We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lake Bennett Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Bennett
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On our arrival we found us to be the only couple at the resort so our dinner was served to us in our room. This suited us after being on the road most of the day. We did not receive any house cleaning for our 2 night stay and got provided with extra towels etc. Would have thought that would have factored into getting a reduced rate for our room but did not get that lucky. Lake Bennett Resort provided us with the tranquility we required after a hectic few days of travels and tours. Our room overlooked the lake and the sunset and sunrises were breathtaking. We had our best night sleep here and enjoyed waking to the call of the birds in the morning. Breakfast was basic but our meals at dinner time were just fantastic. We would have loved to stay a few extra days but unfortunately had to leave. Downside to its location would be the mosquitoes, but then you can't always have everything just right. There does seem to be a problem with a shortage of employees and someone with the knowledge of how to use the coffee machine, but it certainly did not spoil our stay.

Room Tip: Book a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4KimN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    30
    28
    34
See reviews for
39
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lake Bennett Wilderness Resort on the 31/05/14 for 1 night. We found the location and service very good. Having drinks out on the terrace at sunset was amazing followed by dinner in the restaurant which was superb. Upon checking-in the receptionist told my wife about sunset on the terrace and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Lake Bennett resort is a great place to stay and visit, but there are problems here that need to be addressed !

The Chef changes almost every month, and therefore the menu is not always available in its entirety. There seems to be a problem with food, despite the fact that they are only 100 KM from Darwin ( running out of this and that ).

However I did enjoy the meals when Giles ( the Chef ) was there and I know that he did his best with what stores he had available at the time.

Lake Bennett is a beautiful location, its man made, which is an indicator of the brilliant thinking of the designers at the time. Its Accommodation ranges from up market Motel type Cabins which are well equipped and well laid out. Everything works, and the Air Con is icy cold which is also great.

There are Donga's and in the past there was a caravan park, which seems to have morphed into a Golf Course, which is sadly not used enough ( it was looking rather sad when i was last there )

However if you are coming for the day, it will be a great place to be, safe swimming ( no Crocs ) and Canoes for hire, the drive is not so far from darwin.

As an aside, there are a number of Lake side properties which are available for short term hire, either for the weekend or for the week, so if Lake Bennett does not suit you then you have other options !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Where to begin...I made this booking for an overnight stay - family of 2 adults, 3 kids under 7.

Booked a room with 2 queen beds on the Lake. Sounds lovely, and felt welcome when making booking over the telephone.

Different story when we arrived.. the same lady who took my booking was not very welcoming when we checked in. Felt as if we had disturbed her... a bit disappointing since I was quite excited about this mini stay away - it was my birthday.

Apparently my husband had called a day or so prior to us arriving and asked if a dessert could be brought out with my name on it and a candle - to surprise me. He was told that if he didn't bring his own candle 'it wouldn't happen'.

After checking in we found a door which we thought would be for an interconnecting room - so thought - why not see if it's available and pay the extra $220. My husband walked down to reception to organise, only to come back saying the very same lady at the front desk was 'stroppy/grumpy', but got the key. You'd think she would be happy that we are spending more money..?

We did find the cleaning staff, really upbeat and polite, but that's where any good service from this place started and stopped.

We booked dinner upon check-in - for our family of 5. Again a little battle on our hands doing this as we were encouraged to dine at 6.30pm, where we wanted to go at 7pm. Only 1 waitress who ran in and ran back out of the dining room ignoring any calls from ourselves and other diners trying to get her attention. Service was difficult to get as the one and only staff member was not around. She came in to the dining room, dropped off some meals and ran back out without taking 2 seconds to look around and see if other diners needed her attention.

Apart from a quite a big bug in my meal which had been well cooked, a very dry Lamb Shank which may have been cooked for a previous meal time. My husband did not bring his candle so did not expect any surprise cake for me.

At his disgust of the poor service, he decided to leave the restaurant with the children as I found myself waiting outside the kitchen door a number of times to ask the waitress for various things.

So much more that I've not included - issues with food - which was later deducted from my bill as well as other bits.

I did get a chance to talk to the waitress when we left. She appeared quite flustered - understaffed perhaps, although I have waitressed in busier restaurants and that was not a busy night at the Lakes.

After we returned to our room - we jumped up to a banging at the door. I thought it was the wait staff coming to 'have words' with us. But management kindly sent me a slice of cake with chocolate writing around the plate and what do you know> They put in their own 'candle' - or should I say sparkler. That was a nice surprise, but after they left would you believe they hadn't even brought any cutlery - so we found 1 tsp (only 1 supplied out of 2 rooms paid for with the coffee facilities).

There was so much wrong with this dinner service. There was so much wrong with all the service.

This place is completely overpriced for what it is.

The only positives were:

- View is great!

- Cleaning staff were happy and polite.

- Canoeing was wonderful...........although the life jackets need a good old clean.
The one I was wearing had a stench of old perspiration - or should just say 'sweat'. It truly was unbearable.

There is huge potential with this place. What a major disappointment to what was to be my 'awesome birthday night away - with my family'.

Terribly disappointed. Not returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UbiqueDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Bennett hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Overnight stay in a "Resort Suite". The room was nothing like a Resort Suite. Three people booked in and only two coffee Mugs. Bedspreads where faded and the queen bed badly needed a new mattress because the springs scrunched even when we sat of the bed. The lake is beautiful and but that is about all. When checking out and I told the person in the reception, I was told I should have come up and got another mug. Sorry when the booking was made for three people two months ago, you expect things to be right, we will not be back and will advise our friends.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The service was similar to that received in many Darwin establishments, ie they act as if they are doing you a favour by allowing you to stay there! There was no hello or welcome. The room was so overpriced - even by Darwin standards - $230 for a drab and dingy room with a spa on the verandah. The spa had seen better days, there was no hot water, just a hose pipe to fill it and no bubble bath. The lake, however, is absolutely stunning and that alone made it worth the overnight stay. The restaurant was OK. An exceptionally friendly waitress who appeared to be working on her own, nonetheless, she at least was welcoming and tried to provide a good service. The food was acceptable but, again, overpriced, eg nearly $30 for fish and a few chips. This place could be a wonderful break for tourists and locals alike. They need to improve their service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at lake Bennett we stayed in a spa room with a gorgeous view of the lake. The room was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant served delicious food. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We stayed here for valentines day and much enjoyed our selves

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kylie1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Bennett
11.1 mi away
Litchfield Motel
Litchfield Motel
#1 of 1 in Batchelor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
14.9 mi away
Litchfield Tourist and Van Park
18.5 mi away
Mt Bundy Station
Mt Bundy Station
#1 of 1 in Adelaide River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Batchelor Holiday Park
Batchelor Holiday Park
#2 of 4 in Batchelor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
12.5 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
11.3 mi away
Batchelor Butterfly Farm
Batchelor Butterfly Farm
#2 of 3 in Batchelor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bennett Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bennett Resort

Property: Lake Bennett Resort
Address: Chinner Road | Winnellie, Lake Bennett, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Lake Bennett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Bennett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Bennett Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort and Water Park on the edge of a magnificent freshwater lake (Crocodile free safe swimming)) an hour from Darwin the Gateway to Litchfield National Park. A serene, tranquil, peaceful paradise for Territorians, Aussies and our world friends to come an relax, replenish and rejuvenate. Your Pass to Paradise open all year round. Under New Ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Bennett Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing