We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-visit after 1 year”
Review of Sunshine Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rating should be "Good" but since there is only "Average" or "Very Good" to choose from, I guess Very Good is closer to my rating. Things have not change since my last review except for the free WiFi. My last stay a year ago, the free WiFi was very disappointing but not this time round. They have solve the connection problem. My stay for 6 nights, I did not experience any connection problem at all. Well done Sunshine Management for taking the feedback seriously.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHRISTIAN_LEE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I travel to Melbourne quite often and have stayed at Motels in the East, (Wantirna, Malvern), city central and a few around the fringes of the CBD, why did I overlook the obvious?
Where could you find somewhere modern, clean, very reasonable prices and a restaurant you will keep coming back to? Where is one place situated that allows you to get onto freeways in one minute to travel in any direction and is only 15 mins from the CBD?
You guessed it, that's why your reading this review.
Sunshine Motor Inn is perfect for business people or families.
This will be my fifth stay and all the rooms have been renovated and modernised, very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

After having been told on the website that this place is "pet friendly", we arrived to find that this not the case at all! On check in we were told to leave our dog outside, and had to tie her up to the car, as they had no where else that we could keep her, and our house trained dog was not allowed in the room.
Later as we went to bring back some dinner from the restaurant, we were told at reception that "someone" had complained that the dog was off her lead and "running around".
It's a main highway, I do not want me dog being hit by a car!
Pros: Room has a good bed and good water pressure
Cons: no breakfast offered. I was told to "go to the motel next door as they have breakfast in their cafe".
Maybe we should just have stayed next door?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Samantha_stevens_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I needed a room late at night - having forgotten to book at a hotel I use more often - and Sunshine Motor Inn was there on short notice late at night.

The lady at reception offered me an upstairs room. I had luggage, I'm too old to be carrying suitcases up and down stairs, so I preferred downstairs. I should have taken her advice.

The echo of people walking up and down the corridor in front of upstairs rooms is LOUD. You can also hear people moving about upstairs rooms.

That said, I did sleep well until people started moving in the early morning, and the room delivered what it offered ... a basic motel at a good price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Quietly impressed, we had read other reviews about it being noisy because it's near highway but we didn't find it noisy at all. Clean, fresh rooms, great friendly down to earth staff. An enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjhock73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Was there for a week and the newly refurbished room did not disappoint at all especially the new very thick mattress. It was easily the most comfortable bed I have every slept on. So much so I am looking for one for my home. As for the rest of the room I would say 95% are new, so virtually the entire room was make over except the bathroom (but some parts are new) and the closet.

However during my stay WiFi was a big let down. Management should have sorted it out by now.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHRISTIAN_LEE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Nice hotel with some rooms renovated, some waiting their turn. A fair drive from Melbourne but can catch bus. Breakfast can be purchased for in room or taken in restaurant however we went to supermarket and bought our own. there is a small cafe in the hotel next door which does have a reasonable breakfast. Plenty of parking; we had a trailer and car. Room was very clean, a bit of work needed in bathroom but otherwise nice. Wifi is free but very slow....I could only get one bar reception in our room. Restaurant on group serves excellent meals for very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated one away from the function room. Can be noisy if party is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardeer
4.3 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Sprin...
#2 of 3 in Caroline Springs
332 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quest Caroline Springs
Quest Caroline Springs
#1 of 3 in Caroline Springs
312 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Footscray Motor Inn
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
57 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
#1 of 1 in Essendon North
68 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Motor Inn

Address: 608 Ballarat Rd, Ardeer, Victoria 3022, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Ardeer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardeer
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunshine Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing