We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great hotel!”
Review of Sublime Samana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sublime Samana
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a great time at Sublime Samaná!

The staff was always friendly and very helpful! The rooms were spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. Every room has a kitchen in case you want to cook there. We went in low season so it rained a little bit, but it was still great to rest and use the spa (great massages!).

The beach is beautiful and the place really quiet, great for resting and enjoying the excellent service.
Las Terrenas in only 10 minutes away in car, it's a good idea to rent a car in El Catey airport if you want to explore the area. You can visit Samaná, los Haitises National Park and Cascada el Limón.

We would love to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sublime Samana for your vacations. We are so glad to heard that you enjoyed your vacations with us.
And thank you for taking the time for sharing your comments with us and the travel community.

Best regards!!
Nos vemos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

I had a wonderful experience at Sublime Samana; the WiFi is very strong throughout the resort (I Facetimed my boyfriend from the pool that's just steps from the ocean and made him jealous with the incredible sunset behind me!).

And the beach! I walked and walked and walked—for about 15-20 minutes and there was nothing but natural freshwater pools and streams and untouched beach; it was fun to walk out on the palm trees that had fallen over into the water. I finally came to a cute bar/restaurant, but the Samana peninsula, where this resort is located, is really quiet and all-natural.

The resort itself is brand new and gorgeous, with tall ceilings, giant bathrooms, lovely landscaping and very helpful and genuinely nice employees, who went out of their way to help me in any way I needed. And the spa staff was FANTASTIC! I had a massage and a facial and both were super-relaxing - the spa is right on the beach and so the only thing you hear is the waves....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarreVartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hi Starre!
Thank you very much for your fantastic comments and thank you for taking the time to share it.
It is great to read that you had Fantastic time at Sublime.
I will share your comment with our Spa Manager and all our staff. We value it enormously!

We look forward to your visit soon again.

Hasta pronto!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Sublime Samana is a private paradise! A piece of Heaven on Earth. Tranquil beauty, impeccable food & service surround you. Sublime Samana is one of the most beautiful, peaceful places that our family has ever visited. We cannot wait to return. We are appreciative to all the employees that made our stay perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Greeting from Sublime Samana!

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations with us. It's our highest commintment to provide an execellent service and to creat memorable experiences.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We went during the off-season when it rains every day a little bit. But I would not let that put you off. The service here was super. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The room we had was very luxurious and nothing to complain about at all. We had a kitchenette which we never really took advantage of, and would love to the next time. The only thing I would comment on negatively is that the prices for the restaurant were very high. The food was good, but the value proposition was not quite there. As an alternative for lunch you can walk along the beach to Restaurant Luis.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the ocean so you can hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for staying at Sublime!

It is great to know that we made your stay pleasant.

We are reviewing and verifying prices in our menus.

One again, thank you for your visit and for giving us you feedback.

We look foward to receiving you again.

Best regards,

Hasta pronto!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed for the weekend, they make you feel that you are the very special guest, the villa was so well maintained and the very upscale decoration. The beach is not the best of the area, but do not get me wrong, it's a beautiful beach and the sunsets are out of this world. They enforce very much your privacy and your comfort, no loud noises, the beach is almost private, and security is as tight as it can be. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximiliano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

We are pleased that you had such a great experience at Sublime Samana and thank you for posting these kin commnets.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Saludos!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

you can be sure i will be back soon. this place is amazing, you can be like in a luxury hotel with the price of a normal one. food is amazing, the pool, rooms, Jacuzzi, is a place to go with family or friends. is really quiet and you can enjoy the food and service the people there can give to you. las terrenas town is very close so you have a lot of restaurants and bars close by and will have the best vacation of your live. is close to el catey airport and you can get there by jet blue from NY or some Canada airlines. please take a chance and visit this great place and you never will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsesbaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Sublime Samana for your vacations.
Our team appreciates receiving your kind feedback, and looks foward to welcoming you back very soon.
We agree that Sublime provides a good value.

Best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Sublime Samana. The hotel seems brand new and is wonderful. We had a few hiccups in our room due to the air conditioning conking out. We mentioned it to the front desk and it was immediately corrected by maintenance. In addition, we were then generously offered an upgrade once room became available. That is the correct course of action that you never see general managers make; either because they were never informed of the problem or they don't use common sense.

We travel a lot and are fairly high maintenance New Yorkers. I found the service at the hotel to be absolutely exemplary. Someone came here and really trained the staff right. Every staff member was courteous, friendly, and quick (which does not happen often in the Carribbean.) They remembered my children's names and engaged them in conversation. They were patient and giving of their time when my kids wanted to practice their spanish. Unlike some other reviewers, I did not find the lack of English speaking a problem at all. If there was an employee who did not speak English well, they always had an English speaker on hand. Most importantly, they did not pretend to understand us and just bring the wrong food/drink. They found someone who understood and did it correctly.

The dining staff especially was superb. They were always so upbeat and happy. The chef was seemed willing to do anything to make us happy. My daughter is gulten free and once they found that out, she always got a gluten free alternative instead of bread, without us even having to ask. They even made adjustments to the menu items to accomodate her needs. We would call ourselves foodies and the restaurant here was really great. Not just for the Caribbean, but anywhere.

We took some excursions. There is no shortage of things to do here. However, being on the property is so nice, you never feel the need to take the excursions. We were there for a week and took two excursions. Bring cash. Many of the excursions or car rental places require cash. Another way Sublime went out of their way for us...we did not bring enough cash. They put our car rental on the hotel tab and paid the rental guy themselves. No hotel is perfect, but Sublime is so close in many ways.

You probably want to know what are some of the negatives? The beach was a little rocky directly in front of the hotel so our 5 year old had to go further down the beach to swim. Not a big deal, but sometimes I did have to move out of my comfortable lounge chair to accompany him. They should have put cushions on the beach loungers. It would have made them much more comfortable. Finally, I'm not sure if the hotel is also a place for Dominicans to have a weekend place, but there were a lot of bikes parked near the playground. My kids were itching to use them the whole time, but we were told they did not belong to the hotel. Maybe they should look into getting a few hotel bikes. Finally, when you check in they ask you to leave a deposit on your credit card. That seems a little strange to me for such a high class hotel. Where are you going to go? Why can't they just keep your credit card on file? Why do they actually have to charge 10,000 pesos or whatever it is on it. All of these issues seem like small nit-picky things, but that's because they have already done all the big things right.

Overall we loved our vacation. It was a wonderful trip and Sublime Samana was a wonderful hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend it to any friends or family. Now with the new service direct from NY, we were certainly be back sooner rather than later. Karina at the front desk was super helpful. Bruno, the general manager was a most gracious host. Alberto, the dining room manager always had a smile on and a high five for my kids. he made them special tropical drinks with fruit in them that they throughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

We are truly delight to know that you had a great time and a pleasant holidays. I will share your feedback with our team, inlcuding your suggestions. We take our guest feedback seriously, so we willl implant some issues that you commnent.
We very much look foward to having you back with us!!

Nos vemos!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
853 reviews
21.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sublime Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sublime Samana

Address: Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £172 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sublime Samana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Northeast coast of the Dominican Republic lies the dramatic lush, green tropical jungle clad hills and fine-sand beaches of the Samana Peninsula. Tucked away in this unspoiled tropical paradise lies Sublime Samana, a modern yet elegant luxury resort and member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World.The seven-acre property centers around the expansive canal of pools stretching nearly 500 feet from end-to-end. Rooms have been artfully built to create a contemporary setting in harmony with nature. One- and two-bedroom suites feature a living room, master bedroom and bathroom, guest bathroom, spacious balcony, and kitchen with Viking appliances. Views from the room are of the canals of streaming pools that line the lush gardens. Even more opulent are the 2- and 3-bedroom villas that feature large bedrooms, indoor and outdoor living spaces, a Jacuzzi and state-of-the-art kitchen with top floor villas featuring a rooftop terrace and plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sublime Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sublime Samana Dominican Republic - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing