlds in my opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Yes the panorama from our mountain top is quite something. The misconception of many is wanting to be on or near the beach. In Samana we don't just have 1 beacj many pristine beaches along the cost line and an an easy reach from Monte Placido Vacation Rentals. Monte Placido Vacation Rentals is comprised of 5 rental homes ranging from a studio just for 1 or 2 guests up to 5 guests per home.
Looking forward to welcoming you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luba t
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to remember”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say, this place is sensational! One of my friends /whom I trust with planing/ found it and it was perfect for our girls little get away. It's great for families as well. The nature and its sounds surrounding you takes you places where you switch your mind off.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you Andre. Yes MONTE PLACIDO is so private that families as well as couples can stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet place for a relaxing vacation with a breathtaking view”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing 2 weeks at Monte Placido. With not many people around, we mostly had the pool for us. In the evenings we grilled several times enjoying the sunset.
As we arrived from Germany, we got there by car from Punta Cana (don't try to get your rental car at the airport - their gonna fool you), which ment a 4 hour drive, but was totally worth it.
We had a quad for a day, which turned out to be great fun -> we would recommend to have a quad for your hole stay, as the streets of Las Terrenas are no big fun by car.
We just choose Mount Placido and therefore Las Terrenas out of the blue, and we definetally had the right instinct.
Don and Diana were always up to help, or organize things for us. We also found a great restaurant "Mi Corazon", whose host was also very lovely and giving us tips for the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ocean view from the mountain
Liked least: to leave :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Hello . Tank you for sharing your experience for other future guests.
No doubt that have any kind independant mode of transportation makes your stay IN Samana more enjoyable. Many have in mind that being "on the beach" is the primary element in their decision making. If one rents in town the beach their is busy as all the other beaches in Samana are undeveloped and pristine and getting by car, ATV or motorbike is a must. One last note on this subject MONTE PLACIDO is strategically located just East of Las Terrenas so an easy reach to all bewache(s)..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing