We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to disconnect from the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at the Colibri already a few times, and always had a great time! Although simple, appartments are very clean; big bedrooms, lots of closets, big bathrooms, all basic amenities in the kitchen which allow you to enjoy meals on the large balcony... The gardens are magnificent, the pool big enough to enjoy a few laps, and has a jacuzzi adjacent to it. Staff is helpful and friendly. The beach is just accross the road, with easy chairs and a beach bar that serves all kind of snacks and drinks. The town is just a 5' motocoche away (or a 15' romantic walk on the beach), and many restaurants and bars can be found there. Las Terrenas is away from mass tourism and is a nice little town, the start of many day-tours. Le Colibri is a great place to stay with a homey feeling... far from home !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MLF-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We are a family with young children who had an excellent stay at Hotel Colibri. Everything looked BETTER than in the website photos; big rooms, TWO big bathrooms, big closets, big balcony, very clean, lovely landscaping, even closer to beach than I thought it would be, very friendly staff. The room decor was ok - lots of aqua painted wood furniture. We borrowed a hotel crib for our youngest and it was handmade (aqua painted wood) and huge, even for a 3 year old. Everything on the grounds and rooms was very clean. The pool was about 4ish feet deep everywhere, a little too deep for my tall 6 year old to touch. There was an adjoining side pool that was only about 2 feet deep and surrounded by a bench for sitting and relaxing, but this side pool was too small to actually swim in. The room air conditioners worked great, although there were none in the kitchen/TV room area. Sometimes I welcomed the heat of that area and other times I wanted the coolness of the air conditioned bedrooms. The staff was very helpful to us in terms of conversation, advising about side trips, directions. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gotkidswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I guess is that the first thing that a property must do, is to be quite clear about the type of product they sell.
If they were marketing themselves as a two star apartotel, I would say is quite acceptable, but under the current image they project is simply not to the standards of what one should accept as comfortable and attractive room accommodations.
It is one thing to rent apartments, a different thing is to offer an unattractive and very basic furniture and accommodation.I understand that while the water may not be suited to human consumption, the hotel should offer bottled water as an alternative, whether free or for a cost, but to have a huge plastic bottle, on a swinging support, is not attractive nor appealing. However if all you are looking for is a clean place close to the beach, clean and with decent food,with basic accommodations it wil be fine.
All it takes is to be quite clear and describe clearly what a property offers. I think that there are many other properties that offer a much more complete vacation experience in the same general area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Went there for the last 5 years and always great.........i even brough a studio last year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxouMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Pros: Beautifully manicured grounds and colorful decor. Friendly, attentive staff. Great prices. Located on pristine beachfront. Great food and drinks at the hotel's palapa on the beach. Room was clean and had a mini-frige, A/C, hairdryer, wi-fi and safe. Was away from the hustle and bustle of Las Terrenas proper and only a short walk from Playa Bonita.

Cons: As observed by other guests on TripAdvisor, the beds and pillows were definitely hard. The wooden slat windows also let in a bit of noise. The website also claims to have a restaurant in addition to the beach bar, but we never found it! Had to walk down the street to another hotel's restaurant for an expanded menu.

Overall, a fantastic value. The room had the basic essentials. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs just in case. It comes with a pretty good continental breakfast at the beach palapa (opens at 8am). It's at the quieter end of a row of beachfront hotels, which was nice. FYI- There doesn't seem to be any good snorkeling anywhere in this area, so you may have to drive awhile to do that. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from 12 peaceful days at the Colibri in Las Terrenas. The staff is most friendly and accommodating and helpful in planning your stay in the area. They speak many languages and know the area and town, a plus for any vacation! The grounds are beautiful and very well kept, as are the spacious rooms. The amenities all worked well, from the very fast and reliable internet wifi, the air conditioning and the well equiped kitchen, which saves on restaurant bills. The area is our favorite in Las Terrenas. The beach is great for swimming and is just across the street. Town is a bit far to walk but we had a vehicle so was no problem and the desk will call for you a motoconcho or taxi. It is possible to walk to town but probably 20 minutes or so. Great value for the money and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: have different room sizes for all types of groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benforpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We visited Las Terrenas in early December for a quick get-away before the hectic holidays. Our flights took us from Atlanta through Miami to Santo Domingo and the same back. From ATL to MIA, American Airlines took my only carry on at the gate and I've never seen my bag since. But that didnt ruin my vacation. The people at the hotel Colibri were sympathetic, understanding and very helpful in tyring to track my luggage down so that I could enjoy my short stay.

The hotel is more of a condo-tel. The "rooms" have kitchens and separate bedrooms/bathrooms/living rooms. There are several floor plans, from a one bedroom to two bedroom to town house 2-story style, all practically beach front. There is a small (charming brick paver) road in front of the hotel that you need to cross to get to the beach but that is characteristic of all of Las Terrenas beach hotels. There is an ordnance that buildings must be 60 feet off the beach to preserve the beach front walking experience. (side note: this is one of the better beaches to stay at and walk because its wide and picturesque. But there are several beaches to check out either walking - Punta Poppy or by car, Playa Bonita, Playa Coson. All very lovely and worth the minimal effort).

The hotel serves breakfast on the beach (included in the hotel rate) and there is food, snacks and drinks all day long at this little beach hut for a nominal fee.

The pool is one of the larger ones and is perfectly situated in the middle of the complex yet you can see the beach from it.

The location is about a kilometer from the main downtown area of L.T. and an easy walk. Do bring a flashlight because there are no street lights for your return walk at night. The area is very safe so no worries there.

This is not the newest hotel and would not be considered "luxury" but its very clean, and well maintained. The furnishings are brightly colored and efficient. There are TVs but not flat screens and the towels and linens are substantial. Plus the staff goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

I would stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it for families, solo travelers, and couples.

Room Tip: Its worth a few more pesos for a room with a view. The decks are large and lots of time is spent out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATL_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
458 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#19 of 35 in Las Terrenas
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Playa Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Playa Colibri

Address: Francisco Caamana Deno, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: £69 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Residence Playa Colibri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri is located directly on the beach and close to the centre of Las Terrenas. Most of its 45 spacious apartments, suites and studios have an ocean view. The hotel has many amenities, such as an outdoor pool with jacuzzi, guest service and information in 6 languages, a restaurant and bar with beach terrace, room service, and a high speed internet connection (DSL) in every apartment. It is a great place to spend a Caribbean vacation and encounter the Dominican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Residence Playa Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Playa Colibri Hotel
Residence Playa Colibri Las Terrenas
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing