We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe and great bread”
Review of The Running Fox

The Running Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Felton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small, friendly Coffee Shop and Artisan Bakery with a philosophy to serve simple yet good quality food, offering a range of sandwiches, platters and soups all served with fresh hand made breads. A full range of fresh pies and quiches made daily are also available to eat in or take away. Also serving lovely Afternoon Teas. Reservations recommended.
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe and great bread”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had lunch there today. An excellent portion of quiche which gave the impression of being just cooked, with a well prepared mixed salad and coleslaw. With a pot of tea from Bari tea in Alnwick, and a loaf of bread to take home, I got change from £10. Not the cheapest cafe, but excellent food, good friendly service. I also got a window seat upstairs overlooking the river, so perhaps Monday is their quiet day looking at the other comments here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for your comments. Having our own team of bakers means that all of our baked goods are fresh and homemade, so it's great to hear such positive feedback.

Kind regards,
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    134
    52
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had heard of this via friends and word of mouth as to how how good it was. I don't believe hype as a rule but we were in the area looking at a house we were thinking of buying so stopped off for lunch. What were we left with? ... In this case, do believe the hype!
Absolutely lovely meal. Fresh, plentiful, tasty and well prepared. Service was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. Bread was so delicious that I thought even bread with just a spread of butter would leave you satisfied that you've had something special. We couldn't believe how reasonable the bill was. Just shows that profit can be made charging low and providing quality. Other restaurants need to learn from this. It can be done! As proven here. Well done running fox. You've a fan or two and wish you well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback and its lovely to hear that you listened to the 'hype' and took the time to stop off for a bite to eat.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of attention to detail and splendid food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A lot of thought has gone in to the Running Fox. It's not just the magnificent cakes, bread and scones that have you salivating as soon as you cross the threshold. They are rather wonderful though. Book a table in advance for lunch, and ask for a window seat. Lovely view over the village which is a delight on a sunny day. The toilets are immaculate, baby changing bench with wipes and nappy bags included soap, paper towels and hand creme all to hand. The tearoom/restaurant has an upstairs which is a little calmer than the downstairs area, and also a lovely fat sofa to recline on. Plenty of choice from salads to home made pies, but this is restaurant quality home made food which elevates it to something really special. Well done to the Running Fox staff for their lovely welcome and kind attention without being intrusive. Your empty coffee cup will be refilled promptly and with a smile. Great combination of lovely staff and lovely food, a real treasure. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank femina_pulchra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Wow! Thanks so much for such a glowing and detailed review. We really appreciate all feedback and are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit so much.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My friend and I had lunch there today and just could not decide what to have as everything looked so lovely. The staff were really nice and the prices were so reasonable. We had booked a table and I am pleased we did as it was busy but still a few tables left. There are 2 floors so if you need to consider booking for someone who may have difficulty with stairs, worth saying to book downstairs. A really nice place to have a catch up with friends and family. I definitely recommend this!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for such a positive review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Fox and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“my ever expanding waistline? Now where is that cake????”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to The Running Fox three times in four weeks!
Why you ask? Well fantastic food!!! I have had panhaggerty, a panini, oh and the best ever veggie bean burger!!!!!! Oh and cake, cake and more cake! Yesterday was the cloudless chocolate cake, Devine!
The staff are really nice and there are a lot of regulars who staff know by name.
To avoid disappointment I would always book a table especially on a Saturday morning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. We are extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed each of your visits to the fox and its lovely to hear that we are getting it right!

Regards,
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Running Fox also viewed

Longframlington, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Warkworth, Amble
Longframlington, Northumberland
 

Been to The Running Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing