We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accommodations and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Allison B
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What They Do Not Tell or Show You”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The windows are not tinted and protected. Three property workers visually assaulted my 26-year-old daughter while she was in the shower. The property owner still denies the windows are not tinted and this did not occur. See the attached photo I took after the incident to prove you can see into the shower that does not have any blinds to pull down.

No tennis court, steam room and pool table as promised. The concierge (Stephanie) confirmed the tennis court is not playable after we arrived with all of our gear in tow. The steam room is broken and being used as storage, see attached image. There was no pool table in sight. They provide a washer, but no dryer.

Getting enough drinking water and towels. It took two days of requesting and then complaining before an adequate supply was provided.

The roof flooded and leaded creating huge puddles on the dangerous and slippery marble floor. It occurred multiple times and was not adequately cleaned up or addressed during our stay. See attached pictures. Also, the house routinely smells like a dead animal is inside, especially in the kitchen and laundry area.

Know what is around you, especially if bringing smaller children. Security men surround the property with machine guns. The concierge promises it is safe to walk into town, but we were continually approached and harassed by locals at the beach and even while dining inside a restaurant. They also try to enter the property while you are at the pool. Thankfully, the security men did not let them past the gate. In addition, you will see prostitutes, some fully nude on the beach with men.

We left the property and headed back home before our vacation was over it was just a frightening and awful experience. If it was not so difficult to get safe and reliable transportation for the long ride back to the airport, we would have left much earlier.

I have traveled all over the world and to many Caribbean locations, and this was the worst experience imaginable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sol-Mar restaurant food, service and cleanliness
Liked least: The unsafe environment and false promises made by the property owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
The safety and security of our guest is always our top priority. The guest states that her daughter was visually assaulted by our staff thru a window in the bathroom shower that does not have blinds to pull down. We’ll like to inform that this window is tinted; only see thru inside out not outside in; it’s designed this way for when in the shower you’re able to enjoy the garden’s view that’s naturally grown on top of a rock outside the window; the outside area is non-accessible. We tried to explain this information, but never gave us the opportunity to do so. As it can happen to any rental property, we’d had a leakage in the kitchen sink that we immediately tried to fix, we tried to access the property twice, but the guest didn’t allow us in to the property until the third day; therefore the water spill out to the kitchen floor until we fix the problem with the sink; but still the guest was not happy, stating that the property was a dangerous place for her to be at, we offered to relocate to an upgraded property and transfer all belongings at no additional charge, but the guest refused this offer and choose to stay at the property. She states the amenities were not as promised, no tennis court, pool table, wash\dryer or steam room was available for use. The tennis court is private and playable at your own, no staff is available to accompany, this information was explain and provided to the guest upon arrival but the guest replied that t was out of order for her. We did had the sauna/steam room out of order, but we never offered a pool table and we have wash\dryer at the property and at the residence complex. The guest also mentions that there was not enough drinking water and towels, we are a rental property, not an all-inclusive, but we do provide a storage closet that is always full of these amenities, but the guest requested for us to go to the storage closet to hand in every time a towel, water or toilet paper was needed. As an additional statement from the guest; cleanliness was an issue; but we provide daily house keeper at no additional charge. One of our main concern with our service is to make sure every area is fully clean and disinfected, past reviews can actually give us the creditability on our say. The guest claimed a full refund on departure day, we refunded US$500.00 to compensate for any inconvenience foreseeing, as we did everything possible to accommodate. Reviews are very important, especially when taking the time with every detail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia8...
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations and location”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in unit B2, which had a gorgeous view of the beach from the hill and a 3 min walk to get there past the compound pool, which was very nice as well. The villa was just as pictured--quite lovely and first class. Stephany, the property manager, was beyond belief. She is an angel and took care of anything we asked for. The beach was beautiful and extensive. We walked for miles on the beach from the villa (which is located at the very end of the beach making it nice and quiet). Here, unlike other places in the DR, you are integrated in the community, not sequestered within an all-inclusive compound. Beaches are all public and the town, which cones right up to the beach, is small and welcoming. Traveling with women, we never felt unsafe in any way. The restaurants were good, easy, inexpensive and low-key. A great getaway!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime M
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Premier Property in Las Terrenas: A must See!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at VillaRiberaMar exceeded expectations on all accounts. The property is very well maintained and is arguably more impressive than what you see in pictures on the website. The mountainside location and proximity to playa ballenas is ideal for those looking for a quiet yet luxurious retreat. Finally, what really makes VillaRiberaMar the premier luxury destination in Las Terrenas is the outstanding staff headed by Stephany. Our family vacation included many details and particulars that require attention to details and great listening skills. Stephany’s attentiveness and hospitality skills really elevate the overall experience at this property. There are many great places that can be built. It is folks like Stephany and team that really deliver on the premise of what is advertised and more. I highly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakirra8...
Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best vacation ever”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is everything that you can imagine in a vacation. We were well taken care of from the moment we entered the villa. We didn't have a worry in the world. The were exceptionally attentive and I don't have one single complaint. The chef service was to die for and Stephanie was full of energy and fulfilled our every needs. The perfect villa to celebrate my moms birthday or any other special occasion you have in mind!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyo C
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay in Las Terrenas”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From A to Z it is the Perfect place to stay with a family of 5, the attention from Estefanie and Franco were excellent. The location is perfect, is near to the beach but at the same time distant from the crowd. Walking distance to restaurants. The apt was neat and mostly new, the jacuzzi and pool with water heater to relax after the day at the beach is perfect.
Daniel the Chef was excellent.
Thank you, Estefanie, Franco and Emma.
we will come back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The like new conditions, decoration, and the jacuzzi
Liked least: king size mattress was a bit hard, but they promised to fix this or replace mattress
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKBolt
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent! Magnífico! Magnifique! Prächtig! Bèl!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The attention to detail and attentiveness of staff was beyond compare. The villa duplex was exactly as represented, rather surreal. However, the owners and staff are the heart of this home. Their impeccable service, friendliness, professionalism and charm will resonate with our family forever. Not a moment was spared relaxing on the large comfortable terrace and enjoying our private gym, sauna, private pool and jacuzzi, ATV, bikes, gorgeous huge residential pool, and the best restaurant (Spoon Beach) and beach bar (Sol Y Mar) on the island located in front of the gated community over looking the beach. The perfect location: Stunning views. Remote pristine beach, close to town, boasting paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and a wide flat sandy beach. Highly recommend hiring Chef Danielle. 5 star food and service presented on your terrace with breath taking vistas. Las Terrenas is an international melting pot with a relaxing breath taking caribbean atmosphere. If someone had waved a magic wand it truly would not have been more ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stress-free getaway in Paradise”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I visit the Dominican Republic frequently, but never have been to Samana. I had my whole trip planned out, and had a few days to fill in with something to do, so I decided to take a trip Las Terrenas in Samana. When I found Villa Ribera Mar, it seemed too good to be true. Nothing but great reviews, but even better were the pics of the beautiful villas. I booked the 3 bedroom villa with a pool and spa for two nights, and I can definitely say I regret not being able to stay there longer.

The owner of the villa, Emma,promptly contacted me, and made the process easy. She answered my every question and was very helpful and attentive.

When we arrived to Samana, the concierge, Stephanie was in contact with us and met up with us to have us follow her to the villa. We arrived a few hours early, and were worried that we had to wait until check in time. But we were accommodated right away and Stephanie took us to our villa. She gave us a tour of the house, and then gave us about 30 minutes to get settled in to the place before going through the paperwork. Which was great because we were tired, and all we wanted to do was jump in the pool! She came back, went over everything, gave us a phone to reach her directly.

Now it was time to relax! We couldn't believe how beautiful the villa was. It was beyond our expectations and they were pretty high before arriving. It is spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The pool and spa were great, plus we had a nice view of Playa Ballenas.

I honestly would be happy not even leaving the villa. It has everything you need. I regret not staying longer, and didn't want to leave. But we will be back soon, and for longer next time. I have nothing bad to say about my stay. It was truly the best villa I've rented so far. Can't wait til next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing