We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Isla Victoria Lodge(Isla Victoria)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
30
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrio mansofishmy husbandwine tastingnational parkpastry cheflodgeexperiencedinnerviewsmealshosthikemassagecocktailsjavierdiego
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Recently had the pleasure of 3 days at the Rio Manso Lodge with seven couples. The staff there could not have been more accommodating with a fabulous chef preparing 3 delicious meals daily and a host of outdoor activities to choose from to make our stay complete, i.e. fishing, rafting, hiking, bird watching, horseback riding and even a massage for the weary fisherman was available. The scenery was breath-taking with views of snow-capped mountains and pristine glacier lakes from each bedroom. Rio Manso is a spectacular river and the fishing guides provided first class professional instruction for beginner fly-fishers. We were pampered and spoiled by the attention received! Go there if you have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMansoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Rio Manso Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thanks for kind words, Sassy. We work very hard at RIo Manso to try and make our guests' stay at the lodge one of the best travel experiences possible. We can't control the fishing or the weather, but we can make sure the guides are professional, the beds comfortable, cuisine delightful and our hospitality welcoming. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Roberto has created a bit of heaven in this part of Patagonia. A wonderful lodge, welcoming and responsive staff, delicious food, Argentinian wines, gorgeous scenery from every window, and access to some of the best fly fishing in the world on the Rio Manso with terrific guides and more trout than you can imagine on this under-fished, crystal clear, blue-green wonder. Lots of things for non-anglers to love, too. Hiking to waterfalls, fantastic scenic outlooks, horseback riding, reading, yoga, and more. And take a look at the southern sky at night after the BBQ! What's not to like. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room faces the Channels and Mt. Tronador and its glacier.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyE185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMansoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Rio Manso Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

It's a pleasure to share our "bit of heaven" with people like you, Andy. Please come see us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Roberto and his staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful in making our stay a wonderful experience. As a non-angler I enjoyed our week at Rio Manso as much as my husband enjoyed the fishing and overall experience. Not only is the lodge comfortable, but I was happy with the other non-fishing activities, which included bird watching, horse back riding, hiking, and simply curling up with a good book and enjoying the scenery. The kitchen staff worked extremely hard to come up with vegetarian dishes for myself and another party that traveled with us. They welcomed us, as all guests, to come into the kitchen and ask for whatever we desired. We were also fortunate to experience our week with a father/son group from the states that helped make our stay complete. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: All guest rooms have a fabulous view of the mountains and glaciers.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANSpringIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMansoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Rio Manso Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We feel it is important to provide a complete Patagonian experience for our guests and visitors, so we try hard to deliver quality outings. From birding, hiking and horseback riding to our outstanding fly fishing, we are constantly working to improve your visit. We hope you will return to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I traveled to Rio Manso for the fly fishing and natural beauty, but came away with much more. Roberto has carved out a slice of heaven in the Nacional Nahuel Huapi Park. His passion is evident in the extraordinarily capable staff that he has gathered together, his beautiful lodge, whose sole purpose is to insure that you have the best experience possible.

Your day starts out meeting your guide after breakfast where he whisks you away to one of countless possible fishing destinations...Trout filled, gin clear lakes, rivers, or streams. A stop along the river to partake of quiche prepared at the lodge, or grilled steak or chicken prepared on the shore. When you retire from fishing, Diana will unfailingly meet you at the lodge by asking how your day was, and what would you like to drink? Several trays of appetizers await you in one of many cozy gathering spots inside. Once all the anglers have arrived, you will sit down and partake of a delicious meal prepared by a world class chef, and pastry chef, and attended by Diana and Noe. The comfortable, and well appointed bedrooms over look the Lake and the mountains punctuated by the glacier on Mount Tronador. And although we didn't do anything but fish, there are plenty of activities for the non angler, and places to curl up with a book.

Roberto's history and understanding of the area, his vision and passion for the lodge, and flexibility laid the foundation for a marvelous experience and lifetime friendships. It has changed our minds on never visiting a place more than once.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the glacier and lake. There is a larger room that might accommodate a family
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irwinftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I've been all over the globe with my husband on fly fishing trips and Rio Manso is at the top of his list...and as a non-angler, mine too. Roberto is a great host and runs a really top-notch operation in one of the most beautiful spots in the world. The meals are delicious, the lodge is lovely and rooms are quite comfortable with stupendous views over Lake Hess to Mt. Tronador. Non-anglers can enjoy a number of activities -- I've hiked, ridden, birdwatched, enjoyed a massage (subject to availability), and just relaxed on the lawn in the sun and read. Another highlight was unwinding at the end of the day with drinks at the huge fireplace and after dinner, seeing if we could spot the Southern Cross in the night sky. We have enjoyed Rio Manso a number of times and surely will return.

Room Tip: Be sure to hike to the amazing waterfall just up the river, and spend a day with Lorenzo birding.
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bimini Twist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews