We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wish I'd stayed in THAT house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area by the pool: bar, pool table, jacuzzi, sofas, lounge chairs Open space living room, sofas and dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Lounge area by the pool: bar, pool table, jacuzzi, sofas, lounge chairs
Open space living room, sofas and dining table
Open space living room
Open space living room. No windows: closes with storm shutters.
Open space living room
Bar area: counter, fridge, stools and pool table
Heated jacuzzi by night
Back garden and shallow pool for children
Custom made metal fire place
Master bedroom: king size bedroom
Master bedroom: king size bedroom. Opens on a terrace outlooking the ocean
Master bedroom's bathroom
Master bedroom's bathroom
Guests bedroom: 2 twin size beds setting. Can also be setup with a king size bed.
Guests bedroom: 2 king size bed setting. Can also be setup with 2 twin beds
View from the guests bedroom
View from the terrace of the bedrooms
Children bedroom: king size bed
Children bedroom: 3 bunk beds
Children bedroom bathroom
2nd Master bedroom: queen size bed
2nd Master bedroom: bathroom
2nd Master bedroom: bathroom
Aerial view of the swimming pool in balinese stones
View from the Master bedroom
Sunset by the pool
Sunset by the pool
Our team awaits you at Casa Phil!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Eric K
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish I'd stayed in THAT house”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a big crew—four families, 14 people in tow for our stay in Las Terrenas. We'd rented two houses. The one up on the top of the hill and Casa Phil. While the house I stayed in with my family was great, Casa Phil was better. More modern, more family friendly and able to be closed off if it rained (it didn't, but how nice to have the option). So the house was cool, and when I discovered the unanticipated need to get signatures to New York so my son wouldn't lose his new apartment, the house's owner—that would be Phil—saved the day, arranging for his attorney to notarize my signature and send the package via scooter, bus and personal courier to the DHL office on the other side of the island, where it arrived safely and made its way to New York, just in time.

So, Casa Phil is a great house, Phil is a great guy and I can assure you, you'll have the time of your life in this beautiful part of the Dominican Republic. We'll definitely be back—and next time, I'll be staying in THAT house.

Eric

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Eric, thank you for your review.
Next time, I hope you can stay at Casa Phil.
Warm regards
Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge M
New Suffolk, New York
1 review
“Spectacular Villa Overlooking the Ocean”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We traveled extensively around the world, staying at both resorts as well as homes/villas. I would have to say this is probably the most unique, beautiful villa we've stayed at. The villa has a wonderful setting, overlooking the ocean, and we especially enjoyed hanging out at the pool and watching some beautiful sunsets. Andrea the lady who helps around the house was very helpful in giving us suggestions for local restaurants, as well as things to do. One evening we arranged for a chef to come in and cook dinner, and it was a very memorable evening. The location was very convenient, just outside the town of Las Terrenas, yet very private and removed from the noises of the town. The villa was beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable, and what we loved was the indoor/outdoor flow to the villa. We were mostly outdoors, under the large covered areas, enjoying the beautiful weather. We hope to return some point to enjoy this beautiful property once again.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
choste197...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to begin by thanking Philippe and his staff for making our entire trip absolutely amazing from start to finish. From the months leading up to our stay, to the minute we got on the plane to come home, they all went above and beyond.
Our group stayed at Casa Phil for 10 nights, and consisted of 4 adults and 6 children (a 2 year old, three 4 year olds, an 8 year old and one 10 year old). The villa more than accommodated our group in terms of space and amenities. The home itself is absolutely spectacular. Very well appointed, beautifully furnished, and intelligently laid out in a way that is ideal for the setting and our situation. I can honestly say that we utilized every square inch of the home, and enjoyed spending time on every level, in every room, and every space.
Aside from enjoying the pool and the home, we also spent considerable time on the nearby beaches. Despite being very removed and secluded, the home is just a 5 minute walk down a private “hidden” road to the main beach. The beach itself is gorgeous, and while active on the weekends, we essentially had it to ourselves on weekdays. We also made a concerted effort to get out and about in the town of Las Terrenas proper, which was very worthwhile and I am glad we did so. Las Terrenas is very unique, especially relative to what you would (not) experience in an area like Punta Cana.
In terms of excursions, we went horseback riding to El Limon waterfall and zip lining in Playa El Valle. But the highlight by far was spending the day with Philippe on the buggy tour. I can’t imagine a day being more fun, more entertaining, or special.
Finally, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the staff by name. Andrea, Victor, Jenelle and Danielle made the trip for us. They doted on our children, tended to our every need, and went above and beyond to make our stay as peaceful and stress free as possible. Andrea in particular deserves special mention as both the cocinera y jefe de la casa. Her cooking was filled with joy and love, and I already miss her pancakes, rice pudding, chicken and frijoles.

I can recommend this home, host and staff without reservation or hesitation. Do yourself a favor and come to Casa Phil! Thank you all again so much for making our stay at Casa Phil so unique and wonderful, and we will most definitely be back!

Date of stay: March 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
1 review
“Beautiful home with a view!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Casa Phil is a beautiful property with an amazing view. The home comes equip with all the amenities of being at home. The service and cleanliness at Casa Phil was beyond expectation. The view from the pool deck to the ocean is amazing and the sound of the waves is so relaxing. Las Terrenas is very close by if you want to go to town for dinner, drinks or shopping. Also a short drive away are many fun things to do such as Los Haitesis, zip lining, and El Limon waterfall. We had a wonderful time at this magnificent home and will be returning!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannecor...
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Villa with all the necessary amenities, amazing!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Phil is a beautiful home with plenty of space for our family of 8 with a baby. It even has a room for kids with 3 bunk beds and toys.

The pool and the terrace was a great place for our family to hang out each day early in the morning or later in the day after being at the beach or strolling around Las Terrenas. We enjoyed the modern kitchen, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, with ceiling fans and air conditioning.

Andrea the woman who helps around the house, Daniel the property maintenance man, and Phil the owner of the property were all very friendly and helpful.

There are many great places to eat and shop and the beach is down the little dirt road about a 4 minute walk. There is everything you need in town including a north American style grocery store. There was also a little yacht club close where we could rent SUP and Kayaks for the day. All within walking distance.

We took a short walk early each morning to buy coconuts from a man who drives around on a motorcycle and empanadas sold on the street! Yum!!

The Samana Zip Line was fun, and a taxi took us to and from the Samana Airport, coming right to the house to get us.

We had a great experience at Casa Phil and have already recommended it to several friends! We plan to return!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of Space.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmorg...
Boardman, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainy but beautiful nonetheless!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this particular Villa based on photos and reviews. We much prefer a home setting rather than a hotel and Phil’s home is beyond any other we have experienced. Phil put so much thought and love into every aspect. We never felt like we were renting a vacation home - we felt privileged to be there. Previous reviewers covered all the basics - amazing kitchen, perfect use of space, wonderful shower and bed, all the amenities: wifi, large TV, local hosts on hand to help with any issues, and of course the view from most of the house and especially from the balcony. We chose the rainy season to visit and that's what we got. 5 of the 7 days it rained, often heavy and with high winds. Though it would have been nice to see a little more sun, we were very content sitting on the balcony with a good book and a cup of coffee or wine depending on the time of day. Watching the water change moods and all the activity that continues rain or shine was so relaxing, I'm sure we would have spent a good deal of time doing just that even if the sun was always shining.
Not to say we didn't explore the island. We drove from Las Terrenas to Playa Grande making stops at Laguna Dudu for a swim in the natural pools, discovering lots of wonderful restaurants and people on the way. Took some nice walks between rain showers. The locals are very warm and friendly, even if we don't speak the same language.
Only managed to snorkel one day, on a trip to Samana. They offered to take us again at half price since it wasn't the best experience and we would have taken them up on it if the weather had improved.
If we ever manage to make it back to Las Terrenas we will definitely want to make Casa Phil our home again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people of DR!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy K
1 review
“Our Honeymoon was amazing thanks to Casa Phil!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Casa Phil was a great place to honeymoon. My husband and I enjoyed the view the most. Since it is on the top of hill the breeze makes it much cooler than the rest of Las Terrenas. The staff was a local family that cleaned and helped with anything we needed, Andrea is a great cook and hostess. I would certainly recommend this place to others. The local phone that comes with the place helps a lot, we were able to call for delivery or moto taxi’s whenever we needed them without charging our own phones. The area of Las Ballenas is breathtaking, the color of the sea is something for the eyes to see. There is a secret beach that was very cool to explore just down the road. We enjoyed our honeymoon to the fullest at Casa Phil and would gladly recommend it to our family and friends.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and pool deck.
Liked least: Mosquitos!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.