We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sparkling Sunset Cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Argyle Cruises

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sparkling Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our group of 9 people from Germany, Switzerland and Queensland had an excellent sunset cruise and great experience.Greg, our tour guide for the day, is very knowledge, enthusiastic and easy to understand; even for overseas visitors. Everyone was thrilled to spot Freshwater Crocodiles, Rock Wallabies, Sea Birds and "Spitting Fish" !
But the highlight and surprise for everyone was swimming in the last sun rays of the day, sipping sparkling wine and having nibbles served on a floating tray.
We highly recommend this cruise and will be back when travelling in the Kimberley area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kookas-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    19
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great afternoon - just do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had an amazing afternoon which started with Phil our bus driver picking us up from our Motel in town. Truly fun and knowledgable bus driver - Phil ensured a great start to our afternoon - AND he also got us home safely after our sunset cruise!!
We also Had a great time on the cruise with Greg, our skipper. Memories are made of experiences like this.
I would consider this to be a very professionally run outfit, with locals who know how to provide the tourists with a great day out. Great value for money. The option to catch the bus from town ( Kununnurra) should be seriously considered by all potential clients.. The ability to relax and not worry about collisions with wildlife,while being entertained and educated by our very obliging bus driver should not be overlooked. This tour is Definitely a highlight of our Kimberley adventure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leeroy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous Lake Argyle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We took the Lake Argyle Cruise with Greg and what an experience it was. He has a wealth of local knowledge and a detailed knowledge of local history and local wildlife. We found the tour fascinating and the views stunning. Anyone travelling in the Kimberley area should avail themselves of the opportunity to do this amazing tour with Lake Argyle Cruises.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
176 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delightful morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

As our time was limited in Kununurra, we opted for a half day trip on Lake Kununurra rather than on Lake Argyle although you do see part of that huge man-made area as you go across the dam wall and down to the boat ramp. Lake Argyle is about 70 kms from Kununurra proper so you need to allow time to drive out there and find the tourist office - in our case, the office was within the caravan park itself. The boat cruise took us 23 kms down this dammed part of the Ord River to a stunning gorge where we pulled into the bank for some light refreshments. While we travelled down the lake, we were treated to a great commentary about the river system in general and the wildlife seen along the way - freshwater crocodiles, a short-eared rock wallaby, bats hanging in trees etc. All four adults were thrilled we had chosen to do the tour - and feel we now have to return to do one on Lake Argyle as well!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nera0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I signed up for the sunset cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises and it was absolutely delightful. The 3-4 hour cruise took us to places to spot the wildlife (rock wallabies, freshwater crocs, archer fish and various migratory birds). Our tour guide, Greg, was very knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic. We were educated on the lake, the landforms around it, the history and many more. The vessel itself was comfortable. There's a toilet at the back and there's hot water for you to make a cuppa tea/coffee. The tour ended with a swim in the lake plus beer/wine while we watched the sun set. Perfect day out. I'll strongly recommend it to anyone who's travelling down to Lake Argyle!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lip Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing