We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little traditional French B&B”
Review of Au Gallodrome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Gallodrome
Ranked #1 of 1 Drincham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Martine very welcoming, looks after you , learn a little French, we used this as a base to sleep after our ferry crossing, more than impressed, located in a small village it was a perfect choice, very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine d, Propriétaire at Au Gallodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Merci beaucoup
Martine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was used as a stopover after crossing to Dunkirk from Dover. It said it was 25 mins from Dunkirk, and it was exactly that. It was a really nice, quaint B&B. Drincham itself has nothing in it but the B&B was exactly what we needed. Since there was no cafe open, the owners opened their own bar and we got a couple of beers from their large selection.

Breakfast was lovely and all at a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine d, Propriétaire at Au Gallodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013
Google Translation

Nous sommes heureux que notre B and B a répondu à votre attente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

At €70 for three people per night this is very good value for money. It is a typically French village bar with accommodation overhead. The room was large and comfortable and the room where breakfast was taken was huge and authentically French. The couple who run it are very hospitable and friendly. For non-French speakers Madame speaks excellent English.

But.... This is a business that is suffering and it's not the only one. Monsieur told us of the numbers of local businesses that have collapsed in the villages during the last few years including nearly all of the shops. This is having a knock-on effect and the bar has closed - the B&B is all that's left. Evening meals were not offered - we were directed to Bergues which is a ten minute drive. It deserves support and at that price it is certainly value for money. But I fear the end is coming unless it attracts more custom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine d, Propriétaire at Au Gallodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre soutien, essayons d'ouvrir la restauration sur place à toutes nos chambres d'hôtes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends whilst exploring the area looking at V1 and V2 rocket sites. On arrival our hosts were most welcoming ( how bad is this? I don't know their names). Even though their English was limited it was better than our French and between us we understood each other. The menu was quite limited but it is all locally sourced and cooked to order, you will not be disappointed. A good choice of beers and wines are available in the bar/dining room. The rooms were spotless, the bed comfortable and with blackout blind fitted to the roof window a good night's sleep was had by all. The auberge is pretty much in the middle of nowhere but with good company, great hosts, great food and drink you can't go far wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine d, Propriétaire at Au Gallodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013
Google Translation

nous sommes toujours heureux de recevoir des groupes, et avons un abris fermé pour les motos et vélos si nécessaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here and had a wonderful stay. We were a party of 5 motorcyclists and booked a triple and a twin room. On arrival the owner took his Merc out of the garage to give us dry secure parking. We had a friendly welcome and were soon down in the bar area, we asked for the menu, for a moment I was disappointed, but after a chat around what was on offer, and the fact it is all sourced locally off we went, the meal was fantastic, over two nights we probably had the whole menu.
The auberge is pretty isolated with no surrounding amenities, but it's location so close to Calais makes it an ideal stop off, or base to explore the area. The owners don't speak much English but we all made ourselves understood. The rooms were large spotlessly clean, on the whole it was a great stay, I would recommend a stay although the property is currently up for sale so you may get different owners. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine d, Propriétaire at Au Gallodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013
Google Translation

nous avons également passé un excellent moment avec vous et je continue à cuisiner les produits de notre terroir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

A really fabulous place to stay and the owners are wonderful! We were made to feel so welcome. Really authentic property with lovely comfortable rooms. Meals were delicious, we loved our stay here and totally recommend Au Gallodrome.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda1966andy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine d, Propriétaire at Au Gallodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Un grand Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We needed to find a hotel near Dunkirk and my usual hotel was booked out. Instead I decided to book a superior double room at this auberge. The price was very good value (breakfast was included) and there was free wi-fi available throughout the auberge. It has a restaurant with a small but delicious menu (meat is locally sourced from a free-range farmer) and everything is prepared with love. The selection of local beer draught and bottled beers is excellent. Our hosts couldn't do enough to make our stay a happy one and we felt as though we had spent an evening with friends, one which we will remember for a long time. It was a real eye-opener and a treat. We will definitely return. The ferry at Dunkirk is only a 20 minute drive, so it is really convenient if you are travelling to England.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Au Gallodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Gallodrome

Address: 41 Loowegh Straete, 59630 Drincham, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Drincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Drincham
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Au Gallodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing