We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Front but Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alisei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alisei
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Beach Front but Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is in the small town of las terrenas which is actually a beach town with lots of small hotels aimed at independent travellers rather than resorts aimed at tour groups. The hotel is across a small road from the beach a ten minute walk from the main 'strip' of restaurants though has its own restaurant which served an ok buffet breakfast. It has a nice pool and is set in pleasant grounds . We had room 19 which was an attic room with balcony and great sea view. It was spacious , clean and comfy with fridge , fan , air con and a unique but very welcome Addition- a water cooler - great idea that saved us a lot of dollars! The staff were friendly and efficient. In summary a great beach front hotel in a pleasant town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    124
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
163
242
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Our entire family enjoyed our stay at Alisei in Las Terrenas. Our rooms were clean and well equipped. We were impressed with the staff and found the staff to be friendly and professional.

The resort is nestled in a quiet setting with an excellent beach and very nice pool. We found the facilities to be well equipped and well maintained. The food in the restaurant was very good.

However, the one negative we found were the beds. They were very hard and not comfortable. Everything else was wonderful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Papa630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed 7 nights at Alisei in February after choosing the hotel based on its location (on the beach, and short distance to Fisherman's Village). Everything about our stay was fabulous. The staff were friendly and helpful and although my husband speaks a little Spanish, mostly we were able to communicate with them in English which was great. The grounds are beautifully kept, and the pool is very large--large enough to host about 20 people doing water aerobics in one end leaving an entire large half of the pool for the rest of us! The lounge chairs are high quality and the Alisei provides plenty of chairs on the beach as well, which is just across the road from the hotel entrance. Our stay included breakfast daily at Baraonda and the options were plentiful and the buffet was well kept. A 10% gratuity (and 18% tax) is included pretty much everywhere, but we always left an extra couple dollars for the staff after breakfast or at the bar because they were so nice. The only drawback to this place--if you are seeking more of an all-inclusive experience and not into exploring the town and surrounding areas--is that Baraonda is the ONLY restaurant. The food is perfectly good (surprisingly good, actually), but it would probably get tiresome eating there multiple times a day for a week. We ate most of our meals in town at the Fisherman's Village restaurants, or even further afield, such as Mi Corazon (best meal we had) and Le Tre Caravelles. From the Alisei it is about an 8-10 minute walk to Fisherman's Village--either by beach or by road. And in the other direction, you can walk for about 15 minutes to Spoon Beach--the beach gets even nicer in that direction. Alisei is about a 10-minute drive to Coson, the most beautiful beach in the area, and also Bonita, a well-known surfing beach. The location really can't be beat in terms of proximity to town, beach access, and also the fabulous pool. We stayed in a studio room, 3 flights up (great view of the property and ocean beyond), with a king bed, desk, bureau, mini-fridge, water bubbler, large shower and separate bathroom. We had a balcony with 2 chairs and for us, it was perfect. Some people might wish for a seating area but really, how much time do you spend in your room? We did see some of the larger 1- and 2-bedroom suites with kitchens and large terraces and they would be fantastic if traveling with friends. The rooms are not as opulent as some of the 5-star places we've stayed in Punta Cana or Cabo, just simple and well kept. The maid service was very prompt. The ceiling fan and AC worked great, and we were extremely comfortable. There is a great mix of cultures on site and at the pool--a lot of French and Italian families as well as plenty from New York (like us). Overall, this was a perfect vacation. I only regret that we never got a chance to check out the spa...guess we'll have to come back!

Room Tip: It's worth staying on a higher floor for ocean views (and there's a lot of kid noise at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed 7 nights, it was perfect time. The ocean view was breathtaking. We had studio room on the 3 floor. Everything in it was perfect. We spent free time on the balcony. We were eating breakfasts quite near the ocean, in the restaurant Baraonda, outdoors. Between this hotel and the beach is street, but without trafic. There isn't any shops near the hotel, but no problem to go to the centre, about 20 minutes. If you want to eat something, there is Pueblo Pescadores about 10 minutes from hotel. The beach is narrow, typical caribean beach. We rent scooter (25$ per day) and visited surrounding beaches. The best for us was Playa Cozon with Cafe Cozon where you can use sunbeds if you are consumer (without people).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from eight nights at this hotel, could not have been happier! Pool is even bigger than it appears in photos, rooms are clean and airy (my only complaint is the shower head - too high for me to reach and hard to control). The staff is quite wonderful and helpful. Enzo in the office, Jose who arranges excursions, Rigoberto and Freddy in the restaurant, all were so great! And the food at Baraonda is awesome. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarinA914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were looking to get away from a very cold Canadian winter and got lucky with the Hotel Alisei. This is a perfect rest and relaxation spot. The apartments are well laid out and well equipped should you want to do your own cooking. We ate in the restaurant on the property and had delicious meals that were nicely presented and reasonable. The grounds and pool area were lovely. Room and property well maintained and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful with confirming flights home.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brande, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family and I (2 adults, 2 teen agers) just spent two weeks in this hotel and we had a great vacation. The apartments are really beautiful and so is the pool area - not to mention the lovely paradise beach right across from the hotel!
When we arrived, we were very tired after the long trip from Denmark so I dreaded a complicated check in process as we have experienced in other hotels. Never have we experienced to be checked in so efficiently and fast as in this hotel and generally the front desk crew here is very nice and always ready to help you.
The restaurant is good although we did experience a couple of times when things listed in the menu were not available after all. Unlike what we normally do on vacations, this time we actually chose to take many of our evening meals in the hotel restaurant in stead of in the town. We spent New Years evening in the hotel and the buffet was absolutely great!
Small mishaps can happen everywhere - also in this hotel - but it was very obvious that both the staff and the management were very concerned with the well being of their guests so whenever a small problem came up it was dealt with right away.
The only trouble with this hotel is the distance from Puerto Plata. Our travel agency had told us the drive would take two hours but it took almost double as long. But the hotel was worth the drive!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
3.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#13 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#21 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alisei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisei

Property: Hotel Alisei
Address: Calle de la playa (Beach Side Street) | Francisco Alberto Camaño Deñó, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alisei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Beach Front Apartments, where life is a breeze. Hotel Alisei consists of 54 brand new apartments with en-suite bathroom(s), private access and spacious terrace. Decorated in stylish Caribbean elegance with rich tropical hard wood furniture, king size bed(s) and/or single beds, fine fabrics in soft tones and a cozy integrated seating and kitchen area with plenty of colorful pillows. Tall glass doors lead to a large private terrace with enchanting ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alisei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisei Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Alisei Dominican Republic/Samana - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing