We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION - DILIGENT AND FRIENDLY STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
McCracken Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION - DILIGENT AND FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed there for a week, in an executive spa suite. This comprised of a large living room complete with a kitchenette, microwave and sink, and basic cooking utensils. Also there was a large bedroom equipped with a heated blanket, so desirable in the 'cold' winter months, a large bathroom with spa bath and large shower,with separate toilet.The dimensions of the room were very spacious. Not so good was the decor,which although in excellent condition, it was decidedly uninspiring and dismal in colour. Coupled with the dim lighting it made reading an impossibility at night. In contrast the provision of televisions in both the living and bedrooms was a welcome addition. The switch for the living room light however was situated by the entrance door so that by switching the light off at night one had to walk through a darkened room to the bedroom! The lack of a lift would be a disadvantage to anyone less fit than myself [and I am 69] . We ate in the Bistro one night - the service was good but slow, and we were placed in the outer window section, which was dimly lit and felt cold being against the uncurtained glass with the black of night outside. This could easily be improved by lighting up the course outside. We also had a meal in the Baudins restaurant. This was not good as one meal was delayed in the kitchen to be ready for the other so that one was cold.This was remedied quickly but it left us with a bad memory. All the staff were excellent and friendly. The pool and gym were not used by us as they are decidedly small compared with similar facilities in the UK.

Room Tip: get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confused999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. You will be interested to know that we are planning some changes to the décor of the rooms in the near future which will add some colour. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and the staff were friendly. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    333
    121
    31
    16
See reviews for
172
547
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in a standard spa room which was very comfortable except for the lack of lounge chairs. Very disappointed that Baudins Restaurant was closed both nights although all the literature we read advised the restaurant was open 7 days. The Bistro was far too noisy so we had to settle for room service or go out elsewhere to dine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to leave comments in regards to your recent stay. Over the quieter winter months the restaurant closes on Sunday and Monday nights to reflect the lack of demand. The restaurant menu is however available in the bistro at all times. I am sorry that this did not meet your needs during your stay.
I hope you enjoyed all other aspects of your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night for a mini Winter get-away. We were surprised and thrilled to be upgraded to an apartment. Instead of going in to Victor to a favourite eating spot as originally planned, this induced us to stay at the apartment and eat in with Room Service instead. We were very pleased with the efficient service - the food was delivered by friendly and professional staff - piping hot ... and tasty!
The apartment was spotlessly clean, well appointed with furnishings, crockery/cutlery a comfortable King sized bed, two person spa etc and views over the 18th hole of the golf course. It was fun to sit, wine in hand and watch the golfers as they putted out at the end of their rounds. The McCracken staff were personable, knowledgeable and went out of their way to welcome and assist us in a very happy and friendly manner. We were a little disappointed that we couldn't access the free wi-fi due to a technological hiccup but this did not spoil our stay. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such fantastic comments about your recent stay. It is great to hear that you received an upgrade and were able to enjoy one of our Apartments. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our facilities and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were very impressed with our stay at McCracken Country club. The place was spacious, well-kept and had everything you need for a lovely stay in a wonderful area of the country. The staff were professional, polite and very helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rplunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic recommendation. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if you're ever back in Australia it would be great to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

our second time here in the balcony spa room. we used pool , gym , and I practiced my golf by hitting many balls mainly badly but it was fun. the best part of this resort is its self contained and if the weather is atrocious who cares it has everything on hand. we walked around granite island on a beautiful day to hopefully burn off the great food we were served. service was great and "would we stay again ?"' well we have already rebooked for next year.

Room Tip: northern rooms get the winter sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Rod,

Thank you so much for your great comments. I'm very happy to here that you enjoyed your time with us . I'm glad that the weather was kind to you so you get on the driving range and see some of the other great places that Victor Harbor has to offer. See you next year.

Kind Regards,

Dan Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife joined me for the last leg of a business trip and we were not sorry we picked McCraken Country Club. It was our first visit to Victor Harbour and found the location of McCraken to be ideal to just get away from the hustle and bustle. The facilities are great and at your finger tips. The staff were fantastic and the rooms were excellent, clean and quite comfortable. My only complaint is the T.V.'s are a bit small, other than that we will be back.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on ground floor to save lugging bags up stairs. They all seem to have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments. I'm glad we were able help you relax after your business trip and that you enjoyed our facilities. WE look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A very pleasant resort in a quiet and tranquil setting. The rooms have all the required features and are well maintained. The restuarant offers good quality meals at reasonable prices. I didnt use the spa but may try that out on a future visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank olly23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found everything to your liking and hope you get the opportunity to use the spa on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCracken
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
18.6 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Property: McCracken Country Club
Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McCracken Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing