We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCracken Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McCracken Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family of 4 had the pleasure to stay overnight at a 2 bedroom apartment in McCracken. It's a stop over on our way back from Kangaroo Island as my kids wanted to go to Greenhill Adventure Park the next day, so this hotel is a good choice as it's very near to the park. As we arrived late at night, did not have a good look at the surrounding. However, we were very pleased to see that the apartment was modern, neat, clean and well equip with kitchen utensils. We felt so comfortable and had a restful night. In the morning, we were surprised to be greeted by an awesome view of the golf course. It's such a pity that we do not have time to enjoy the facilities as we are rushing off to the park. If we have the opportunity to come back again, we will definitely choose this hotel again for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhuaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our 2 bedroom apartments. We believe these are great for family getaways. It's disappointing that you were only with us for a short time, however Greenhill Adventure Park is definitely worth a visit. Hopefully next time you visit you can stay longer and experience the facilities better.

Kind regards

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    324
    118
    29
    16
See reviews for
165
527
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a room on 6th June 2014 for one night and I am glad I did not book for more than just one night. We were three, two of us slept in the queen bed and one of us in the sofa bed. Sleeping for one night in the queen bed gave me a back pain as the matress was sagged down by about 5 cm and the poor one who slept in the sofa bed could not walk properly next day as that sofa bed was sagged down about 8 to 10 cm in the middle.

Obviously none of us will be staying in McCracken Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guillermo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am genuinely surprised to read your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I understand that sofa beds can be a bit uncomfortable for some people however I cannot recall in all my time here receiving any complaints about the comfort of our queen beds. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly and tell me which room you stayed in so I can check on the quality of bed for myself.

Kind regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at McCracken quite a few times over the last 7 years. Last year we noticed that it had declined and corners cut but the prices were still quite expensive, so this year for our anniversary we decided to give it a miss. Until they had the eofy special, we booked and stayed for 2 nights. Customer Service and cleanliness has improved since our last visit but something has happened to the water pressure in the shower only, the rest of the pressure was fine. It has never been like this before and we have stayed in many different rooms over the years. Also charging $4.50 for fresh fruit and receiving two dessert spoons of tinned fruit is a bit disappointing. We do love coming here and find it very relaxing but we will think twice now and will most probably only choose discounted visits. Our meals were great and compliments to the chef.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments in regards to your latest visit to us. It's nice to hear that the customer service levels have improved from your previous visit and I'm glad you enjoyed your meals.
I apologise for the lack of water pressure during your visit. I believe one of our circulation pumps was out of action. This has now been fixed. Hopefully you will decide to visit us again sometime and you will be able to experience the continued improvements in our product.

Kind Regards

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a fabulous 3 night stay at this very impressive country club. We stayed in a balcony room which had the most beautiful view over the golf course and surrounding houses that back on to the course. Even though the weather was cold it didn't matter. The accommodation was great and even though we didn't eat in we did have a continental breakfast which was excellent. Everyone was extremely friendly. It is on the outskirts of Victor Harbour, one of the most scenic places in SA and if you're interested in visiting wineries take a picturesque drive to some of the best wineries in Australia. We were so impressed with our stay we have rewarded our daughter and her husband with a visit next week.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review. Isn't Victor Harbor a great place to visit? Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to all of the staff. We look forward to seeing you back again.

Kind regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place seems nice on paper, but its simply wore out. I suppose its nice to be right on the golf course, but the place just needs a complete renovation. Although crowded, the bar/restaurant was somewhat depressing. The reception staff was nice, but not very knowledgeable about the area... eg. restaurants, etc.

Hidden secret if you're on a long journey- there is free laundry in the apartment buildings attached the to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It is disappointing to note that our décor wasn't to your liking however we are constantly making changes in an effort to keep things fresh. If you're ever in the area again I hope you come back and give us another try.

Kind Regards

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place has a lot going for it. We visited as Conference attendees and spent 3 nights there. To lift it to the next level McCracken should invest in some staff training, particularly with regards the reception staff. While fully appreciating regional establishments need to recruit locally there are some basic fundamentals that ought to be apparent. One of these is the first impression provided at check in. To be asked for a Credit Card because "youse must pay for your whole stay now". On top of this a surcharge was made for the credit card payment! No real reason was offered as to why any of this was necessary other than "management" says so. This was hardly enlightening and downright confusing when told that we could charge costs incurred to our room.
We still had a pleasant stay but chose to have breakfasts & dinners at local establishments. Ironically thanks are due to the receptionist because these were most enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, however I am somewhat disappointed that you found the professionalism of our reception team to be lacking. We spend a lot of time in training our staff and think the quality of there service is excellent. I am sorry that the credit card surcharge could not be explained to you. Like nearly all businesses we charge this surcharge only on American Express and Diners Cards in order to recover some of the costs involved in providing this service.
Again thank you for your comments and I will hopefully see you back this way again sometime.

Kind Regards

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice accommodation and great food. Golf is on offer and provides a great outlook on the round. Package deals come up from time to time which can make your stay even more enjoyable. Not far from all Victor Harbour has to offer too.

Room Tip: Spend longer than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. It's great to see you got to play our championship golf course. I hope you had a good round. Hopefully next time you're in the area we will see you again.

Kind regards

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCracken
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
18.8 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Property: McCracken Country Club
Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McCracken Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing