We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime serenity”
Review of Sublime Samana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sublime Samana
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This resort was an unexpected pleasure. The service was impeccable, the rooms were clean, stylish and serene. The grounds were exquisite. If you are looking for an escape from the ubiquitous "all inclusive" resorts of the Dominican Republic, and prefer the elegance and serenity of a full service resort that pampers and offers the right amenities for adults, this is the place. Beach walks along really gorgeous shoreline is a treat. My husband and I enjoyed the food, and as New Yorkers, we have high expectations. Christian, the chef has a good formula as well as a winning personality. From the reception crew; Karina, Carlo, Jasmine & Harold to the restaurant people Aurelio,Alberto, Leonardo, Miladi , Ariel and others that are truly worthy of recognition - thank you! You made our 21st wedding anniversary truly special and we look forward to seeing you all again as we will be back many, many times in the future. Special greetings to Bruno, the general manager. It's clear that he cares deeply about this property! Plus, I had the greatest massage of my life with Allesandra! World class!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sophia,

We are extremely happy about your comments. Thank your for taking your time to write these beautiful words about us.

Definitely we will let all of our staff know about the things you mentioned in Tripadvisor and give your special thanks to Alexandra.

We are very satisfiedknowing that we have met your expectations and that we made your anniversary special.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Saludos y abrazos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is really a Super de Luxe Beach Hotel. With guaranteed high service level in all departments. From the room facilities, the breakfast till the arrival and check-out. All service is correct and friendly. We had a Casita, it's a modern house with all facilities like two Master bedrooms and three bathrooms (one with big Jacuzzi). Outside we had another big Jacuzzi and a amazing lounge terrace on the pool. Every morning we were very welcome at the 'a la carte' Breakfast with very friendly service, special thanks to Ramon. In the afternoon it was a pleasure to have aperitif and dinner in the Beach Restaurant where we like to thank the whole friendly team and specially Cesar who make us happy day after day with his well understanding service and smile. Everything is possible in this Hotel and they never say 'No'. For sure we come back here!

Room Tip: Take a Casita it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for choosing Hotel Sublime Samana to enjoy your vacation.

We really appreciate your beautiful comments about your stay as they are very important to maintain the quality in our hotel.

The entire staff of Sublime Samana is very happy to hear that you have had an amazing time during your recent stay at our hotel. We will especially let Ramon and Cesar know about your thanks. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your villa, the Jacuzzi, the pool and your breakfast every day.

Thanking you once again for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Saludos de todo el staff de Sublime Samana,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at the Sublime Samana in March. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are eager to return. Our casita was well appointed and comfortable. The beach is fantastic. Food is very good. The main attribute this hotel has to offer is its staff, they could not have been more genuinely helpful and pleasant!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yyztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for taking a time to write about us. We really appreciate it.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your room, the beach, our food and especially our staff; they feel extremely grateful with you.

Esperamos volverles a ver!

Saludos de todo el staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My daughter is a freshman in college and wanted to go away for her spring break. I figured this may be the last time she wants to go with me. Sublime was recommended by a friend. It was perfect. The beach was beautiful as were the pools. There was bar/restaurant at the beach but it wasn't blaring out music or pestering you for drinks. The food was very good. The people who worked there couldn't have been nicer and our room was wonderful. I do wish there was just a little store on property for suntan lotion etc.

Room Tip: There are only 2 restaurants which was fine by us. There were a few families there and all the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllismw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sublime Samana for your recent vacation and for taking a time to writer your opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

All the staff want to say thank you for your visit and we hope to see you and your daughter again.

Is really import for us to know about your experience with us and you can be absolutely sure we will be best when you return to the hotel.

Saludos de parte de todo el staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our son's destination wedding to the DR brought 94 friends and family together at the Sublime Samana for a week of sun, fun, eating,,drinking and celebration of marriage. Although the resort is a few years old, our group was apparently the largest they have hosted, and they seemed a little concerned about being able to accommodate us at the restaurants . Their fears were unfounded. The special event meals on the beach, cocktail parties and day to day restaurant service was wonderful!, and the food was delicious and beautifully presented.
The rooms and casitas were generally well maintained, clean and tropical. The staff, although not fluent in English , did a fine job of interpreting our needs in a friendly, polite way.
The setting is magnificent, the beach is beautiful, and the sunsets are stunning!
If you can, fly into Samana. The trip from Santo Domingo by taxi is long (2 hours) and expensive ($200. US one way).
Be sure to plan an excursion to snorkel Samana Bay or ATV the mountain.
You may find some growing pains still evident at this fairly undiscovered resort, but I promise you a wonderful, relaxing experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your beautiful experience in our hotel Sublime Samana.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy all our amenities and wish to see all of you back again soon.

It is very important for us that you have expressed your experience outside the hotel, which is helping us to promote the town of Las Terrenas. Especially that our guests enjoy a fun tour and so take home this adventure.


Many congratulations to the newlyweds.

Saludos y abrazos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

my wife, daughter and i enjoyed our recent stay at Sublime Samana very much. The two bedroom suite was excellent, everything worked perfectly, the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Karina at the front desk who helped us resolve a rental car issue!
Meals were excellent, and the ocean is right there, so how can one miss!!!
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to be in the Dominican Republic but away from the crowds!
We plan to return as soon as we can!
John & family from Ontario

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHM2012155002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Family,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your experience at our beautiful hotel Sublime Samana.

We felt very comfortable knowing that you could enjoy all of our facilities and our food.

All the staff is very grateful. I will tell Karina your thank to her.

Saludos desde Las Terrenas,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 7 nights at Sublime Samana (January 18 to January 25). We had a great, relaxing time there. There were 6 of us (me and my wife, our 2 daughters (ages 7 and 5) and my in-laws). We stayed in the 3-BR Casita with the Rooftop Terrace (Room 1212). We could watch the sunrise up over the mountain in one direction from the Rooftop Terrace and the view the other way was out over all of the pools and ocean. Most of the rooms are not oceanfront (including ours).

The flight into Samana out of JFK on JetBlue was great (it runs on Wednesdays and Saturdays). 3 hours each way and you come right into a very nice airport that has little air traffic. The drive from the airport to the hotel was a terrific one – right through where they cut through the mountain and looking out over the ocean. It reminded us a bit of driving in Maui with the green scenery, palm trees, mountains and ocean, except this place is much more secluded.

We stayed at the Hard Rock in Punta Cana last year (huge resort; all-inclusive; tons of amenities). The Sublime Samana is basically the exact opposite of that. This was a small, luxurious, private, quiet place to stay. The weather was terrific (about 84 or 85 degrees every day) when we were there, with just a few hours of rain on just one day. The sand at the beach was soft and there was almost nothing in the ocean water (so no seaweed, no shells (except for the shells that are deposited right at the entry to the ocean)). Once you get into the ocean, there is nothing in it and the sand is incredibly soft. We really enjoyed the ocean water. My daughter loved riding one of the boogie boards that the resort provided on the ocean’s waves. The beach was great and you can walk in both directions a long way. Very private.

For kids, there is a playground. And they have boogie boards and some beach toys available to use. But there is no kids’ club and no kids’ activities to speak of.

Room: The room was great. We had 3 bedrooms and 4 full bathrooms. The room had a balcony off of the master bedroom, a balcony off the second bedroom, and a large balcony off the dining room and living room; plus a rooftop terrace that ran nearly the full size of the whole 3 bedroom/4 bath suite below it that we were staying in. The master bedroom was actually really great, with a little bit of the outdoors brought inside with some open air in the master bathroom (very private still). It was great. Kitchen appliances were top of the line. Washer and dryer included in the unit, too. Great indoor and outdoor space. We were very happy with the room.

Food: We thought the food was generally good to very good, but not great. The included breakfast was good and included eggs, bacon, toast, pancakes, etc. We had no problems finding stuff to eat each day at breakfast. There is really only one menu, essentially, that is used for lunch and dinner at the resort for the whole week. As you can imagine, given it is a smaller resort and the menu is not endless, we did grow tired of the same choices day after day. They tried to have something special each day, but the menu definitely got tired. And our group wasn’t really interested in going out into town to dinner, after a long day playing in the pool and ocean. Introducing something off menu as a special each day would help. It would also be nice if they had a delivery service that you could order dinner out a night or two and have it delivered. Or something different just to break up the monotony. Room Service was good, too. Drinks ranged from OK to great, depending on who was making them and what you ordered.

I thought the prices for drinks and food were what I would expect for a hotel that is part of the SLH of the World collection. Not cheap, but not that expensive, either. 28% is tacked on top. The 18% Dominican tax, plus 10% service. But nothing more was expected. There wasn’t even a line for anything additional. You just sign and go (yes, we were able to sign for everything and have it charged to our room). I would recommend you bring some small bills, though, as it is not that easy to get change here.

Service: The service was very good. The hotel staff and restaurant workers were all very friendly. I’m sure we’ll forget some people, but we wanted to give a shout out to Edwin, Leonardo, Aurelio, Pedro, Ramon, Ariel, Augustine, Santo and Albert, plus Bruno (the GM) and his front desk staff. They were all great. Bruno was present around the resort every day, so it wasn’t hard to find him if you wanted something. They could have been a little more pro-active in serving us drinks when we were pool-side. But that was a minor complaint.

Other: If needed, the Wi-Fi connection at the resort was good (at least in my room). The resort was very quiet with no entertainment or nighttime activities. If you like action at night at your resort, this wouldn’t be the place for you. There is no store on-site. They do put refreshments (beer, soda and water and a bowl of fruit) in your room each day. But if you need suntan lotion or snacks or anything, you have to get a taxi (or rent a car) to drive into town. So I’d bring suntan lotion with you (though Bruno did offer to send someone to town to get us suntan lotion - we figured we might as well go ourselves and pick up some snacks).

Things to improve: Finding a way to vary the menu more in some way over the course of a week would be a big improvement. Increased options for kids’ activities would be great, too. Even something as simple as having the resort arrange for the kids to have the ability to paint coconuts or something simple like that once a day or something. A small on-site selection of snacks/refreshments, suntan lotion, etc. would be great.

Overall, we really had a great week at the resort. If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax, then I’d highly recommend the Sublime Samana.

t-scholtes@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TScholtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Mr. Scholtes,

Thank you for choosing Sublime Samana for your recent stay in Las Terrenas. and thank you too for to share your great comments with the TripAdvisor community. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

Please be assured we will work on your comments regarding the things that will need to improve

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Sublime for your next holidays.

Un gran saludo de todo el staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
819 reviews
21.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sublime Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sublime Samana

Address: Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £171 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sublime Samana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Northeast coast of the Dominican Republic lies the dramatic lush, green tropical jungle clad hills and fine-sand beaches of the Samana Peninsula. Tucked away in this unspoiled tropical paradise lies Sublime Samana, a modern yet elegant luxury resort and member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World.The seven-acre property centers around the expansive canal of pools stretching nearly 500 feet from end-to-end. Rooms have been artfully built to create a contemporary setting in harmony with nature. One- and two-bedroom suites feature a living room, master bedroom and bathroom, guest bathroom, spacious balcony, and kitchen with Viking appliances. Views from the room are of the canals of streaming pools that line the lush gardens. Even more opulent are the 2- and 3-bedroom villas that feature large bedrooms, indoor and outdoor living spaces, a Jacuzzi and state-of-the-art kitchen with top floor villas featuring a rooftop terrace and plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sublime Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sublime Samana Dominican Republic - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing