We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curry night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewers Fayre The Howgate

Brewers Fayre The Howgate
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Howgate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“curry night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Curry night buffet was very much worth the visit. Vegetarian curry and tikka masala were really good. Not enough garlic bread out though. Children's meals are really good, only 99p for a starter or pudding or a meal deal for main and either one of above. Will definitely visit again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riosnowie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    23
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't judge by what it was like in the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This restaurant recently had a massive makeover and s did the staff. Whereas before it was a place to avoid at all costs, it's now a good place for a family meal and the prices are much more affordable. They do special deals and themed evenings too.
The staff are friendly and accommodating and remember you when you go back. The food is good quality, with the occasional glitch which is always ironed out as well as they can. My mother ordered something which didn't have everything she wanted so they added an extra portion of potatoes for free to her order.
I would also mention that there is plenty of space between the tables and the tables themselves have lots of space around them too so unlike a lot of places you don't feel hemmed in.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My daughter and I were visiting Whitehaven to help celebrate my brother's 100th birthday. Although only at the Premier Inn from Friday to Sunday the service we received was amazing. When having breakfast the friendlieness of Belinda and Heather was great, the food was varied and plentiful, the girls made you feel at home. Will certainly visit again as soon as we are able and would recommend both Inn and Fayre to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We use this establishment weekly both my husband and I and sometimes with the kids.

The service is always quick efficient and friendly. Being honest the tables can be a little wobbly making cutting up steak a nightmare, the cutlery can sometimes be unclean but is always replaced immediately should it need to be.

The food is consistently good and served quickly and staff even when rushed off their feet find the time to check and check again if you are okay and happy.

The prices are good if I had a complaint it would be that the menu could offer more but in my opinion you can't go wrong.

There are also curry nights, pasta nights, Chinese nights etc where you get to sample as much as you want of a good range of delights from all over the world.

The staff well they are great, friendly well mannered respectful and always efficient.

Always great!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fixcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

7 of us went here for a birthday meal, the food order was given to the bar after a few minutes, after only a short wait the food started to arrive. 5 people on the table got there food no problem they said it was nice so no problem, after 50 mins the waitress came over and asked is everything was ok and we told her that 2 meals still haven't arrived, so it total it took, 1 hour ten minutes for the two missing meals had arrived everyone else had finished and was ready to leave.
Plus the food wasn't even worth the wait, tiny portion, I can't even tell what it tasted like because it had no taste.

No apology, no discount and no further business off me.
I wish there was negative star rating as it doesn't even deserve a star.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcclegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Fayre The Howgate also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Workington, Cumbria
 

Been to Brewers Fayre The Howgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing