We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic 38th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxglove Inn and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 4 Crofton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved celebrating our 38th Wedding Anniversary at the Foxglove Inn and Gardens. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Hazel who took us down to the Gables. Our room was called the Parker Suite, which over looked the beautiful Ocean. Both nights we were there, sipping on wine and playing games with our friends, we experience amazing sunsets, We thoroughly enjoyed watching the many wildlife that came and roamed the property...from deer, bunnies, robins, eagles and frogs. Since the chef had a day off when we were there, Nancy graciously entertained us at her home. Before dinner, we sat on her patio facing the Ocean with our wine and cheese, along with our friends who were also celebrating their Anniversary. It was truly a cozy and romantic experience. Thank you for your gracious hospitality, Nancy & Hazel in making our 38th Anniversary one we will always remember :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimsonya770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are please that your stay at Foxglove Inn was a delightful experience and thank you so much for writing that on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate our guests comments and concerns, either good or bad.

Again, thank you and we hope you return soon.

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the FoxGlove Inn for five luxurious days and celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary with some lovely people from Washington and the chef, Stephen. Our expectations were so exceeded, we can't begin to tell you how amazing it was - we stayed in the beautiful Parker suite in the Gables. It was just delightful! We overlooked the waterways separating us from Salt Spring Island ans the view was so picturesque - at dawn, dusk and inbetween. We enjoyed the informality of the week - we came and went as we pleased and were always graciously welcomed back by Nancy, Bert and Stephen. We felt like family in the house, with the company of the other guests, and on the nights we had to ourselves. The hospitality was heartwarming - with the wine and cheese before supper, the great creations at supper and the breakfasts were great and plentiful. Thanks so much for the experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the Parker suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappycoupleJune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your anniversary with us at Foxglove Inn. We are sincerely delighted that you chose us.

Again, thank you for having your special day with us at Foxglove inn and we look forward to yur return visit.

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a cute little B&B. It was a little small but had some endearing features. The owners/staff were freindly, kind and accommodating. They served a wonderful breakfast each morning and have a wine and cheese reception for one of the evenings that you are there. They have a chef that comes in in the evening to make dinner in front of you and teach you little tidbits of information from his culinary expertise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovegod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write Trip Advisor and we are delighted that you used the word "quaint". That is exactly what we want folks to feel when they walk through the doors. sort of like staying in an English Country cottage.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to a return visit.
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a wonderful dinner at the Foxglove inn, Chef's table, good food, good company and a chef that was willing to share his ideas on food, we had a wonderful time and would go again... loved it!!!! ps... and the power went out....lol added to the ambiance...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at "The Chef's Table" in Foxglove Inn. Thank you for writing about your experience on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to your return visit.

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Two of our families spent our Victoria weekend in Foxglove Inn and Gardens. We used the SocialShopper coupons and the deal is very reasonable. For what we paid for the coupon, we didn't set very high expectations in the first place.

It turned out that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are smaller than lots of B&B but very clean. Breakfast is very fresh and tasty and the gourmet dinner prepared by the house chef is of top standard. Nancy is one of the owners and she was there preparing breakfast for us every day. The other owner Bert turned up at the dinner and told us his stories living in Crofton.

The location is not fantastic if your goal is to visit Victoria or Nanaimo - each way will take about one hour driving. We didn't take the ferry to Salt spring island as we were in Crofton on Sunday and Monday nights. Would love to visit Saltspring Island when on a Sat so as to visit the famous market.

There are some leisurely walk near the inn so plenty to do if you are after a quiet getaway. We also met other residents from USA and Victoria and the conversation topics spread from politics to child bearing.

Instead of purchasing one of the groupon coupons, you could simply call the inn and you'll receive the same price. Please note: the coupon price doesn't include gratitude. We paid CAD30 per room for taxes and gratitude for 2 nights' stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Inn - a former retirement home hence the rooms are small. I heard that the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSUN008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing about your experience at Foxglove Inn on Trip Advisor and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us.

Thanks again for sharing your visit on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Foxglove Inn this past weekend and must admit we were nervous given the mixed reviews. We decided to keep our expectations moderate and realistic, and overall our experience was positive.

We stayed in the loft and recommend this option because it is reasonably quiet and private, away from the main inn. The room was clean with a checklist showing what was cleaned prior to our arrival. The decor was unremarkable... most chairs covered in white. The bathroom was adjacent to the bedroom and was clean/functional... the tile floor needs some patchwork and the room could benefit from a ventilation fan. When we arrived we were told that due to the previous guests leaving late the room was not ready. For some this would have been annoying but we just decided to go for a drive and explore a bit first.

Our dinner was very good. The chef was talkative but I would not really call it a lesson. He demonstrated some knife techniques and walked our group through some salad and salsa preparation for the chicken main course, but this was really the extent of the instruction. The food itself was delicious, however, with the exception of the cheese/crackers upon arrival that really could have been much more interesting with more variety of cheeses/crackers. The fennel salad was excellent, chicken with mango salsa and roast veg was very moist and flavorful, and brownie parfait was also very tasty.

Our sense was that this inn is a work in progress. The view of the ocean is very serene, and we were not bothered by the pulp mill... in fact it was interesting to watch some of the marine traffic coming in/out of the mill. We would suggest to the owners to focus some time on the organization of the Inn given a few glitches we noticed (names spelled incorrectly, room not ready, messages not relayed accurately between staff). It appears that the grounds in some areas are quite impressive with mature rhododendrons and other plants, whereas in other areas clearly the grounds need some work. Some attention to the grounds and updating some of the furniture would certainly improve the ambiance.

Overall it was a good experience and we wish the owners success in developing the Inn along with the dining experience.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for writing about your experience at Foxglove Inn and I am sorry we did not full fill your expect ions. We all welcome our guests concerns so please do let us know what we can do to improve.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the location and hospitality. No rush or worries, just quiet and relaxing. Close to Saltspring Island and you must do a day trip there on a Saturday. Nancy and Bert are amazing people to talk to and provided a wonderful weekend. Chef prepared a delisious supper. 5 stars from us for a much needed getaway!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at Foxglove Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are please and delighted that your stay with us was "quiet and relaxing". That is exactly what we want our guest to feel. We are certainly not a high end resort but we do offer a beautiful, peaceful setting. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crofton
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
0.6 mi away
Crofton by the Sea Bed & Breakfast
6.7 mi away
Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hummers Haven Bed and Breakfast
11.2 mi away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxglove Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxglove Inn and Gardens

Address: 8033 Vye Road, Crofton, British Columbia V0R 1R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Crofton
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crofton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing