We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Working in the area and booked this hotel as I had stayed on a previous occasion. Check in fast/friendly and efficient. My clean and cool room was in the newish extension, staff closed the curtains as a very warm day. Clean white sheet left in the room just in case it was to hot for the duvet. Will recommend to colleagues and I will stay again when next in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jigroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Hotel was up to the usual high standards of Premier Inns. Rooms were very clean and had all you would want. Our room overlooked the rear of the Brewer's Fayre and as the weather was very warm we opened the window before retiring for the night. It was at that point we heard the noise of the extractors from the pub kitchen. This noise continued until after midnight and started again at 6 am and was just loud enough to be annoying. However everything else about the place was fine. Staff were the usual polite, friendly, well trained people you would expect at these venues. Great value for money and out of town so no traffic noise. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms across the road from the reception which I assume is a new wing should not get any noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

lovely staff clean room comfy bed overall brilliant,food at the adjoining resteraunt , just thought the price for the sunday night stay was a little high compared with Monday night stay but would stay there again



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here again exactly 12 months after my last visit. We were allocated a room above the Brewers Fayre. The access to it, along a weird little alley way was rather strange. The room looked fine. It was clean. What we found out later that night was the bed wasn't good, the mattress was exceptionally soft and suffered from "roll together".

The noise from people leaving the pub at about half past midnight and arriving in the morning at 6, I assume this was staff, was an issue, and if I had of been stopping for more than 1 night I would have asked to be moved.

The issues weren't bad enough to complain about, or invoke the goodnight guarantee, and the receptionist was dealing with a couple where then gentleman had fallen in the shower when I went to check out so I didn't mention it. We were there as 4 couples and I did say to them that if they went again and were allocated a room above the Brewer's Fayre to refuse it and ask for an alternative.

The rooms in the main building are much better.

Room Tip: Refuse a room above the Brewer's Fayre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends before running the C2C . It's the first time I have stayed in a Premier Inn and I thought it was brilliant value for money . Good sized room . Super comfy beds . Everything we needed for a comfortable stay . Will definitely stay in a Premier Inn again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lambsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is an amazing helpful Premier Inn. Stayed in room 1 , the room was quiet and well appointed. The hotel is out of town. The reception staff are excellent. Ask for Allison! She knows everything and was exceptionally helpful to the elderly members of our charity walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamishontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of the coast to coast challenge.

Receptionist was friendly and helpful. As we were completing the coast to coast challenge, she allowed us to store the bikes in their cleaning cupboard (currently they have no dedicated bike storage).

Rooms were a nice size, good facilties. Pub next door was OK.

Its just under 2 miles to the start of Whitehaven for the coast to coast and pretty much down hill so wouldn't let the location put you off.

Would recommend this hotel for others completing the coast to coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howgate
6.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
445 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
169 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel

Address: Howgate CA28 6PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Howgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howgate
Price Range: £46 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive Georgian coastal town is just a few minutes from Workington, Parton and the Lakes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel Howgate, Cumbria
Whitehaven Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing