We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel was easy to find, receptionist was friendly and provided us a iron and board when asked, hotel was quiet, easy to find a parking space and all room facility's worked which is a bonus, towels and extra pillows supplied and overall a great place to stay. My only down point is the heating controls allowed us to increase the temp but not cool the room down so I spent the whole night with the window open which meant my hay fever was made worse,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktipla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    195
    54
    19
    11
See reviews for
169
203
18
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been to this Inn before and found it to be excellent. This time was not so good for several reasons; I found the soft pillows still too hard and I had a stiff neck each morning. This is not usual with Premier Inns and I must have been lucky before with the pillows. There was a large group on our corridor which came back late both of the nights we stayed and were very noisy especially on the Friday night. One set of parents even let their child play football in the corridor.I also felt the breakfast choice was not as good as previously. The buffet breakfast food was of mixed temperatures which I appreciate can happen with this style of presentation but the meats were tasty and it spoiled it a little. I aslo miss the old style packets of cereal as I like Frosties and there were none.
The room itself was spotless and a good shower and lots of hot water. As previous reviewer mentioned the quality of the towekls was mixed, some were new others a little threadbare.
Staff are excellent.
the Brewers Fayre though is not so good as the former Table Table.
Food was ok but again varying degrees of hot, and this was not buffet food. We were going to choose that but the last time we were here the quantity adn variety out was consdierably better.
So overall a fair price for what we had.

Room Tip: Rooms on Reception side seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My family and I went to the Howgate Restaurant for the Sunday Carvery a few weeks ago. It was a very disappointing experience. The choice of veg. was carrots and red or white cabbage, the carrots were almost raw, the gravy tasted salted water , the food was cold, if I hadn't been so hungry it would have been inedible, and the price was extortionate. The girl that served us was surly to say the least.An experience never to be repeated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here after a visit to the Whitehaven maritime festival, the staff were great providing us with a cot and extra bedding and pillows, and didnt seem put out at all by it. would recommend families to stay here

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lealeawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

we enjoyed our stay. the room was clean and fresh looking although towels are past their used by dates. the bathroom was nice and clean. sleep was as advertised - peaceful. parking was easy. attached restaurant was so so.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakewalker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice place, nice hotel, excellent staff - in overall typicall Premier Inn. i don't think there is better value for money in the UK. Rooms were clean, nicely equipped, with all the essentials. What I didn't like was the fact that it spread in several buildings, so we had to go outside to get to the restaurant (Brewers Fayre in this particular one), but that's really just me being picky. Dinner was a bit chaotic with 3 different "meal deals" being ran at once, but friendly and dedicated staff made it bearable, and the food was really tasty and filling. Breakfast was much better organised, and to the usual Premier Inn high standard.
This hotel will stay as our top choice for the base for northern Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for a short break in the Lake District. Receptionist fine. Bed most uncomfortable have ever experienced. Room noisy. Thought it will be better 2nd night. Nope bed still awful shower still dribbling. Room still noisy. Went to complain on leaving and there was some sort of staff meeting going behind the reception desk and no-one even bothered to turn around as we left. Got straight onto their web site for complaints - logged our problems - got a reference - guaranteed response in 2 days -NOTHING - chased again and again - NOTHING.
So much for their good nights sleep guarantee and their promises of caring about their customers. Will never give them any of my cash again.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howgate
4.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Address: Howgate CA28 6PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Howgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive Georgian coastal town is just a few minutes from Workington, Parton and the Lakes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel Howgate, Cumbria
Whitehaven Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing