We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly "Sublime"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sublime Samana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sublime Samana
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly "Sublime"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

As part of my birthday present, my girlfriend Jojo and I spent a few days at the resort in Samana with our collective 4 girls (16, 12, 8 & 8). Each of us greatly enjoyed the accommodations at the villa. The all inclusive breakfast was absolutely wonderful! The staff was extremely warm and helpful at all turns. The beach was beautiful and a great place for the kids to play. We all used the stand up paddle boards that are available to the guests. The resort and gardens were very well kept and picturesque. The manager Bruno made it a point to introduce himself to make sure our stay was comfortable. We plan on returning with and without the kids. We also plan on staying at some of the other hotels that the Small Luxury Hotel brand has to offer. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the three room villa - perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonGush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, Gerente at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Clayton,

Thanks a lot for your beautiful words about Sublime Samana and also thanks a lot for sharing on Tripadvisor. We will share your comments with our team.

It is so important for us comments like yours. The staff gets motivation to be better. It was a pleasure to have your beautiful family in our hotel.

We are so happy knowing that all of you enjoyed our aquatic center, the beach, your villa, the property and the amenities that we offer to our guest.

We want to see you again with and without your daughters.

Besos y abrazos de todo el staff Sublime,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    77
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
164
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
520 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the sublime samana for 2 days the 4th of July weekend. The samana penninsula seems to be less touristy than punta cana and puerta plata which I consider a plus. Its about a 2 hour drive from the airport in Santo Domingo to get to the hotel. It is located on a beautiful beach and the rooms are on either side of lengthy interconnected swimming pools.
The hotel is tastefully decorated with a very open and airy feel. It has a restaurant and a lounge area. They also have a tennis court. The stay is sure to be comfortable. The staff in general are very friendly and courteous. I have to make special mention of the young lady who worked at the restaurant around breakfast time- Very cheerful and efficient.
2 negative points though.
1. Our room was not cleaned after the first night's stay. We were out on the beach all morning and then drove out to the towns of Las Terrenas and Samana. The front desk staff actually gave us directions for the drive. When we got back around 4pm the room had not been cleaned. When we contacted the front desk, they initially said that they were not aware we had been out of the room (which was strange since we got directions from them on the drive to town as we were leaving. Besides a knock on the door would have been a good idea if they thought we were in all day!) They then asked me if I had told anybody to clean the room. I was not aware that this was the process. I spoke to the manager later at night and was told that this was indeed not the process and that the room should have been cleaned. They did send someone in to clean in the evening after I requested it.
2. Wifi is pretty much non existent in the rooms. It is spotty in the common areas.

In essence the Sulime Samana is a great place to stay. Its pleasant, tastefully decorated, quiet and relaxing. However attention to detail is missing. This should not be a deterrent to your staying there. The manager that I spoke to seemed keen on improvement in general and fixing even small things.

Room Tip: If you are driving to the hotel, the last leg of the drive takes you on a highway for which you pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, Gerente at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful comments in TripAdvisor. We will share your comments with our staff, especially with Miladys at the restaurant.

We are glad knowing that you enjoyed our property and the amenities that we offer to our guest. Also, that you enjoyed the peaceful of the area this is one of our objective. We apologize for the inconvenient with the room. We have already discussed this with our staff. For your next stay with us this will not happen.

Thank you again for your beautiful words. We want to see you back.

Saludos de todo nuestro staff Sublime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at Sublime Samana during our 8 night Honeymoon in the Dominican Republic and this resort exceeded our expectations on every level. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and even though it was more space than we needed, we are planning on coming back with our family this spring! The villas are huge and each room is so private with it's own bathroom that it's perfect for group's to stay. The food at the resort is fresh and delicious, the chocolate croissants at breakfast are worth every calorie! The beach is beyond beautiful and there is a great bar right on the sand with wonderful cocktails. I highly recommend the house daiquiri - so refreshing to sip on. We also enjoyed several spa treatments. The staff is excellent, but I highly recommend polishing up on your Spanish before going. The manager was over-the-top helpful from bringing me cortisone for a bug bite to giving us detailed directions to our next destination. After our stay in Samana we went to the Tree House Village which was one hour away then headed to Barahona and stayed at Casa Bonita. We can't wait to come back to Sublime!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACorcelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, Gerente at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your impressions about Sublime Samana. Comments like yours motivate our team every day to improve the quality of the services we offer.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your villa, the beach, breakfast every day, the food, our house daiquiri and the spa treatments. Coson’s beach is certainly one of the best beaches of Dominican Republic and the Caribbean itself.

Thank you again for taking the time to express what Sublime’s Experience meant to you.

It was a pleasure helping you with the directions to your next destination.

We are forward to welcome your family in your next trip and we want to see you in your 1st anniversary.

Saludos desde Sublime Samana,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I recently spent 7 nights at Sublime Samana. When we first arrived, I was thinking we had made a mistake. The location is somewhat more remote than other beach resorts that we have enjoyed. The trip into Las Terranes is $40 round trip which can add up quickly over the course of one week. Originally, I was planning on renting a car but decided against it. I made the right decision. The roads are not that good and not many people speak good English. I very quickly realized that the remoteness of the location was an advantage. It was so very peaceful and relaxing! A great place to get away from the hustle and bustle. The beach is beautiful! We enjoyed the ocean waters as well as the pools. The staff was very friendly. Jasmine and Harold were particularly helpful as we booked excursions, inquired about the town of Las Terranes, and asked about dining options outside of the resort.
The food at the resort was good but very few veggie or salad options. We did eat in Las Terranes a few nights. Paco Cabana was our favorite. We did 3 excursions; 1) Snorkeling at Playa Fronton and Playa Madame, 2) El Limon waterfall horseback ride, and 3) Los Haitises National Park cave excursion. All were very enjoyable. Overall, we had a great time at Sublime Samana!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, Gerente at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Lori,

It was a pleasure to have met you, your husband and your two daughters. We are so happy knowing that you enjoyed the peaceful of the area. You finally found the correct place for relaxing.

We certainly have one of the most beautiful beaches of the country.

Thank you for your comment about our staff, we will share with Jazmin and Haroldo your beautiful words.

Also, thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor’s readers about Las Terrenas’s town and also the excursions. It is really important for us to promote Las Terrenas’s town and the city of Samana.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Besos y abrazos de todo el staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Truly stunning bit of Atlantic beach. Completely peaceful hotel experience. The Sublime hotel/condo complex is nestled on the east end of Playa Coson which is the most beautiful beach in the area. The hotel provided a tranquil, thoroughly enjoyable beach experience. More families than couples but we had the beach to ourselves in the early morning and evening. I loved our suite, which had a kitchen-living room and a bedroom, both opening onto a balcony.

Pros: The perfect beach--Lovely graphite colored sand gives the crystal clear water a silvery-blue hue. Despite the luxury hotels, the beach still has a local feel--you'll see fishermen in rowboats and couples on motos. The suite--really pretty room, everything came together in a thoughtful, practical way. The staff--helpful, professional, friendly.

Cons: If you don't rent a car, you might feel a bit trapped--things are not as close or as connected as they look on a map! Warm but not hot shower (no tub) in the rooms for 2 people. The hotel portion is the farthest from the beach, with the family condos being closest, so if there are just two of you, you'll not be able to hear or see much of the ocean from your balcony.

Room Tip: Think about when you want to use your balcony--the rooms on the east side are full sun from 11-6pm w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, Gerente at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your beautiful words to describe our hotel. We certainly have one of the best beaches in the entire country. We are very happy knowing that you enjoyed all the amenities and the property.

We will share your comments with all the staff.

Also, is important for us your suggestions about the hot water in the units. That is not normally in the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient.

Thank you again for sharing your beautiful comments in TripAdvisor.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Saludos desde Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a beautiful quiet resort in the beach with beautiful pools and chill music playing throughout the day they provided many options for enjoying the beach including comfy chairs and lounges with full sun or protected
We enjoyed many drinks at the bar poolside and tried multipe dishes and esp loved the ceviche salad and octopus
They offer kayaking and windsurfing as well
Again beautiful place to chill it is though about a 3 hr drive from santo Domingo

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frexinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Frexinet,

First of all thank you for trusting in Hotel Sublime Samana and for choosing us to enjoy your vacations.

We really appreciate your beautiful comments about your stay with us. These comments are very important to maintain the quality in our hotel.

The entire Sublime´s team is very happy to hear that you have had an amazing time during your recent stay at our hotel and also that you enjoyed all the facilities and the amenities that we offer to our guest.

Thanking you once again for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Saludos de todo el staff de Sublime Samana,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Found this place on Las Terrenas Luxury website. We could not have been any pleased with Sublime Samana. Great staff, good food and lovely rooms. Coson is a very magical place we plan to return soon. Just to sit on the beach and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Tim,

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments about Sublime Samana and thank you for taking a time to write us in Trip Advisor.

We feel so glad knowing that you enjoyed our rooms, the staff and the food. Definitely we will tell to all the staff. Your mention of the area of Coson is so important for us; we hope our guest can get the experience in this area of the city.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Saludos de todo el staff de Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
21.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#3 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sublime Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sublime Samana

Property: Sublime Samana
Address: Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sublime Samana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Northeast coast of the Dominican Republic lies the dramatic lush, green tropical jungle clad hills and fine-sand beaches of the Samana Peninsula. Tucked away in this unspoiled tropical paradise lies Sublime Samana, a modern yet elegant luxury resort and member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World.The seven-acre property centers around the expansive canal of pools stretching nearly 500 feet from end-to-end. Rooms have been artfully built to create a contemporary setting in harmony with nature. One- and two-bedroom suites feature a living room, master bedroom and bathroom, guest bathroom, spacious balcony, and kitchen with Viking appliances. Views from the room are of the canals of streaming pools that line the lush gardens. Even more opulent are the 2- and 3-bedroom villas that feature large bedrooms, indoor and outdoor living spaces, a Jacuzzi and state-of-the-art kitchen with top floor villas featuring a rooftop terrace and plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sublime Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sublime Samana Dominican Republic - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing