We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location is everything”
other travellers have booked this property
Main House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main House
Main House Main House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Main House
Main House
Main House
Hallway View from main House
By the pool
Al Fresco Dining
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow View from Main House
Pool
At Night
At night
At Night
Bedroom 1 Main House
Bedroom 2 Main House
Bedroom 2 Main House
Living Room Main House
Kitchen Main House
Seating Room Bungalow
Bedroom 3 Bungalow
Coson Beach
View from Boulevard Atlantico
Las Ballenas Beach
Restaurants Pueblo Pescadores
Restaurants Pueblo Pescadores
Restaurants Pueblo Pescadores
Las Ballenas Beach
Sunset at Las Ballenas Beach
Poppy Beach
Los Pescadores Beach
French Restaurant Short Walk from the Villa
Have a beer at the beach...
Water Sports
Du-Du Lagoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Weekendgy...
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at El Secreto in Las Terrenas. The location is easy walking to the most perfect and beautiful beach spot for families. The house suited our needs with the guest house and pool. It’s quiet, safe and secure with a locked gated entrance. The garden is very beautiful and well maintained.
Being our first time in Las Terrenas we had a lot of trouble locating El Secreto. Specific directions with landmarks should be included in the house manual. We drove around lost for 2 hours then was able to get the owner on the phone for step by step directions. Then we were nicely greeted by the owner’s local property manager Kelvin.

We were only staying for 3 nights and I misunderstood that breakfast is only included on weekly bookings, which was a bummer after a long day of travel with two kids.

Power goes out quite a bit, and they charge each renter for usage, so be careful how much power you use and bring a flashlight.

I would recommend this property to renters because of the walking distance to the beach and the beautiful pool.

Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review us. From now on, we will include directions on our house guide too. We hope you come back to visit us, and thanks again for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasureh...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great owner, great location”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I concur with the positive reviews here. This secure, comfortable, well-located rental was perfect for our family of four plus two friends. The owner went out of her way to accommodate my special-needs son, and the property manager was very helpful to us.

Las Terrenas is a fascinating mix of beautiful beaches and cultural cross-currents--particularly when it comes to cuisine. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Villa El Secreto. We are always striving to provide our guests with the best experience possible, and it is very satisfying to hear that you and your family enjoyed our home and Las Terrenas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm_M...
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful comfortable Villa, great location, great owners to work with”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely Villa for 2 days in April 2016. 2 adults 3 girls. We had an incredible time at this place we wish we had stayed more time. This place is very cozy, and it has everything you need for a Comfortable stay.The place is a bit removed from the town and the beach if you don't have transportation. You can get to and from the villa via a residential dirt road that has not lighting at night. So I think transportation is a must. The driveway and gate to the property is very narrow (Picture attached) our small car was ok. Anything larger might pose a problem.

The good:

Completely private property far from bars and roads.
The private pool is large, clean, and lots of fun.
The rooms and bedding are clean and comfortable
The bathroom clean and roomy (could use a little more lighting)
The kitchen well stocked, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, a 5 gallon bottle of drinking water, plenty of dishes and utensils.
The entire area and property feels safe and relaxing
No noise from bars, neighbors or cars
TV with cable and plenty of channels
WIFI that works in the whole property. Not the fastest but enough to make wifi calls on our cell phone and do basic browsing etc.
Kelvin the property manager was extremely friendly, courteous, and attentive.

The not so good or improvements:

The tap water has a foul smell and taste. It was strong enough that we could not use it even to brush our teeth. It is well described by the owners in the property add and it is due to the well water being used. I don't think there is anything the owners can do about this. They do have plenty of purified water to use for drinking and cooking. This, however, will not discourage us from staying again. The taste of the water was also present on the pool water. But this is not only on this property, we stated in another place in the are that had similar issues with tap water and pool.

There are bugs, this is a very remote area of the DR with a lot of vegetation. There are bugs. You can tell they take care of fumigating the interior and perimeter of the house, but there are still some mosquitoes, spiders, centipedes, ants and lots more. Please take repellent. We took our own bed netting and we slept very comfortable zero bites inside the house. We did get one or two while outside.

The last item is the check out time is at 10:00 am. There was somebody scheduled to go in the same day we left and Kelvin asked us if he could start cleaning up at 8am. I was not too trilled about that and I understand they have to clean it up for the next guests but they started cleaning the outside first and were as quiet as they could to allow us to sleep in a little late. Still a later check out time would be nice.

Overall, we are very very very satisfied with our stay. The owners were phenomenal, great communicators. The deposit was returned on time and I fully recommend them for anyone that plans to stay at this location. I hope our travels brings us to this part of the world again so we could plan for another stay at this villa.

Thank you guys for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private Pool, Privacy, Setup of property
Liked least: water smell / taste (Described in property)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you so very much for choosing Villa El Secreto for your stay! We are glad that your family enjoyed our home. We are treating the water with chlorine nowadays which has taken care of most of the smell of the water which tends to be stronger on dry season. We have changed our check-out time to 11:00 to allow guests for a later departure :). Thanks again and we hope you come back to see us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zenmaestr...
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“recommended vacation spot and responsive owner”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

pros:
* great location.
* short walk to the beach
* easy walk to town for all kinds shopping
* super responsive and friendly owner and local property manager
* clean and highly functional home
* kitchen is well stocked with utensils, dishes and pots -though could use sharper kitchen knives
* air condition in bedrooms
* working wifi -successfully streamed netflix movies to tv
* swimming pool
* great outdoor patio/deck
* beautiful yard
* quiet and seemingly safe neighborhood
* great beach
* secured parking -compact cars only, i mean that. don't rent/bring a big car. our little nissan sentra was challenging enough.
* hot showers.
* water dispenser for 5 gallon bottles

cons:
* white paint in pool rubs off when touched and stains skin. requiring soap and water to remove. so, we avoided the pool. thankfully beach is close and way more fun.
* several power outages means no running water
* mosquitoes -the nature of tropical rainforests

comments:
we spent a week here and enduring several power outages. during power outage, water stops running. buy plenty of water. the five gallon bottle is very inexpensive to refill. make sure to bring the 5 gallon bottle in the house to the supermarket and receive a deposit otherwise it will cost more than five times the cost.

bring flashlight for night walks to town and for power outages -perhaps even bring LED lantern for outages. plenty of candles in the house. for walks to town, it may make sense to bring a personal light flasher -like the ones on bicycles. road's mostly unlit, narrow and motorcycles and cars often drive faster than seems sensible. buy citronella from supermarket for mosquitoes. lots of mosquitoes. if you wants something less toxic than the typical mosquitoes body repellents -like the brand "deep woods off", consider bringing your own mosquito repellent.

overall, great spot to relax. perhaps, the most relaxing vacation that i've spent anywhere. i'd definitely stay here again. thank you, bibi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: staining paint in swimming pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WootforWa...
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, safe and FANTASTIC location!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Gracias Bibi and El Secreto! I was contemplating between 2 different properties and I feel very blessed to have ended up at El Secreto! Everything is as described and it looks just like the pictures (only better).

Location, location, location!! The location of this place is great. It is a very short walk to what I thought was the best place to hang/swim on the beach. It is nice walking distance into town and a shorter distance to various restaurants/bars. If you don't want to walk, there was always a local there ready to offer their scooter taxi services...and i highly recommend taking at least one trip this way...highly entertaining...and a bit scary.

We prepared our own food almost every meal and the kitchen had everything we needed (well, almost everything...no wine opener). The bbq works and is a nice addition.

The air conditioner keeps the place cool. I'm not one to normally use air conditioning...yet it was a nice luxury at night. The beds (and pillows) were comfortable and I slept great.

The paint from the pool got on our skin and made it white. I informed Bibi of this and she responded immediately letting me know that someone will be taking a look at this. It washed off and she handled it well. I didn't care much, as i prefer the ocean anyway.

Las Terrenas and El Secreto were the perfect location for a very relaxing vacation on the beach.

THANKS!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at Villa El Secreto. We are always happy to hear our guests enjoy the villa, amenities and location. We hope you come back and stay with us again. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont Alberta
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claesgust...
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

One of the best vacations we ever had.
The villa is absolutely wonderful!(It's bigger than it looks on the pictures)
The pool is perfect for the kids, and adults.
But most of all we loved Las Terrenas with all the beaches and superb restaurants.
The owner was more than helpful with all the questions we had before and during our stay! (Thank you Bibi!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for writing about your stay at Villa El Secreto. We make every effort to offer our guests the best value and service. We hope you return to visit us some time soon. Bibi & Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing