We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel

Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here camping at the townsite, but its crammed, there are loads of vehicles and tour buses and people, its all a bit too manincured (although my other half did seem to like seeing lawns after bounding around the Kimberley!) and the gift shop/tourist bar all a bit...well...touristy!

Its just not really what I had in mind when I set off on the Kimberley trip.

El Questro has several grades of accomodation, many of which won't be affected by the same issues I am describing. Worth being clear that I am talking about camping only.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Waddler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you stay at El Questro Wilderness Park. I am sorry that the park did not appeal to you and understand that we will sometimes miss the mark with some of our visitors. It is a very popular destination due to the many types of attractions one can see within a small area. It also caters for so many different demographics of visitors, that it becomes a destination that is on many bucket lists.

Unfortunately you missed out on the Private Bush Camping sites. You may have enjoyed those much more than the general camp ground as they offer privacy for just the camper who books that site. You don't even know there are others nearby due to the clever arrangemnt.

We hope you have opportunity to visit again and experience a different type of camping or accommodation, I am sure you would be more impressed with that style.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack, General manager El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed two nights in the camping area at the station townsite. Very crowded, very dusty and generally not enjoyable after recent stays at other Kimberley locations. Not eco-friendly. They talk Eco but do not live up to the talk in their management practices. The second night the 'Generator' kept us awake. Better in our opinion to turn off the generator during the night and let clients use torches for the toilets. Better still, follow Mornington Wilderness park and go solar totally!

We dined in the restaurant which was fantastic both from a food and service perspective. Really attentive. The rest of the staff at El Questro could certainly learn from the restaurant staff which would improve the overall experience.

They also need tto update their tourist information/map. I went to follow the drive around the Cockburn ranges only to find that a portion of the road on the map had been closed for months. They need to keep their info current and up to date.

In summary, very touristy, over priced and misses the 'Eco' mark

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crockc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Crockc

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of El Questro on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all reviews as it gives us a great opportunity to respond and advise the outcome of guests' suggestions and feedback.

I can appreciate that you would have found the camp ground crowded and dusty given the numbers of visitors we had experienced in July. By all accounts it was the highest number of visitors we have seen and the normally spacious camp ground was pushed to the limits. As visitor numbers and the popularity of camping has been on the rise for a few years now, we are looking to expand our facilities and campsite numbers, hopefully in the next 12 months. This will greatly improve the spaciousness of the camp ground and overall enjoyment of the campers.

Whilst I do realise that we talk about our eco ambitions, we have not been in a position to advertise ourselves as an Eco resort. Given the scope of the business with restaurants, bars, staff village and canteen, we still need to rely on generator power. It is an unfortunate position to be in, but with upwards of 550 people in the town site each night, solar power is not yet a viable option for us. We are however very definitely working through the process of upgrading our generator plant and this would include a sound proof container to alleviate the noise that travels to the camp ground on the crisp, cool nights. We also offer Private Bush Camping sites which are far from the generators and other campers. A truly wonderful camping experience.

I do apologise for what was a disappointing stay and realise that our future plans are in no way helpful to you now, however we hope that you would find yourself in a position to revisit when these improvements have been made. I am also terribly sorry for the inaccurate information on the mud map. You are most correct that they should be reprinted to include the closure of the Karunji track which was implemented by the local Shire. I noted your comments and we are reordering with this and other updated changes.

We will look forward to welcoming you again if the opportunity arises.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Quetsro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kununurra hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay in one of the private riverside areas & had a great stay. We found the staff amazingly helpful & pleasant despite it being a very busy time. A negative was the bathrooms. Being busy the number of bathrooms was inadequate & the water often not hot. The Chamberlain gorge sunset cruise was terrific.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Jenmax,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. It is most appreciated that you have shared your good experience with the Trip Advisor readers. We certainly agree that Emma Gorge offers a wonderful family holiday destination, but it is always good to get that affirmation from our guests. I am pleased that the staff provided such faultless service, they are a real asset to the guest experience, much like the birds (who come back year after year, even without a work contract!!!)

We hope that you will have the opportunity to come up from Perth again and further explore El Questro and the East Kimberley. We would look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Lori Liwtack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Emma Gorge had been reopened for the 2012 season only 4 days when we visited. I don't believe they were prepared for visitors. The rooms were certainly up to standard however this was let down by poorly trained bar staff and very ordinary food. Very small servings at very high prices. Pool had not past inspections and was useable on a day that even the locals were complaining about the heat. Very disappointing, I certainly hope they lift their standards before all the visitors arrive to experience the Kimberley.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Well T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Well T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. I was certainly dismayed to hear that we missed the mark for your visit. My many apologies for the standards that you experienced, it is certainly not our custom to provide poor value or inadequate service.

Running a season property does present many challenges and as you said the opening of the resort coincided with your visit. We were very much behind on our training but I am pleased to say that within a very short time we came into fine form and have been receiving other reviews which have indeed been very favourable as you can see on our alternate site

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g261593-d271674-r129724586-Emma_Gorge_Resort-Kununurra_Western_Australia.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

We have also revamped the menus and the value on the plate is eveident as is the quality of the food. I hope that you have reason to be in the Kimberley again for your business and look to Emma Gorge Resort as an escape from your work.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We lived in Kununurra for 4 years and stayed out at ELQ about once every 2 or 3 weeks. We love it. The toilets are always clean, friendly staff, great walks around ELQ and the awesome Pentecost river for a dip. We always camp in our camper trailer and there's heaps of grassed sites to stay on. There is the sites like caravan park sites and theres also private sites, a heap of trees and grass to camp on. Kununurra locals get a discount and it's cheap. There's also cabins and bungalows to stay in. Love love love el questro!!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the Pentecost river have a beautiful view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wags99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA, 6000
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

The best thing I could say about the bungalows was that they had air conditioning. Very dated decor, low quality linen, basic bathroom and facilities. The restaurant in the township had nice food and reasonably priced, but because there is no other option for food, we quickly made it through everything on the menu.
the "resort" lacks facilities - no covered leisure area and only a muddy "watering hole". No newspapers, phone, internet, TV etc.
The advertised tours and activities couldn't be booked because the activities manager was unavailable. We were without our own transport for a few days and were stranded in the "resort", so we walked everywhere - about 20km one day.
Home Valley Station is about 50km east of El Questro and is more modern with better facilities and superior overall.
El Questro has been riding on it's reputation and lack of competition. Now it has some. Stay at Home Valley Station instead and enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nataliejane437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.7 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.1 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel

Property: Voyages El Questro Wilderness Park Hotel
Address: Banksia Street, Kununurra, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing