We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected find”
Review of The Running Fox

The Running Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Felton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small, friendly Coffee Shop and Artisan Bakery with a philosophy to serve simple yet good quality food, offering a range of sandwiches, platters and soups all served with fresh hand made breads. A full range of fresh pies and quiches made daily are also available to eat in or take away. Also serving lovely Afternoon Teas. Reservations recommended.
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stumbled into Felton on our way to alnmouth from York. We were looking for somewhere to have some lunch and we're not disappointed. Unfortunately, the running fox is incredibly popular and there were no tables inside so we had to sit in the garden. The food was delicious, the portions were huge (especially the toasties) and the setting was beautiful. The wasps did spoil things for us and we were lucky to be able to move inside after we had started eating. We also bought a loaf to take home and this was yummy too. All good stuff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kerchling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thanks for your kind comments. We hope the pesky wasps haven't put you off too much and that next time you are passing by, you take the time to call in again.

Kind regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
There are newer reviews for The Running Fox
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 688 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just had Afternoon Tea with my daughter at The Running Fox and what an absolute delight it was! Firstly (and this is very important!) wear elasticated comfy skirts or trousers so as to leave room for growing tummies!! For £17.50 for two people this is incredibly good value for money! You get to choose a delicious sandwich each, a piece of quiche, a piece of pie and a piece of cake each, plus you each get a very generously sized scone with jam, fresh cream and fruit!! To wash it all down there is refillable tea and coffee and I cannot imagine that there are many people who can manage to finish the lot!! Absolutely delicious, fresh food. The sandwiches alone were divine, the steak & ale pie was so so good, the quiche was deelish and well I'm still to try the massive chunk of cake (we chose apple & cinnamon cake and Victoria sponge) as by the time you've taken on the cream scone you're about fit for bursting! But you are provided with take out boxes which came in very handy! The Cafe is very nicely decorated, warm and cosy and Felton is such a pretty place too. Can't wait to go back to The Running Fox! Perfect!

1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. Its lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and we hope you take the time to visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This was recommended and well worth the travel. Staff were extremely pleasant with an amazing memory to recall the 'extensive' range of cakes available! Everything was freshly cooked, looked and tasted fantastic and the portions were not only enough to satisfy the four of us, but in particular the 6'3" 25yr old rugby player who said "it wasn't the afternoon tea I expected, but it was the one I wanted!" Beautiful hot tea on tap and the location and setting lovely. If you decide to visit the Running Fox for afternoon tea and can't quite clear the cake stand - DON'T PANIC - free boxes supplied and you can continue to enjoy the experience at home! Recommend you book ahead to avoid disappointment, and don't have a large breakfast lol! Will we return? Too right we will - in fact where's the car keys!

Thank justwanttoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We often joke that our Afternoon Tea is a "Man's Afternoon Tea" and are pleased to hear we didn't disappoint!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Excellent value - fresh, fresh, fresh - large servings (we were there for breakfast). Artisan and the most delicious breads. We took 2 loaves away with us. Excellent coffee, lovely staff. We need more places like this. Is it really lovely.

Thank Ynys-Chickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Running Fox experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had lunch there today. An excellent portion of quiche which gave the impression of being just cooked, with a well prepared mixed salad and coleslaw. With a pot of tea from Bari tea in Alnwick, and a loaf of bread to take home, I got change from £10. Not the cheapest cafe, but excellent food, good friendly service. I also got a window seat upstairs overlooking the river, so perhaps Monday is their quiet day looking at the other comments here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kris b, Owner at The Running Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thanks for your comments. Having our own team of bakers means that all of our baked goods are fresh and homemade, so it's great to hear such positive feedback.

Kind regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Running Fox also viewed

Longframlington, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Newton on the Moor, Northumberland
Warkworth, Amble
 

Been to The Running Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing